We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice place”
Review of Chateau Colbert

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chateau Colbert
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Maulevrier
Certificate of Excellence
Glendale, AZ
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Very nice place”
Reviewed 22 September 2009

We have chosen this chateau hotel based on price and reviews on Tripadvisor. It is a little far from any important places, but that aspect did not bother us. We stayed there for 2 nights. The Prestige Room we had was very large and stylish. I wish I had a four poster bed room, but when I asked about it at the reception, I was told that they only have one and it is taken (room no. 104). Well, that did not bother me either, we had a wonderful room.

We liked everything about this hotel, except for the food in their elegant restaurant. We are not big fans of sophisticated French cuisine, but we were willing to try anyway. We ordered both the same thing, which was fillet minion with macaroni gratin topped with spinach. Well, we got a little (but tasty) fillet (less than 3 inches in diameter) and 3 (three!) macaroni topped with a steamed spinach leaf. I thought it was ridiculous. These two portions plus 2 cocktails and 2 glasses of wine equaled 75 Euro (about $110). The good thing is that they gave us enough bread and we did not have to leave the restaurant still being hungry.

Overall, we had a beautiful experience. For those who want to stay at a chateau, it is a catch and a good value for the money (155 Euro/night). I am not sure that it could actually be called a chateau, because it is just a large sized mansion from the 17th century.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Audrey05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    141
    37
    12
    3
    1
See reviews for
53
93
3
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio TX
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2007

We stopped in at this Hotel/Chateau and stayed one night in October. The Chateau is remarkably beautiful. We figured after getting the rate that the room would be small but it wasn’t. We had a large room with a desk and large double windows that looked out to the gardens. There was a loft accessible by a stair ladder and there were two twin beds. The bathroom was very large and had everything you needed. The beds were comfortable and the room furnished very nicely. The staff we encountered were friendly and helpful. They have a restaurant but unfortunately were booked for the evening. The town is small so we had to drive to the next town about 20km to have dinner. This wasn’t a huge problem just a little inconvenient. We did have breakfast the next morning and it was very good. The breakfast room is beautiful and added to the whole experience. The only negative was the noise from the hallway and other guest was really obvious. It didn’t last long but did wake us and we had to get back to sleep. I believe it was kids and they were just being pretty loud. Other than that we never heard another sound.

This place is beautiful and very inexpensive for the room and experience. We continued on the next day so we didn’t really get to experience everything the place and location had to offer. They have some Formal gardens, as well as Oriental gardens. I think this would be a great place to settle into for a few days and explore the area!

  • Stayed October 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Paris_lane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2006

We stayed at this hotel for three nights in July 2006 and were very impressed. The bedrooms are just beautiful, the ensuite bathrooms modern and very clean and the staff attentive and helpful - and happy to speak English when our French failed us. We ate in the restaurant at the last moment, not having booked to do so, and enjoyed a fantastic and truly French dining experience. It was a six course meal, superbly cooked and accompanied by super wine. We would happily return to this hotel.

  • Liked — Original features in the old chateau
  • Disliked — Room can be quite warm at night
  • Tips/Secrets — If you are staying in the summer, open the bedroom window before you head out in the evening - will cool the room down significantly.
  • Stayed July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Peta123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey, Channel Islands
Level Contributor
663 reviews
254 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 668 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2006

What a find! Chateau Colbert is a stunning Chateau situated in Maulevrier. It is incredibly reasonably priced and if booking, do as we did and go for a Deluxe room. Stunning furniture, elegant paintings, four poster beds and a bathroom to wallow in! Chateau Colbert has it all. The food was exquisite. Menus vary from 27 euros right up to 65 euros. We opted for something in the middle and were not disappointed. Wines are reasonably priced. The building itself is a joy, it is a pity that the town didn't have more charm but with what has been rated the best Japanese Garden in Europe (next to the Chateau), a picturesque experience isn't in doubt.
Next time we go to this area of France there will be one place we are heading - Chateau Colbert, but for more than one night next time!

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bob1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maulevrier
7.4 mi away
Mercure Cholet Centre Hotel
8.2 mi away
Hostellerie Chateau de la Barbiniere
Hostellerie Chateau de la Barbin...
#1 of 2 in Saint-Laurent-sur-Sevre
169 reviews
7.6 mi away
Chateau de La Tremblaye
Chateau de La Tremblaye
#10 of 21 in Cholet
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.9 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Aloe
Hotel Restaurant Aloe
#2 of 5 in Les Herbiers
155 reviews
13.0 mi away
Chateau de la Flocelliere
Chateau de la Flocelliere
#1 of 1 in La Flocelliere
123 reviews
11.8 mi away
Hotel La Verriaire
Hotel La Verriaire
#1 of 1 in La Verrie
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Colbert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Colbert

Property: Chateau Colbert
Address: 1 Place du Chateau Colbert, 49360 Maulevrier, France
Region: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Maulevrier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Maulevrier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Chateau Colbert 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chateau Colbert reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Colbert Maulevrier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing