We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great location but watch out for exhorbitant price of drinks!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chateau de Perigny

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Chateau de Perigny
Ranked #1 of 2 Vouille B&B and Inns
Terves France
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“great location but watch out for exhorbitant price of drinks!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

We stayed there for one night to use the present of smart box we had been given by friends. The setting and chateau are lovely and the restaurant superb, nothing to complain about the food delicious and the service excellent and very friendly. However the whole experience was spoilt by the outrageous price for drinks eg 14 euros for a whiskey x 2, 1/2 bottle Sancere 2011 26 euros when one can buy a full bottle of champagne for that price!! 1/2 Chinon 2012 18 euros. 2 bottles Evian 10 euros plus a coffee and herbal tea, we were presented with a bill for 89 euros inc tax!!!
So beware and ask for price list of aperitifs which we were never offered. Since speaking to French friends we have learnt that they had similar experiences there and other French friends were horrified at the price especially for the whiskey.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    105
    65
    63
    36
See reviews for
84
200
Solo
0
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2013

We had high hopes for this hotel, expensive (300 Euros fof dinner/bread/breakfast) and the house is lovely. However, although billed as a 3 star hotel, service was poor. At dinner we had to fetch and pour our own wine as the staff all disappeared, and at breakfast we swa no one at all. Cofee was ina flask and not made freshly, very poor for a french up market hote.

The phone in the room didn't work, and the electricity failed twice leaving us trying to shower in the dark, and with no phone we couldn't call reception.

That said the setting is very pretty, shame.

Room Tip: We had rooomk 17, with balcony and great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisL799
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2012

As the title says, we got engaged here 14 years ago, but having read the reviews, I had doubts about 'my little surprise' for my wife and kids on our way this year to the south of france. The night we got engaged in 1998, we ate outside on the terrace and had a wonderful evening. We then went inside and I had a large cigar and an armagnac to celebrate!

The arrival. Failing to find the hotel in the first instance with sat nav, (my excuse to my wife being we were trying to find a Carrefour supermarket - down a country lane with signs to 'chateau hotel de perigny?!!'), we eventually arrived and the hotel had the desired effect, my wife recognised it and cried. So far, for the right reasons.

At reception we were given a very warm welcome and I requested a simple evening meal for the four of us as we had eaten lunch already, this was no problem. Good. Now to the room, in the tower castle, a twin room junior suite, all clean, nice clean carpets and clean bedding. Toilet seperate to the bathroom, toilet basin worn but clean, bathroom old but clean. All in all, not luxury, but totally acceptable.

The main reception and restaurant are lovely, but seem to need a clean, as do the windows. In public areas other than the restaurant, there is a stale smell, the place needs cleaning. The pool was clean and well kept. Garden areas are unkempt, some weeding needs to take place and the exterior of the hotel tidied up, it gives an 'uncaring' first impression.

We went to see some friends locally and when we returned the pool was busy, it seemed as if the guests had been out earlier when we had arrived and were now back for a swim. There were a few families and couples. Dinner was on the terrace, this time with our children! The food was acceptable, (we went off menu and probably should not have done), two amuse bouche's which were nice, main course not so good. Our kids food was excellent however!

Service at dinner was excellent and friendly and the mix of people there was good. I can only think that the bad reviews here are from people that are used to very high quality chateau hotels. This is a 3 star, not a 5 star. If you want a 5*, dont stay here, its simple.

For us we had a nice stay and a lovely evening with our children and some lovely memories. If the hotel could do something about the exterior gardens/update bathrooms and clean public areas, they would be on to a winner here. Breakfast is plentiful, good quality and buffet/continental style.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jandkwilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2011

first i would like to mention that it is not a "maison d'hote" but a hotel/restaurant 3 stars that also present itself as member of some chain of charming hotels but really not worthy except for its aspect.
we went there for a diner due to its attractive menus and we did not follow previous mentions in tripadvisor but we should have!!!
the food average and deserts absolutly horribles ! i even mentioned them they should changed !! i took the good menu with all included but in fact not ( you have to add 5 euros for cheese choices while the menu is already 42€ !! but nothing clearly mentioned except the * on the menu !) read carefully the menus and be noted that nobody will tell you if you do not ask !!
fish meal without any taste !! very disappointed !!
service not acceptable!
good advise is not to go !!! ok when you arrive or on photos it looks so nice but you leave the place so disapointed !!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Itieses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level Contributor
114 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2011

Between the delights of the beautiful Dordogne and the pleasure palaces of the Loire - a bed for the night should be sought somewhere in the precincts of ancient Poitiers! A serendipitous find brought us to the Castle of Perigny. Set back from the road in a large park is a charming old castle, crammed with antiques and not too shiny and not too expensive – just a quiet, relaxing retreat. Don’t be fooled by the rural tranquillity though. Behind the glass doors of the new reception wing, the castle has re-invented itself as a wedding, conference and party setting of note and a wonderful, modern restaurant awaits on the doorstep. Two steps further, through the large glass doors is a cobbled patio leading to an Olympic sized pool. Just what the doctor ordered on a hot summer’s day. This is a delightful hideaway. Do go there.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Relais-Reviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2011

A group of mature adults booked 3 rooms based on the photos and description of the chateau in Chateaux & Hotels collection. We were each extremely taken aback at the poor state of the accommodation. The carpet in our bedroom and the hallway was so badly stained it looked filthy! There was a living room in the main part of the chateau which was bereft of soft furnishing pictures or even flowers. The bedroom section in the main chateau is separate from the dinning areas and on the night that we were there it rained heavily and the receptionist was unable to lend us umbrellas to return to the main chateau.
The staff in the dining room were quite helpful however the reviews of food standard was extremely mixed The Breakfast was good . THis is a chateau which does not merit it's inclusion in the Collection. It compares badly to others in which we have stayed over the years and is one which requires a huge degree of attention to detail to get it to reach an acceptable standard of accommodation.

Room Tip: Avoid until there is an improved standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank diane m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2011

We stayed here for just one night, and it was the perfect place to relax and switch off.
We also had our bernese mountain dog with us, and the extensive grounds gave us plenty of space to walk him.

The staff were very helpful and welcoming.

We didn't try the restaurant, but breakfast was good.

We stayed in the castle, and I was impressed with the size of the room, and the view of the lake. Remember this is a 16th Century building, not a shiny new build. If you want modern rooms this is not the place for you, but if you're looking for an escape from the rat race I would definitely recommend a stay here.

The only noise at night was from the toads!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SamG2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vouille
7.7 mi away
Mercure Poitiers Centre Hotel
8.6 mi away
Le Chateau du Clos de la Ribaudiere
Le Chateau du Clos de la Ribaudi...
#7 of 20 in Chasseneuil-du-Poitou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
8.2 mi away
Novotel Poitiers Site du Futuroscope
Novotel Poitiers Site du Futuros...
#9 of 20 in Chasseneuil-du-Poitou
3.5 of 5 bubbles 925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Logis Auberge Du Cheval Blanc et Le Clovis
8.1 mi away
Hotel Ibis Site du Futuroscope
Hotel Ibis Site du Futuroscope
#1 of 20 in Chasseneuil-du-Poitou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 999 reviews
13.1 mi away
Manoir de Beauvoir
Manoir de Beauvoir
#1 of 1 in Mignaloux-Beauvoir
4.0 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau de Perigny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de Perigny

Property: Chateau de Perigny
Address: 40 rue des Coteaux, 86190 Vouille, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Deux-Sevres > Vouille
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Vouille
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Chateau de Perigny 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK) and Priceline so you can book your Chateau de Perigny reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing