We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WONDERFUL CAVES”
Review of Grottes de Lacave

Grottes de Lacave
Ranked #1 of 2 things to do in Lacave
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“WONDERFUL CAVES”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

The natural stalectite sculpture, and the underground boat ride along the stream - it is a wonder of the universe. The best I have seen (but you need to climb over 300 steps, so is not suited to everyone)

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Julian_do_Guincho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

633 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    314
    254
    48
    12
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Good grotto experience”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Arrived just after 1000, ended up visiting cave with just 2 others, following tour groups were very large, guide spoke mostly in French with some English explanations. Good selection of stalagmite and stalactite formations well lit route easy walking up and down stairs.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Colin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spain
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Fabulous caves but not yourist friendly”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Firstly the caves are brilliant and worth the visit. The cost is fine for what you get to see. But the big frustration was that although the person at the counter spoke English the tour was almost completely in French. That is fine if it is only aiming at the French speaking market but if they are do want tourists from other regions they should either offer an audio tour option or part of the presentation in different languages. Even if it was a much smaller versión that would ahve been fine.
It was especially difficult because we had children with us and the tour was long and had they understood what was being said it would had kept them interested. It was also frustrating as the guide spoke excellent English when we first spoke to him but then spoke purely French until nearly the end.
So in summary if you speak French or just want to look at the spectacle it is definately worth going.
If you do not speak French and would like to learn more about what you are seeing try one of the other caves in the área.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank kiwisteveandali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“A fantastic visit”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We arrived at the ticket office around 10am. There was no queue and a group was boarding the train. The guide saw us and waited for us so we did not have to wait 1 minute before we started our tour.
Our guide was funny and informative. There were a lot to see in different parts of the cave. All the rock formations, stalactites and stalagmites were strange but beautiful. The pools with perfect reflections were stunning.
The guided tour took an hour and a half. You have to walk in a humid and dimly lit environment so comfortable shoes are recommended.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank MidcoVincent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chipping Campden, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
530 reviews
92 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

Fantastic caves, several of them, all with wonderful rock formations and reflection pools. Access is via a little train and then involves 11/2 hrs walking ( some steps and inclines). Ours was a small tour, probably about 15 people, with three nationalities. The guide was excellent, giving explanations in both French, Spanish and a small amount of English. He made a special effort to speak slowly and precisely so that we could best understand the French. These caves are really worth visiting and at €9.50 a bargain.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank moses_karibu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Grottes de Lacave? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing