We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chateau de la Treyne
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Lacave
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 August 2014

A room overlooking the Dordogne, being able to have tea in the gardens and eating a Michelin starred meal on the terrace overlooking the river, with first class service, a hotel stay doesn't get any better than that.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank TMG239
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephanieGombert, Propriétaire at Chateau de la Treyne, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Thank you very much for your short but very efficient comment. We would like to welcome you again at chateu de la Treyne. Best wishes. stephanie gombert.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (531)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

125 - 131 of 531 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2014

Lovely setting and top notch accomodations. (The food is quite wonderful and we had the added treat of waking each morning to the smell of baking!) But what impressed us the most was the level of hospitality at every level of the staff and management. The owner, Stephanie, was on site and very involved and made a point of connecting with us and other guests during our first evening at dinner. Every staff member we encountered were welcoming, friendly and eager to be of help and service. This is a special place and a wonderful base for exploring the surrounding area. We will return if we ever have the opportunity!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank SusanSnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephanieGombert, Propriétaire at Chateau de la Treyne, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Thank you very much for your wonderful comments on TripAdvisor. What a pleasure to read that you have enjoyed your stay and that La Treyne exceeded your expectations. Hopefully we will have the pleasure to welcome you back soon. Best wishes. stephanie gombert.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Approaching Chateau de la Treyne you catch an awesome view of the chateau clinging to the cliff. It's a breathtaking picture, even on our second visit !! We were running late and arrived twenty minutes after the kitchen stopped taking orders for dinner but thankfully they made an exception and welcomed us, even though they were fully booked. This is the chateau you dream of finding, set in stunning gardens with amazing artwork positioned around the grounds. Situated on the side of a cliff with the river below its wonderfully entertaining watching the kayaks gently rowing by. The view from the terrace is breathtaking, especially when watching the sun set around 9pm. The chef creates truly magnificent works of art out of his kitchen - often they look too beautiful to eat !! Every mouthful is delicious and one really feels you have experienced something very special.

Room Tip: All the rooms are delightful but for me personally I like the rooms looking over the river as the vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank CarolClark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephanieGombert, Propriétaire at Chateau de la Treyne, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

Fisrt of all we ould like ti thank you for the precious time you took to share your feelings about your stay at Château de la Treyne.

How wonderful that you were able to enjoy our boutique hotel and our gastronomic restaurat.

We are looking forward to your next stay with us.

Best wishes. stephanie gombert.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

The Chateau itself is a fabulous building, a multitude of different public rooms and dining areas inside and out, the food was superb and served by the most attentive and capable staff. We booked for one night and stayed for two and have vowed to return,

Room Tip: We stayed in a superior room overlooking the river which was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Colin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephanieGombert, Propriétaire at Chateau de la Treyne, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Thank you very much for your kind words. Of course I remember you. You wanted to stay one night but you add one more night. "Duc" room is not so large, but very nice view. I will share your comments with my staff, because it is very important for them to know that you enjoyed. Hope to see you again. Kind regards. Stéphanie Gombert.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

My wife and I had the fortune to revisit our current favorite place on planet Earth . . . Chateau de la Treyne.

The adjectives -- stunning, magnificent and sublime do not do it justice. This place is a veritable Elysium on Earth. One must experience it to believe it.

There was one evening had at la Treyne, that we will never forget . . . it was the second evening after the nite of our arrival.

On the actual nite of our arrival, it rained a deluge in Lacave with spectacular summer thunder showers had throughout the evening into the early morning hours. By the next morning, the dark ominous grey clouds had been replaced by soft grey clouds gracefully floating above the glory of the castle's formal grounds and the peacefully meandering Dordogne river below it.

The air was so fresh -- the rain water had perfectly washed the roof and walls of the castle leaving a centuries-old verdi gris patina of moss and lichens glistening in the morning light. Although it threatened to rain once more, by that afternoon, it was clear that God had decided that that late afternoon and the ensuing evening . . . would be magical.

By 4 pm, the soft-grey clouds had been replaced by snow-white cotton-candy clouds so soft and puffy that one envisioned the angels rejoicing upon them.

We dined on the outside terrace that nite -- overlooking the Dordogne, with the lush farmlands in the distance forming a perfect backdrop for the magical setting in which we found ourselves. The local swallows were in rare form -- dancing, swooping and singing above us, as the sun set on the hills in the far distance. One part of us wanted the sun to never set that evening, for it to never end . . . while the other part of us anxiously awaited the sunset that promised to be unbelievable.

As the sun set -- sometime just before 10 pm, and the skies above the castle began to slowly morph from a radiant red, pink and orange glow to a cobalt blue, we both wept tears of joy and thanked God for being alive in that moment and for having the very special opportunity to be at la Treyne.

Thank you to Stephanie and all of her hotel and kitchen staff, including but surely not limited to Coralie, Fabian, Remy, Eric and all of the rest of the la Treyne team.

Room Tip: Make sure to select a room with a view of the Dordogne river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephanieGombert, Propriétaire at Chateau de la Treyne, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Thank you so much for your generous comments. I was fortunate enough to meet you during you one week stay and I will be delighted to see you again next year. I will always remember how your wife explained to others guests how unique Château de la Treyne is for her.
I really appreciate the time you took to give such a detailed and positive review. Thank you again and hope to welcome you next year, once more. Best wishes. Stéphanie Gombert.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We had no plans - "lets find something once we are in the area". So glad we did this...
A magnificent building, fantastic location, amazing staff, food that looks like art and blows your mind with all the contrasting/complimenting flavours and textures.

Not cheap, but well worth it - especially for couples.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room - and you will get views of the manicured gardens and the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephanieGombert, Propriétaire at Chateau de la Treyne, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Thank you ver much for your recent comments. I really appreciate the time taken to give such aapositive review. I am happy the hotel satisfied your needs and look forward to you returning in the near future. Kind regards. Stéphanie Gombert.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

This boutique chateau hotel is set on a rocky outcrop above a large river. It's a stunning property. The bedroom we had was no. 11; a second floor looking out over the river. The room was traditionally furnished with a restored antique four-poster bed. It was tastefully furnished in keeping with the age and character of the property. There were Hermes toiletries in the bathroom and the room was air conditioned. The garden is very pleasant and attracts some wonderful birdlife although the pool is a little bit of a walk from the main building. The food is excellent - the pre dinner amuse bouches are particularly good. The staff are extremely attentive and helpful. This is how Relais & Chateau hotels should be and it deserves it's high Tripadvisor ranking. I recommend highly.

Room Tip: First floor rooms look to have very large windows and great floor to ceiling heights. Personally I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank wingfif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephanieGombert, Propriétaire at Chateau de la Treyne, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Thank you very much for your very kind comment. The rooms name is "Scribe" not 11, because all our rooms have differents names. Hope to welcome you again for another stay. Stéphanie Gombert.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lacave
1.3 mi away
Le Pont de l'Ouysse
Le Pont de l'Ouysse
#2 of 3 in Lacave
246 reviews
5.8 mi away
Le Troubadour
Le Troubadour
#1 of 17 in Rocamadour
425 reviews
5.7 mi away
Best Western Beau Site Notre Dame
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
La Terrasse
La Terrasse
#1 of 1 in Meyronne
200 reviews
4.7 mi away
Les Vieilles Tours
Les Vieilles Tours
#6 of 17 in Rocamadour
266 reviews
5.6 mi away
Hotel Les Esclargies
Hotel Les Esclargies
#2 of 17 in Rocamadour
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau de la Treyne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de la Treyne

Address: route de Rocamadour | Route de Souillac à Rocamadour, 46200 Lacave, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Occitanie > Lot > Lacave
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Lacave
Price Range: £175 - £704 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Chateau de la Treyne 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The tower is so close to the Dordogne river that it feels like the Chateau could almost topple into ... All our rooms are stylishly decorated with period furniture, four poster beds, secretaire desks, traditional parquet floors but complemented by the most modern amenities like jacuzzi-style bathtubs. Practically all enjoy grandiose views of the Dordogne Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers so you can book your Chateau de la Treyne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau De La Treyne Hotel Souillac
Chateau De La Treyne Souillac

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing