We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GROSSLY OVER PRICED AND NOT WHAT IT LOOKS”
Review of Chateau de Bonaban

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in La Gouesniere
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chateau de Bonaban
Reviewed 8 June 2010

Terrible value for money, poor service from very limited staff and the food was dreadful.

We took the SEJOUR BONABAN PACKAGE for 2 nights with gourmet dinners, the first dinner and service left a lot to be desired and thankfully they let me check out so we did not have to stay and pay for the second night and experience another dinner.

The grounds are nice but even these needed some TLC

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank baygrape1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (39)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 39 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2008

Nice location set in own grounds with lawns and lake (during our stay a cormorant was fishing there each morning- lovely sight!)

We had room on third floor which was fine with large very clean bathroom and good shower..Great views from windows to the East and a very quiet location so easy to get good nights sleep

Breakfast was good although not exceptional; had dinner one night in restaurant with food of high quality (and price) but it was a Sunday so only two tables occupied and a bit quiet.. They charge EU€0.50 per drink for terrace service - why?

Staff very helpful and friendly but although they offer free WiFi in reception area this was not working on my visit and any questions about why they didn't fix it met with "gallic" shrugs!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank keithyt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2007

This hotel has a spectacular setting however in peak season it was virtually empty. The 'romantic bedrooms' on the top floor were like any sterile large hotel chain bedrooms-really nothing to write home about but with comfortable beds and contrary to another review there was loads of hot water and good showers. If you are expecting antique furnishings etc you will be sorely dissapointed. we did not see the first floor premium rooms all of which appeared to be empty during our stay. The staff although small in number were very friendly and the food in the restaurant was of as good quality as would be expected in such a place. One advantage of it being empty was that it was absolutely silent at night time and we could hear the owls all night long which was a real treat. In other chateau we have stayed in the sound proofing has been so poor we could hear people in the next room turning over in bed and cleaning their teeth etc etc.!! I agree with a previous review about the ridiculous paintings on the walls- in fact one of them looks suspiciously like 'madam' who owns/manages the hotel. It is well placed for exploring the sites in the area. one big flaw is that there is no sitting room/salon to use in the evening and therefore you can only sit in the bar which has no atmosphere and is just a place to walk through to get to the terrace or the dining room. The bar area has a ridiculous artificial electric fire thingy totally out of place in a chateau. To join the ranks of the great hotels this place needs a good make over to deserve the chateau title.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank timeoutuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2006

The approach to the hotel is everything one would hope for in a Hotel set in a Chateau in France - magnificent.

Buy and large the staff were friendly and helpful, if a little slow, seemingly because of a lack of numbers at certain times in the day. The interior is "interesting" with a number of very large but poor, almost comical, amateurish copies of paintings currently hanging in various galleries; which tended to do little for the overall ambience.

Value for money for our four rooms, relative to other Hotels charging 185 - 210 Euros per room per night in November, has to be adjudged POOR.

We considered the "Gourmet" restaurant as something of an overstatement, with a limited menu, even on a public holiday (All Saints Day in our case) and with Hotel room rates set at premium peak summer rates one would have expected more. Even the appetiser was served as a larger portion as part of the subsequent first course. One can only eat so much duck fois gras, even as nice as it sounds!

Hot water was a real issue with temperatures at best requiring little or no addition of cold for baths or showers and one broken shower requiring a willing partner to hold the shower head in the correct attitude. On our second and final evening at 07.30 pm, no hot water was available at all and with our taxis booked we left the Hotel for a restaurant pretty much in the clothes we had worn all day!

Perhaps most disappointing was the owners refusal to recognise this was an issue at all, in so much as the lack of hot water was temporary, it just happened to be when everyone needed it! No adjustment to the peak period pricing was offered or forthcoming.

We paid in full but needless to say we shall not return.

  • Stayed: November 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Boxerjacko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2004

We stayed here for four nights last week, and interestingly we were the only people there for two of them. We were made very welcome, had a great room, and enjoyed the fabulous restaurant and service. We would definitely stay here again and would wholeheartedly recommend it as both a great place to stay and and an ideal base from which to explore northern Brittany.

  • Stayed: November 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank SLKmaniac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 16 July 2002

You approach this privately owned chateau via a long tree lined entryway. It is very picturesque, the grounds are lovely and the rooms are spacious and well maintained. Bathrooms are modern. Restaurant is excellent, the bar is stunning and the waitstaff is friendly. Most staff speaks at least some English. Breakfast was included and was very good. The chateau is situated perfectly to visit both Mont St. Michel and St. Malo. We did both in one (albeit very long) day.

14  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2011
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank germaine68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Chateau de Bonaban? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de Bonaban

Address: 35350 La Gouesniere, France
Region: France > Brittany > Ille-et-Vilaine > La Gouesniere
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in La Gouesniere
Hotel Class:3 star — Chateau de Bonaban 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Chateau Bonaban
Chateau De Bonaban La Gouesniere, France - Brittany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing