We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical escape”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Chateau de la Treyne
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Lacave
Certificate of Excellence
Providenciales
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Magical escape”
Reviewed 14 July 2013

We arrived at the Chateau from nearby Brive airport, and were warmly welcomed and upgraded to a river view room which was gorgeous, luxurious and ice cold , welcome given it was 33 outside. Overall wonderful stay: food excellent , grounds beautiful, pool relaxing , staff friendly and attentive. No faults, we will be back. It really is a marvellous place to stay. Stand outs were excellent breakfast on the terrace, drinks by the pool, fabulous dinners .

Room Tip: Duc, 2nd floor.good view, great bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stgombert, Propriétaire at Chateau de la Treyne, responded to this review, 8 August 2013
Thank you very much for this kind comment. We are always happy to see when guests like Chateau de la Treyne, our staff, the atmosphere, the food... Thank you again and hope to see you again. Best regards. Stephanie Gombert.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    411
    48
    14
    6
    0
See reviews for
61
347
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013

Our 4 day stay was superb! Romantic, intimate,, almost like being in a time warp with historic beauty of this ancient structure with today's amenities! Only issue is how they make money? There were as many staff as guest! Request a room on the river .

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Docsuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stgombert, Propriétaire at Chateau de la Treyne, responded to this review, 15 July 2013
Thank you very much for your nice comment on Tripadvisor. We have 17 rooms for 30 employees, but we also have a gourmet restaurant with a Michelin star, so if you want to do a professional job you need so much staff. Fortunately we have many regular guests, we figure in many touristic guide , through Relais & Châteaux we also welcome an international clientele. Our location is unique, la Treyne is a dream castle and all my team and myself love our work very much, this is the reason why guests feel well too. Hope to see you again, nice holiday in France. Stephanie Gombert.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

What a beautiful chateau in a beautiful area of France. The service was spectacular - as was the room, the food, the views, and on and on. We stayed for several nights and was such a gift! If you have an opportunity to stay here - I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stgombert, Propriétaire at Chateau de la Treyne, responded to this review, 11 July 2013
Thank you very much for you kind comment. Hope to see you again at Chateau de la Treyne.
Best regards. Stephanie Gombert.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton, Iowa
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

My wife and I traveled to France for 10 days to celebrate our 10 year anniversary and we spent 3 of those nights, including the actual day of our anniversary, at Chateau de la Treyne. My choice of this location was based primarily on the reviews found here, and while the reviews on Trip Adviser are overwhelmingly positive, nothing can really convey the experience like actually staying there. In fact I am afraid to say that Chateau de la Treyne is responsible for some of the other very nice places we stayed in France not receiving the 5 stars they might have otherwise earned if I did not have Chateau de la Treyne to compare them to.

Due to some navigational errors on my part in driving to this location from Aix-en-Provence we arrived after midnight on our first night. I was able to email them to let them know of my late arrival, and the receptionist was very gracious in waiting for us to arrive, offering to provide us with food and carrying our bags to our room on the third floor. We were given the Fenelon room, which was charmingly decorated and very large with views of both the river and the gardens. They had arranged rose petals throughout the room which was quite a touching gesture.

The staff spoke excellent English though I tried my best to speak French, an effort they patiently indulged. We ate dinner at the hotel 2 nights in a row and the food was excellent. The owner makes a point of speaking with her guests at dinner, and in the course of visiting 3 tables she fluently spoke 3 different languages. The service was an experience in itself. The Maitre d was a lot of fun and helped us Americans muddle through our fine French dining experience with grace and wit. His suggestions from the wine to the cheese were spot on, and what a selection they have of both. Then of course a digestif in the salon was a perfect end to the day. All in all I could not think of a more perfect setting to celebrate an important event. The grounds, the Chateau, and the Dordogne region of France will all live up to the hype. So save a few extra pennies and splurge on a stay here, you won't regret it. Thank you to Madame Gombert and the staff for a great memory.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Troy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stgombert, Propriétaire at Chateau de la Treyne, responded to this review, 2 July 2013
Thank you so much for this great feedback. I'm really touched by so many compliments. I remember you as you arrive very late. Fenelon is a very nice room and as you stayed three days you could discover a true experience at Chateau de la Treyne. Thank you again and perphaps you will be back for another stay. Stephanie Gombert.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2013

I felt like a queen staying in this castle! Everything is top-notch: the service, the views, the grounds, the food, the room -- even the shower (which was the best I've ever been in). It's pricey, but worth the splurge.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cwilsononbeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stgombert, Propriétaire at Chateau de la Treyne, responded to this review, 8 June 2013
Dear Madam,
Thank you very much for you kind comment. Of course I remember you because we spoke about the shower. Thank you for coming to Chateau de la Treyne. Hope to see you again. Best regards. Stephanie Gombert.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Israel
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013

If you want to indulge one day in a special castle situated on a high cliff overlooking the Dordogne, this is the place for you.
the rooms are decorated and special
The hotel has a gourmet restaurant with a chef prepares delicious food
The castle is surrounded by gardens with fountains, Toads croaking, flowers and we enjoyed walking around
The hotel also has a private forest where you can go and reach another castle belonging to them a half hour walking
Stunning floral arrangements are picked from the garden and at the
Breakfast is very good
Nice team
The castle is located in a Agricultural area near GROTTE DE LACAVE and half hour from Rocamandor
In short: a real experience, not cheap at all but Affordable

Glad if I helped someone to decide

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank verey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stgombert, Propriétaire at Chateau de la Treyne, responded to this review, 22 May 2013
Thank you so much for your very kind review and for taking the time to share your experience with other people. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay at Chateau de la Treyne and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Thank you again. stephanie gombert.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spring City, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 19 May 2013

We were so fortunate to be able to book a room on short notice, and it has been the unexpected highlight of our visit to France. Nothing we say here can adequately convey how wonderful every aspect of this special place is, from the beautiful grounds, impeccable service, staff that are helpful and welcoming, and food that is simply amazing. The owner took the time at dinner to visit with guests, making us feel right at home. At dinner (which is not to be missed if you stay here), the staff used a mix of humor and helpfulness to allow us to fully enjoy the wonderful cuisine and wine. For anyone from the US that dreams of a chance to enjoy the beauty, food, and history of France, a stay at Chateau de la Treyne is a must. We look forward to someday returning!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelefrompa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stgombert, Propriétaire at Chateau de la Treyne, responded to this review, 22 May 2013
Thank you very much for your positive and kind review. Im so glad that you enjoyed your stay at Chateau de la Treyne. I will not forget to share your kind comments with all my team. I look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Thank you again. Stephanie Gombert.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lacave
1.3 mi away
Le Pont de l'Ouysse
Le Pont de l'Ouysse
#2 of 3 in Lacave
216 reviews
5.8 mi away
Le Troubadour
Le Troubadour
#1 of 17 in Rocamadour
389 reviews
3.2 mi away
La Terrasse
La Terrasse
#1 of 1 in Meyronne
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Best Western Beau Site Notre Dame
5.6 mi away
Hotel Les Esclargies
Hotel Les Esclargies
#2 of 17 in Rocamadour
447 reviews
4.7 mi away
Les Vieilles Tours
Les Vieilles Tours
#7 of 17 in Rocamadour
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau de la Treyne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de la Treyne

Property: Chateau de la Treyne
Address: route de Rocamadour | Route de Souillac à Rocamadour, 46200 Lacave, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Occitanie > Lot > Lacave
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Lacave
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Chateau de la Treyne 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The tower is so close to the Dordogne river that it feels like the Chateau could almost topple into ... All our rooms are stylishly decorated with period furniture, four poster beds, secretaire desks, traditional parquet floors but complemented by the most modern amenities like jacuzzi-style bathtubs. Practically all enjoy grandiose views of the Dordogne Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion so you can book your Chateau de la Treyne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau De La Treyne Hotel Souillac
Chateau De La Treyne Souillac

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing