We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stopover”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Le Cheval Blanc et Le Clovis
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Vouille
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Welcoming small town with an abundance of flower displays and a beautiful archway to the older part of the village. There seemed to be running water everywhere, there was even a fountain in the middle of one of the streams. We had a room at the back of the Clovis hotel block with full view of the church and clock tower over the roof tops. The clock seemed to be striking every quarter hour and we were worried it would keep us awake but we didn't hear it after 10 pm; maybe the ringing mechanism is turned off at night. Fairly basic accommodation but we had a good night sleep and it was very good value for money. There is plenty of public parking around the hotel and restaurant but we were offered secure parking for our motorbike in a small courtyard at the back of the restaurant.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AMG505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (100)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 100 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2013

Le Clovis, the hotel part, is a short distance along the road from the Chevalier Blanc restaurant. You step inside into a provincial French early-80s time capsule! In spite of the decor, we slept well in a comfortable bed in a quiet - albeit not large - room. We dined on the restaurant terrace. Nice location and okay food. The main ingredients were fine but there were too many contrasting items on the plate and rather too many pastry bits and uninspired sauces; a bit 1980s too! Overall, reasonable value for money. Breakfast standard but fine - perhaps the most enjoyable thing about our stay was the lovely village itself.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank outofbreath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Good place en route to Dieppe from the south of France. Boiling hot when we arrived and difficult to find shade - the nearby new park looked lovely but the trees too small to offer any shelter. Found a nice walk along a lane by the river. Hotel lacks character as is split between Le Clovis (the motel type accommodation) and Le Cheval Blanc restaurant. Having said that the bedroom and bathroom, although having rather dated decor, were spotlessly clean and comfortable. We dined at the restaurant outside on a covered terrace beside a stream. Very pleasant and good food and wine. Breakfast the next morning was served in the dining room of the motel - excellent choice, self serve (the best bread of our Logis stays this year!). Enormous Super U hypermarket nearby if you feel the need for some last minute purchases!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geri711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2013

The bedroom may have been a little tired and the short walk to the restaurant in pouring rain a small irritant, but we enjoyed a marvellous night's sleep in a quiet and more than adequate room with wonderfully comfortable beds. And the walk proved well worth the umbrellas, the ambience, the quality of service and the standard of our meals in the restaurant proving to be of the highest order.
Vouille itself, although largely unexplored (the heavy rain persisting into the next morning) has a really good feel to it and is undoubtedly a venue of character.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank toptrumps_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013

Vouille in the Vienne does not jump out at one on the map of France.The Vienne conjures up images of wonderful historic medieval castles,beautiful beaches and lots of sunshine. All true. Thanks to my Logis de France guidebook I landed in Vouille and disturbed a group of locals playing petanque by speaking a strange language - a cupla focal! A nearby attraction is Futuroscope a giant high-tech film theme park. Le Parc Europeen de l'Image -Disneyland for adults. Stephen Roche won a stage of the Tour de France into here way back in 1987. The Auberge de Cheval Blanc provides comfortable and reasonably priced accommodation in an idyllic rural French setting. The food in the restaurant is really great - setting, presentation and ambience is dix sur dix. The Haut Poitou wines from a nearby cooperative really compliment the local fare. As they say, a marriage made in Heaven. Most of the brioche produced in France comes from this loveable area.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DCHPORTVENDRES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2013

just booked for another one night stop over would agree that the Clovis is a little lacking in character as this is basically a dormitory block but the restaurant is excellent. Voulille comprises an attractive sqare with plenty of parking adjacent.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeandJoy2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2012

We booked for one night as it was near to Poitier airport and had read good trip advisor reviews. After one night we were so impressed that we decided to book the last two nights of our stay in the region here. The rooms are a good size and the breakfasts were also good but the evening meals were something to look forward to. the wine was very reasonably priced and we as a family cannot speak highly enough of the standard offered. We had to walk over to the Cheval Blanc for the evening meal but this was just over the way and it was nice to have a very small stroll after ones meal. The staff had been trained well and were very polite and friendly.
If you are looking for a good French standard at a very reasonable price book here!

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet room and were put on the side which sides onto a side walk. Although there was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rosie7232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Le Cheval Blanc et Le Clovis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Cheval Blanc et Le Clovis

Address: 3 rue de la Barre, 86190 Vouille, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Deux-Sevres > Vouille
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Vouille
Price Range: £54 - £68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Cheval Blanc et Le Clovis 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cuisine crafted with passion....With fresh local produce. The Chef will delight you between tradition and modernity : eel stew, boneless filet of lamb, snails .... Plenty of space ( accommodates up to 60 ) on the water's edge for meeting or family reunions. 42 Cosy guestrooms, including 3 family rooms accesible to guets with reduced mobility, accompanied by the soothing murmur of the Auxance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Le Cheval Blanc et Le Clovis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing