We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First night in France - a great welcome!”

le manoir de la foret
Reserve with
le manoir de la foret is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“First night in France - a great welcome!”
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Our Chateau (Chateaus de la Barre, see other review) recommended this restaurant for our first night of our 7-8 week French honeymoon. We had literally flown in that afternoon and only arrived at the chateau for 6:30pm, and were told we had an 8pm reservation for Manoir... so we hurridly showered, and jumped back ont our hire car for the half hour journey.

We could not believe our luck as we pulled up the lengthy foresty driveway - and the sight of the restaurant / B&B at the end of it...we felt like yes, we had truly arrived in regional France.

The staff were lovely, very friendly and patient with my attempts at French (we had taken lessons prior to our trip), and the food was delicious. Couldnt fault it although we did feel the youngest in the restaurant by about 40 years (we've just turned 30, and all other patrons seemed elderly - not a complaint at all, just set the tone a little more subdued thats all! :)

But yes, lovely food, service and surrounds. Perfect introduction to our wonderful honeymoon!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PonderingPerthGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    28
    5
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“beautiful setting but sadly the food wasn't wonderful”
Reviewed 11 December 2013

beautiful setting and lovely surroundings. Did so want to like the food because it would have been nice to go again given the lovely setting. Unfortunately it was really awful. One bowl of soup had been seasoned with salt to the point where it was undrinkable. The pastry was extraordinary - I have never tasted anything like it. Such a shame as the service was very good. Perhaps the chef was having an off day.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank oleva h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful food, great value”
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We had only planned one eating here one night but decided to dine here on our second night as well. The food is superb and excellent value for money.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank garrickhileman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Delicious”
Reviewed 12 June 2013

Chef at Manoir de la foret is excellent and he will surprise you. It was a brand new flavors for mi and the presentation very nice. Soup was one of the best...

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Axapiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“dinner - a disaster from start to finish!”
Reviewed 20 May 2012

Everything went wrong from start to finish - drinks were served in 2 batches, the food was disappointing, the foie gras was overpowering vegetables and a tiny bit of foie gras, the lobster dish contained less than a slither of lobster on vegetables. The 'roast' lamb that 3 of us ordered was pale, it looked like it had been boiled, and was tasteless. We all sent it back. I chose the a la carte beef to replace it, which was delicious, but I was charged heavily for it. One of my companions had lost her appetite by then and gave up completely. Another ordered the monk fish, which was cold. Desserts were disappointing to say the least, bland and flavourless. At 250 euros for 4 (including drinks) and very few apologies, I would go elsewhere!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Hilary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed le manoir de la foret also viewed

Saint-Hilaire-la-Gravelle, Loir-et-Cher
Vendome, Loire Valley
 
Cloyes-sur-le-Loir, Eure-et-Loir
Vendome, Loire Valley
 

Been to le manoir de la foret? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing