We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“authentic and modern”
Review of Izala Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Izala Hotel
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Mardin
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“authentic and modern”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

we stayed there just one night in May(a good time to visit Mardin before extreme tempratures), its location is perfect for walking the old mardin and going for sightseeing, the breakfast was really imressive, everything was local and delicious, room's decoration was very good. i can only recommend to take a room facing backyard, the street can be noisy. i highly recommend this clean and comfortable hotel

Room Tip: street side can be noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ltfu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    12
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
12
15
7
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bunol, Spain
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

We have just spent two nights/three days at the Izala and absolutely loved it. Our room was beautiful, just like the photos on the website. A Huge and very comfortable bed with cotton waffle sheets and silk throw and bolster, colourful wooden painted ceiling, quirky chandelier lighting both overhead and by the bed, as many plug sockets as you could wish for, and in all the right places, wooden furniture, cleverly hidden fridge, little table by the window with two pretty upholstered chairs. Marvellous marble bathroom with big walk in shower and a huge selection of toiletries, bath robes and slippers and lovely big towels. Staff warm and friendly and very helpful, but don't expect much English. They don't need it, they'll find a way to help. Lovely buffet breakfast. Do not miss watching the sunset from the roof top, it is impossible not to be spellbound by the view over the Mesopotamian plains. Location on Main Street is perfect. Take note, no alcohol is served, but there are only a handful of places in the whole of Mardin which do anyway. For drinks, go to the Delmarva cafe/bar/restaurant ... Turn left from hotel entrance and it's a 2 minute walk. No evening meals at Izala, they recommend the Antik Sur, and so do we. Turn right and walk for about 5 or 6minutes, down on the right hand side. We are so glad we chose the Izala, you will be too.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Bev B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mardin, Turkey
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

When I first came to Mardin about a year ago, I stayed at the Izala. At that time, I was pleased to be greeted by an English speaking receptionist, - and thats a bit of luck!
The hotel at that time was well presented, including the rooms.
The breakfast needed some presentation work, but the food was varied. I thought the restaurant needed some improvement in terms of change from a " institutional set up" to a pleasing restaurant presentation.

After one year things have changed!
The Izala located at the end of the historic street, has a very inviting appearance. Immediately you walk in someone is there to greet you.
The hotel is very well presented, (they are keen on housekeeping), and now they have at least one waiter (trained in Istanbul) that not only speaks English, but goes out of his way to assist.
Superb views from the upstairs.
Even a selection of newspapers in the reception area.
The food is good and well presented, and the breakfast service is now fine.
No problems whatsoever with the spacious bedrooms.

The Izala is one of the better hotels in Mardin, and good for tourists local or foreign.
It also has a well designed meeting room with all AV equipment.

No reservations whatsover concerning the Izala, and is ideally situated within Mardin.

Room Tip: all rooms are very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jayhelston1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

Great location, great room, warm staff. I could not ask for more! The hotel is new, furnished with great taste. Amazing view from the terrace and just in the middle of the old town. It is a great place! Huge shower, comfortable bed, good breakfast. Worth a visit!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Marisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GREECE
Level Contributor
164 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

It is new. The newest boutique hotel in Mardin. Everything is shining, judging from the attitude of the staff you understand that they are determined to keep it that way. Big rooms that are spotless and cool will give you a good night rest after your visit of the city. The rooms, comparing all the hotels that we have stayed during our GAP tour, are tastily decorated. The bathrooms are large and you can actually put down your tooth brush, your shaving kit AND your wife's endless beauty products. The amenities are various and enough, but service is so quick that if you ask for more by the time you put down the phone your request is at the door. There are no room numbers but Turkish names and sometime Turkish names are tang twisting so write down your room name, not that you will be lost but they really like it when you pronounce the name wrongly. There are a lot of electric sockets that you can charge all your devices at the same time. Don't even bother to ask for an alarm call in the morning, there is a mosque in the main street that will wake you up with the Muslims call for prayer (with megaphones) five o'clock in the morning. Mardin is an interesting and ancient city. Don't miss the Mor Behrem Armenian Church and Ulu Cami (mosque) . Take the inter witting Abbara tour that passes from the most interesting part of the market. Abbaras are arches connecting the very narrow streets. They collect the garbage with donkeys as they did hundreds of years. So the stench of the garbage and donkey droppings are overwhelming. As our guide told us after a while you get used to it and you don't notice it anymore. This was the price that we paid for being curious. We wanted the real thing. Stick to the tourist abbara trail and you will be all right. The famous Mardin Museum is closed for restorations. For your lunch or dinner I strongly advice Cercis Murat konagi restaurant. NOW, I have to mention that the last day of our journey I forgot my camera in a tea shop and noticed it in the airport. Mr Berri (our driver) went to the tea shop found my camera and sent it to me with ARAS KARGO.I personally thank Berri bey and Fatih Bey. Be good and travel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank YakoDogiou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

great hotel, great location, great service. an oasis in old mardin. we visited mardin for a short city break and stayed at izala hotel. we had the opportunity also to meet the owners. it took them 3,5 years to build the hotel and spent a great deal of times in details... we strongly recommend it...

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank AREKMEL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockville Centre, New York
Level Contributor
55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

If you are going to stay in Mardin, this is a great place to stay with family. Although the the Main Street is full of noise , the beautiful patio in the middle is relaxing. I is in walking distance to downtown. Clean and friendly service. Free wifi, although spoty and not working inside Rooms due to thick walls .

Room Tip: Patio facing rooms in the back are peaceful , front rooms have view of the deep Mesopotamia.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hakan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mardin hotels
0.1 mi away
Reyhani Kasri Hotel
Reyhani Kasri Hotel
#2 of 12 in Mardin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Mardin
1.0 mi away
Erdoba Elegance Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
AZD House hotel
AZD House hotel
#9 of 12 in Mardin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mardius Tarihi Konak
Mardius Tarihi Konak
#4 of 12 in Mardin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
0.7 mi away
Maridin Hotel
Maridin Hotel
#5 of 12 in Mardin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Izala Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Izala Hotel

Property: Izala Hotel
Address: Medrese mahallesi 1. cadde no:156, Mardin 47100, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Mardin Province > Mardin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Mardin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Izala Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Evoline ltd and Priceline so you can book your Izala Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing