We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely holiday, great accommodation, weather not so good.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Galdana Palms Villas
Dewsbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely holiday, great accommodation, weather not so good.”
Reviewed 31 May 2013

I definitely recommend these villas, they are semi detached so you would not want noisy neighbours. We were very impressed, as there was everything you could need and as no one was arriving they kindly let us keep the villa until we left at no extra charge. It is a gentle walk to the centre and beach, but if you are in villas 1 - 4 there is a steep drive to climb up to these. All the villas have steps to go up to access them. When we go back again we will definitely look to book here. The villa was spacious, clean and very comfortable. Though I think we may go later in the year in the hope we will get better weather and the pool will be warm enough to swim in. :)

Room Tip: All the villas look the nice to me, just a bit of a climb up to villas 1 - 4.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheRaters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    15
    8
    1
    1
See reviews for
27
9
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013 via mobile

These villas are semi detached for starters (not made clear in any of the literature) so if your neighbours are noisy then your tranquil holiday would be at risk.
If you like your villa remote these wont be for you. We had a very quiet stay in may half term (our direct neighbours villa was empty so no noise problem). The inside of the villa was nice, 3 good sized bedrooms , 2 bathrooms,one en-suite(large en suite with bath, shower and bidet). Outside was fine with an unheated pool which due to the uncharacteristically cold menorcan may was rendered completely unusable, not the Galdana palms fault but something worth considering if you're planning a visit out of high season. The cleaner came with fresh sheets and towels every 3 days.
Galdana is a very pretty little village, lots of lovely beaches and little play parks so great for small children like ours. However I prefer my villas more remote so wouldn't choose to return.
If you chose to come there are good supermarkets in nearby ciutadella, easily reached by car.
We booked through Thompson and the local rep did not visit once. Not a problem for us but not great service.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mzdee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

In the past i have read alot of negative reviews on the villas which has led me to write a review.
I have been going to Menorca, specifically cala galdana, for the past 7 years and have to say these villas are great value for money!

Yes the decor is a little dated however this is not uncommon for most of the apartments/villas on the island.

The pool is a good size and is kept clean throughout the week. The gardens are spacious and come with a BBQ area which is all private, especially if you request a top villa so no one is over looking. The top villas hold the best views over the canyon also where there is quite often some cows on the other side of the river.

The villas are just a short walk out the way of the resort and so are quiet enough to enjoy a relaxing holiday but only a short distance to the beach and nightly entertainment.
The villas also have their own parking if you are hiring a rental car.

The best place in the resort to eat is Cala Mitjana for a night time meal and the Alaska for a selection of tradition Tapas. The staff at both are friendly and remember you year after year.
The best bars are the Blanco v negre (Black and White bar) for a quiet drink or the Mississippi for younger holiday makers where the locals also tend to go after they finish work.

Room Tip: Request a top villa for extra privacy and a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NatalieDanielle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 April 2013

We stayed here in the last two weeks in july 2012 and went with a German online company called Casamundo. The Villa whilst not modern like the one we stayed in Cyprus the year before its fine and has all the basic things that you need like fridgefreezer,washing machine,cooker and microwave. One bathroom and one en-suite connected to the main bedroom, small TV with a DVD player and air-con in all bedrooms and living room/dinning room, although this is a bit old it does the job. Villas are about a ten minute stroll away from the resort ( 5 mins if you don't want to stroll) and the beautiful beach. The pool is a good size but there is no shollow end so your children will need to be watched at all times if they can't swim or are very young, its about 5ft deep?. There are ants so you'll need to keep on top of them i.e. don't leave food around and ant killer spray or powder. The lawn area is well maintained, it can be a bit breezy around the Villa but its great if its very hot as it was this year, if you like birds of prey you can see them flying above on most days. All in all a quiet location to relax but not far away from the resort, already booked the villa again for next year.

Room Tip: Don't be put off by the ants we had ants in Cyprus and that Villa was only 2 yers old they'r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carl w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bridgend united kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2012

stayed athe galdana palms villas from 14th-28th september2012.booked with thomascook.flights ok,but very cramped.no leg room at all.glad it was only 2hr.flight! transfers ok.got to villas at lunch time to find thevilla stilloccupied by the family who had been there for the past week.in fairness they were all packed and ready to leave and they did give us some usefull tipson what to do and where to eat. they left us to it and as the maid had not arrived to clean we left our cases and went to have a look around the resort. the villas are spacious ,but could do with updating.the furniture is very old fashioned and there was a huge stain on the settee!.we had a problem with ants for a few days and bought quite a few cans of ant spray.we did complain to kirsty the rep.and our complaint was dealt with immediately.the outside area is lovely and well maintained,however the sun loungers were filthy and badly need replacing.the poolis great and well maintained.we stayed in villa number 1,and we would request this again if we went back.there is a very steep ramp up to the top 3 villas and then 17 steep stepsto get in to the villas!!after a few trips its not so bad.would definitely go back to galdanas palms and the resort is beautiful.the beach is stunning and safe for children.nice restaurants and no english bars!!!!!however most bars had the football on so the men were happy.good time had by all.

Room Tip: villa 1 seemed to get the most sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kazo_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chester england
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2012

stayed at palms villas week of 15th june and have to say it was excellent.set at the end of the resort it's very quite ,but close enough to reach bars ,shops ,restaurants etc..facilities in villa are good,every room has air con, main bedroom is en suite, there is a 2nd bathroom for other 2 bed rooms. fully equipped kitchen as well but the biggest selling point is the outside space , it's really good. spectacular views over mountains , good garden and good sized pool, 6 adults in our party and plenty of space for everyone.never got any smell from river over the road and only tiny ants in garden but hey, don;t we get ants at home!.now for main point. we were only there for a week relaxing but having looked at prices in local shops a car is a must to get to cuitadella and the big supermarkets at acg cars 300yards down from villa we got a basic car for 66 euros for 3 days ,fully comp ,no excess waiver damage everything, and set off for supermarket and saved a fortune compared to resort prices,lidl, dia and eroski all very near each other ,well signposted just as you get to cuitadella.a taxi to supermarket is 30 euros each way so a car is a no brainer!.don;t be afraid to drive ,roads are excellent and very quite, hardly any traffic,and well signposted .went to supermarket on 1st day and on 3rd day just to stock up. prices are 50%/75% dearer in resort even on basic things so be aware. there is a bus stop in the centre of galdana that will take you to supermarkets for 2 euros each way but then you have to carry everything on bus so it's possible but a bit more difficult.beach in galdana is to die for , calm shallow and warm , in a natural bay with steep sided cliffs ,photo heaven!.all in all ,great villa , great holiday but a very quite resort , chill out yes , party no !

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank maximus62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire,UK
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2011

Just got back to the UK after a week in the 36 degrees heat and thank goodness for the pool at the Villa. As mentioned by other advisors it is quite private and at the end of a cul de sac which runs adjacent to the river. The surrounding road therefore is very quiet. There are as mentioned the ants in the garden, but few come inside the Villa so don't be put off staying. Maid service was with the Villa and the Pool is tended to. My booking said the Villa has a telehpone, which it did not, but did have a DVD which would have been helpful to know in advance. One double bedroom and two with twin beds in each, all air conditioned. The walk to the beach if you are mobile is ten mins , as is the town centre of Cala Galdana. We ate at Si Lunna for pizza, meson Murcia for the fixed 15 Euros evening three course meal, Es Barranc for lunch due to the high number of Spaniards taking lunch there and Toboggan Bar for Pizza and Paella. All were of a reasonable price and the staff I cannot fault, being so friendly and helpful. The only issue for the Villa residents to be aware of is the number of steps to your front door which for us was about forty. I would highly recommend this complex of Villas if you take into account the few small issues to take into account.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank SpanishPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cala Galdana hotels
0.2 mi away
Melia Cala Galdana
Melia Cala Galdana
#2 of 9 in Cala Galdana
1,011 reviews
0.3 mi away
ILUNION Menorca
ILUNION Menorca
#5 of 9 in Cala Galdana
458 reviews
0.3 mi away
Artiem Audax Adults Only
Artiem Audax Adults Only
#1 of 9 in Cala Galdana
1,830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Galdana Gardens Apartments
Galdana Gardens Apartments
#4 of 9 in Cala Galdana
237 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aparthotel Floramar
Aparthotel Floramar
#6 of 9 in Cala Galdana
311 reviews
0.1 mi away
Annabel I & II
Annabel I & II
#8 of 9 in Cala Galdana
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galdana Palms Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galdana Palms Villas

Property: Galdana Palms Villas
Address: P. Des Riu, Urb Cala Galdana, 7750, Cala Galdana, Minorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Minorca > Cala Galdana
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Cala Galdana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Galdana Palms Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
prices vary though the year ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Galdana Palms Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galdana Palms Villas Hotel Cala Galdana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing