We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Completely relaxing couple of days with excellent food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Restaurant Ricordeau
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Loue
Certificate of Excellence
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Completely relaxing couple of days with excellent food”
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We've stayed at the Ricordeau twice this year, first en route on our bikes, cycling from Caen to south of the Loire in April. Then the hotel was quiet, but we were given a warm welcome - our bikes were stored overnight in a grand room with chandeliers and gilt mirrors while we enjoyed a room on the top floor, beautifully furnished and with a generously proportioned modern bathroom. There's a lovely long sitting area under the eaves outside these rooms. The gardens looked great, but it was too cold for sitting out. The main restaurant was closed that night (Monday) so we ate a simple, but good Menu in the Brasserie next door (also part of the hotel).
At the end of July on our way to Bordeaux, this time by car, we started our holiday with two nights at the hotel, this time staying in the pretty Pavillon room near the river and enjoying the swimming pool (perfect temperature). On the Friday night the hotel was full (all UK visitors we were told!) but the attention by staff was just as personal and we had a memorable and totally delicious meal in the main restaurant - on the patio overlooking the garden. It's a great area for cycling - we went on a 60km ride this time from the hotel - and visited the monastery of Solemnes and had a picnic by the river Sarthe.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah187058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    138
    55
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
33
115
3
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Strassen, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2013 via mobile

Classy dining room with lot of space around. If you're lucky and the sun shines you can eat on the terrasse close by the river. Food is great and tasty with the right level of imagination and creativity. Service is exceptional as in most French restaurants out of Paris.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Philippe A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Cotswolds
Level Contributor
126 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We stayed for one night on our way back to Calais from the Ile de Re. The hotel is in a small town, near Le Mans, called Loue, in the centre of the chicken breeding area! The owners, Anne-Cecile and Ludovic Deschamps, are the most delightful, helpful hosts, so the visit got off to a good start, particularly when Ludovic described our dog as a V.I.D.- Very Important Dog!! We had reserved the Pavillon de Source, an idyllic little cottage right on the river bank, with a small private patio, overlooking the river, complete with 12 ducks. Sadly, the weather was very showery, but we managed an hour outside, before a deluge! Dinner was absolutely superb and beautifully presented, with Anne-Cecile taking great care to explain each course, in English. It happened to be the weekend of the Le Mans 24 hour race and the hotel was full, but the meal was served leisurely, but not overlong. Breakfast was good, with delicious softly boiled eggs and "soldiers", if required. We can't wait to return, hopefully in the Autumn.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheCotswoldsWhizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2013 via mobile

Loué itself is a tiny little place with not a great deal going on, but inviting just the same and famous for chickens of all things. The room was nice, and large. The best part is the lovely gardens to the rear (with passing river), excellent service and very good food and wine. Breakfast was average, but dinner was excellent. I would have no reservations in recommending this hotel. There's also a cosy little bar area, which I unfortunately didn't get the opportunity to try out as I arrived late(ish) and only stayed one night.

Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Walter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
276 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2013

We stayed at the Hotel-Restaurant Ricordeau again last month on our way to south-west France. It was a lovely way to start the holiday with a nice quiet room and super food. Its becoming a bit of a habit-long may it continue !!

Room Tip: They have a nice outdoor swimming pool if you fancy a dip.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall, England
Level Contributor
174 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2012 via mobile

We stopped here for a night en route from the Alps to Roscoff. The hotel is in Loue not far from the A81 near Le Mans. It is a lovely building and looks quite grand at first sight. The staff were welcoming and we were quickly settled into our rooms for a quick turnaround before dinner. The rooms were large, well-decorated and comfortable. Although I had a moment of nostalgia for the floral wallpaper that dominated a few decades ago, including on the ceiling in one rather bizarre place.

The restaurant is a beautiful room, spacious and elegant. I went for the house cocktail, which was delicious and all came with a generous plate of tasty nibbles including oysters. There was another 'free ' course of delicious soup. For mains we went for local chicken - I twigged where I had seen the town's name before, I think it is the centre of free-range poultry-farming - and dorade. The food was really good, as was the wine.

Breakfast in the morning was delicious with lots of choice of breads, cakes, fruit, meats and cheese. The range of homemade jams was vast too.

So an excellent choice. My first idea was to go into a larger city, stay in a cheap chain and find a good restaurant. However, the Ricordeau was a much better option in terms of price, value and convenience. Somehow the cheaper chains never seem to be as cheap as I think they should be to compensate for a view of the motorway or whatever. Will return.

Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Cornish Wanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luzern, Luzern, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012

We chose this hotel to celebrate our wedding and it was the right decision! Amazingly beautiful garden as if it was created for an aperitif and photo shot, a charming restaurant with delicious food and great service, comfortable rooms for guests, all these made us to choose this hotel. Moreover, in addition to the one described, we got a huge help in organizing of our celebration from the hotel directors Anne-Cécile and Ludovic Deschamps. We were helped in developing a personal menu that met all our food preferences, and has overcome our expectations. Organization and service of our event was to provide the highest level, so we could only enjoy the atmosphere, created by the hotel personnel to meet customer needs, such as providing a cot and a baby chair and developing vegetarian menu for some guests. I note that all of our needs were met with enthusiasm and were embodied in the best possible way. So we had a wedding of which we could only dream and we were able to avoid any hassle, which were carefully taken by the hotel directors. Very important is to mention that the price we have paid was reasonable, compare to some other offers we met, before we have found this hotel. And the joy we have experienced is priceless! I express my gratitude to Anne-Cécile and Ludovic Deschamps and all staff of the hotel for the holiday, which they arranged for us on our wedding day!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 25_1225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Loue
12.0 mi away
Grand Hotel de Solesmes
Grand Hotel de Solesmes
#1 of 1 in Solesmes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
20.7 mi away
Hotel Le Gentleman
Hotel Le Gentleman
#1 of 4 in La Fleche
5.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hotel Le Saint Aubin
Hotel Le Saint Aubin
#1 of 1 in Cheville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.4 mi away
Domaine De Chatenay
Domaine De Chatenay
#1 of 7 in Saint-Saturnin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
17.9 mi away
La Pommeraie
La Pommeraie
#7 of 41 in Le Mans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
16.1 mi away
Hotel Le Charleston
Hotel Le Charleston
#2 of 41 in Le Mans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Restaurant Ricordeau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Restaurant Ricordeau

Property: Hotel Restaurant Ricordeau
Address: 13 rue de la Liberation, 72540 Loue, France
Region: France > Pays de la Loire > Sarthe > Loue
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Loue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Restaurant Ricordeau 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our House is conviently located between Paris and Brittany, in the Nothern Loire Valley. Formerly a 19th century coach house, it offers spacious and confortable rooms in a charming atmosphere with nature as a backdrop. The restaurant is famed in the region for generations. Step into this guest extablishment infused with history and featuring hospitality at its finest! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Restaurant Ricordeau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing