We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from home”
Review of Le Capistan

Le Capistan
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Le Capistan
Ranked #1 of 1 Lacave B&B and Inns
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Le Capistan is a wondersul B&B. Set in a peaceful spot the rooms are large and airy as are the on suite bathrooms. Anne-Marie is a welcoming host and the breakfast is great, everything is home made and top quality. Le Capistan is immaculate and I would definitely stay again. There are a few reataurants close by offering good food at really good prices and if you wish to push the boat out there is a one Michelin star restaurant around the corner on the river.

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely. It is a quiet spot with very little traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank constanttraveller61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (13)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 8 of 13 reviews

Reviewed 2 November 2011

My wife and I stayed at Le Capistan for a single night as part of a journey through France. The location of the house is excellent, being a few steps from a bar/restaurant and the show caves. We enjoyed a beer at the bar but did not have time to sample the other attractions in the area. The house itself is tastefully decorated and the room we had was simply furnished but comfortable and classy; it was also a fine size so no feelings of claustrophobia. The en-suite was modern and well fitted and importantly, everything was spotlessly clean.

Downstairs is a cosy lounge and when we returned from our foray to the bar, the log burner had been lit and it was all very inviting. We had the 'light meal' option that evening which was only two courses but nevertheless excellent and certainly filling. Breakfast the next morning was of an equally high quality. For those of you not used to French foibles, the capacious bowl in front of you at breakfast is for coffee - not cereals!

The owners have two very friendly dogs who live outside and the only down side to our stay was that we were woken twice during the night by the dogs barking. On the second occasion I ended up lying awake for some hours - which with a 6 hour drive ahead of me the next day was not welcome.

Normally a poor night's sleep would mean that a place would be heavily marked down but I am sticking with 4 stars as everything else was excellent for the price paid and the owners are excellent hosts - friendly and welcoming but not at all smothering. In addition my father stayed at Le Capistan a few weeks prior to our visit and had no sleeping problems.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UK_Author
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2010

This tranquil, modest and well appointed 'chambres d'hotes' is located in a tiny village, perfect for an extended stay or an overnight stopover for those traveling to or from the Dordogne region and Rocamadour. Our three-generation family enjoyed the quiet location, the spacious newly renovated rooms, excellent showers and tasty breakfast on the veranda. Anne-Marie is a welcoming hostess, fine baker and confiture-maker. All was lovely, from the good beds to the easy morning walk to the Grotte de Lacave (recommended). A word in the ear of this and all French inkeepers: an electric fan in the bedrooms would be a great plus in high summer. Last but not least, Polka and Fifi add a great deal of canine charm to the lush gardens.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nadavsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2009

Le Capistan is a renovated 1930s house – the last one in the village of Lacave, which sits where the Ouysse joins the Dordogne. We stayed four nights as part of our honeymoon, and couldn't have enjoyed it more. The room (with ensuite) was beautiful, the breakfast – all homemade – was superb: bowls of coffee with scrumptious breads and cakes, four different kinds of jam, and yoghurt. The proprietors are lovely, and went out of their way to ensure we had a great time. We hired bicycles from the hotel next door, and after getting a lift up there, spent a wonderful afternoon exploring the mediaeval village and then cycling back along the river. This area in springtime is very pretty. The Ouysse river is turquoise, and the banks were resplendent with flowers and butterflies. The 13th century mill on the way home was a great stopover too. Even closer to the B&B are Les Grottes de Lacave, and the Ferme Auberge CALVEL, a fabulous restaurant.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cokatu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Mathieu G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
Thank Viviane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
Thank Kelly F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Le Capistan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Capistan

Address: 46200 Lacave, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Lot > Lacave
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Lacave
Price Range: £45 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Capistan guest house lies in the Dordogne Valley, in a small village ideally situated within the nature reserve of the Lot départment - the Parc Naturel Regional des Causses du Quercy. As you travel through the region, you will be delighted by the ever changing landscape of cliffs, forests, walnut orchards and meadows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Le Capistan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing