We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Welcome stop over in way to La Marmotte” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chateau & spa de la Commanderie

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Chateau & spa de la Commanderie
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Eybens
Higham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Welcome stop over in way to La Marmotte”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

We stopped here for one night while on the way to l'Alpe d'Huez. Although a bit dubious upon the approach to the location, once we entered the grounds of the hotel we were pleasantly surprised. Both of our double rooms were cavernous in size and decorated to a very high standard. We were in the building to the left of the chateau. Breakfast was taken in the main Chateau and there was a wide range of choice. The decor retains many of it original features, I enjoyed taking my breakfast in such a beautiful, imposing room. In the evening we took a taxi (I think we were ripped off!) to the cable car for La Bastille and had the most wonderful meal at Chez le Per' Gras. The views were wonderful and the food was amazing!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Henstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    107
    57
    15
    9
See reviews for
30
146
12
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
South Africa
Level Contributor
59 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

La Commanderie promised to be a good alternative to a 'city' hotel in downtown Grenoble but sadly, for us, this turned out not to be the case. This may have, partially, been due to the fact that our rooms were not located in the main building - on arrival at reception we were literally pointed in the general direction of our rooms in an adjacent building and left to navigate our way through dark (and dank!) corridors. The rooms were spacious but, like most of the hotel, were seriously in need of a make-over. The warnings on every window that advised guests not to leave the windows open for security reasons did little to lighten our mood!
We dined in the hotel restaurant and while the food could not be faulted found the overall experience lacking. Service was brusque and, we felt, unecessarily formal.
La Commanderie seems to attract a fair amount of business traffic, including conferences, and this seems to be where their interest is focused. The location, 15 minutes or so from the city centre, in an unprepossessing suburb, means that it is essential to have your own transport.
So, not quite the envisioned Chateau retreat we had expected - but an expensive one nevertheless and one we would avoid in future.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mactraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juan-les-Pins, France
Level Contributor
170 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

The Chateau is located on the outskirts of Grenoble. The premises are rather impressive; decor in the room might be on the oldish side, but it feels authentic. I guess a perfect decor would push this hotel into the luxury market, and prices will follow.

Rooms are rather big in any case, and comfortable.

Personnel is nice. There's a big parking so no problems when traveling with cars.

Breakfast (although on the expensive side for what it is) is rather nice.

Overall, a nice place for a romantic getaway, and convenient for business as well.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank krotas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shifnal, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

A Gem. A lovely room that combined space, with just the right balance of functionality and style. the Bathroom was spotless as was the room everyday upon our return. The wonderfully planted grounds are superb to relax in with many different areas to choose from whether you are a sun goddess or shade lover. The swimming pool area was relaxing and well maintained.
The staff were all friendly and a pleasure to converse with each day. Many thanks I will definitely visit again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthea H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shifnal, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

Such lovely friendly and fun staff. Welcomed each morning with a big smile. Quiet, peaceful, sumptuous room, with one of the most comfortable beds I have ever stayed in. Bathroom spotlessly clean. Lovely swimming pool and restful shaded areas surrounded by gorgeous planting. Eybens is a friendly area, nice little cafe, pattiserie and hairdressers, and so close to Grenoble. Just what we needed. Thankyou so much, we will definately see you again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2013

The Chateau is a real gem for business especially with very few chain hotels in the area. My room was huge with a very comfortable bed, and large bathroom. Free Internet is a boon.

The breakfast had ample selections and all was delicious - especially the fresh orange juice. My bathroom only had the hand shower working.

Room Tip: room 48 was very quiet, but then you are in a small village, it's not going to be noisy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart_Hatto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunnyvale, California
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2013

Just a few kms from the center of Grenoble, the Chateau is very conveniently located for business travelers who are looking for something different to the usual plastic chain hotels. The rooms are spacious with comfortable beds, and seating area for relaxing after a busy day. Parking is free and secure. There is a small spa and pool although I haven't tried it yet - my wife said it was good when we visited together a couple of years ago. The breakfast is in the old part of the building on the second floor. You are surrounded by 18th century furnishings and artifacts in the dining room. Breakfast is very generous with a large variety of traditional continental fare plus the bacon, eggs and beans for us Brits! There is a small bar area in the reception lobby of the hotel but a very comfortable lounge adjacent where you can take your drinks and snacks to unwind at the end of the day or before going out for dinner. There is a gourmet restaurant in the hotel although I haven't tried it myself.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Boddies2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eybens
Hyper-Centre
Grand Hotel Grenoble Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Hotel Uriage
#1 of 2 in Uriage les Bains
4.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau & spa de la Commanderie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau & spa de la Commanderie

Property: Chateau & spa de la Commanderie
Address: 17 Avenue d Echirolles, 38320 Eybens, Grenoble, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Isere > Grenoble > Eybens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Eybens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Chateau & spa de la Commanderie 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Chateau & spa de la Commanderie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau And Spa De La Commanderie
Chateau & Spa De La Commanderie Hotel Eybens
Chateau Hotel Eybens
Chateau Hotel De La Commanderie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing