We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rather disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Le Cheval Blanc et Le Clovis
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Vouille
Reviewed 23 May 2014

We booked this hotel on the basis of it being highly rated for its food. The room was small but reasonably comfortable and looked out onto the river and square and was quite acceptable for the price. However, the food was disappointing and certainly not of the standard we were hoping for, and the pictures of the food on the hotel's website were certainly misleading when compared to what was served to us, in fact we had to send back a dessert as the pastry had a very soggy bottom and was not cooked. There was no argument, and when we declined a replacement we were not charged, but as mentioned before, it was a disappointing experience and we will not be returning.

Room Tip: Our room in the hotel building faced the square and was bright and sunny and not too noisy. There ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roevers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (96)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 96 reviews

Reviewed 21 September 2013

Cheval blanc
We have eaten in the general restaurant at the front of the building before. The food was good and we had a pleasant time there.

This time we were taken as guests, to the formal dining area at the rear of the premises.
The service was not a good as expected, and were kept waiting on more than one occasion.
We had to wait to be offered a drink; this annoyed our host, and eventually had to ask a member of staff to serve us.

When the starters arrived, they forgot one of them and we had to ask where it was. The proprietor apologised and stated that a large group had arrived without a reservation, this had caused problems.

Everyone enjoyed the first course, and it was well cooked and tasty.

Some ordered steaks and had asked for their steaks to be cooked medium. (They always end up being rare, I understand that this is normal for France and can at my steak rare).
This time it was blue, and the others stated that their steaks were not cooked enough. One member of the group, who can eat his steak very rare, stated that he would not have eaten it that rare.

Because we were not paying, it made us uncomfortable to complain.

The lamb however was cooked to perfection.
The dessert was delicious.

So all in all, it was a disappointing meal out.

This was a shame, because it was not an inexpensive meal, and was very generous of our host to invite us.

I have a feeling that we were just an unlucky table, as others said how much they had enjoyed their meal.

Would not rule out returning, but would not eat the steak.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Happywanderer243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Welcoming small town with an abundance of flower displays and a beautiful archway to the older part of the village. There seemed to be running water everywhere, there was even a fountain in the middle of one of the streams. We had a room at the back of the Clovis hotel block with full view of the church and clock tower over the roof tops. The clock seemed to be striking every quarter hour and we were worried it would keep us awake but we didn't hear it after 10 pm; maybe the ringing mechanism is turned off at night. Fairly basic accommodation but we had a good night sleep and it was very good value for money. There is plenty of public parking around the hotel and restaurant but we were offered secure parking for our motorbike in a small courtyard at the back of the restaurant.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AMG505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Le Clovis, the hotel part, is a short distance along the road from the Chevalier Blanc restaurant. You step inside into a provincial French early-80s time capsule! In spite of the decor, we slept well in a comfortable bed in a quiet - albeit not large - room. We dined on the restaurant terrace. Nice location and okay food. The main ingredients were fine but there were too many contrasting items on the plate and rather too many pastry bits and uninspired sauces; a bit 1980s too! Overall, reasonable value for money. Breakfast standard but fine - perhaps the most enjoyable thing about our stay was the lovely village itself.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank outofbreath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Good place en route to Dieppe from the south of France. Boiling hot when we arrived and difficult to find shade - the nearby new park looked lovely but the trees too small to offer any shelter. Found a nice walk along a lane by the river. Hotel lacks character as is split between Le Clovis (the motel type accommodation) and Le Cheval Blanc restaurant. Having said that the bedroom and bathroom, although having rather dated decor, were spotlessly clean and comfortable. We dined at the restaurant outside on a covered terrace beside a stream. Very pleasant and good food and wine. Breakfast the next morning was served in the dining room of the motel - excellent choice, self serve (the best bread of our Logis stays this year!). Enormous Super U hypermarket nearby if you feel the need for some last minute purchases!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geri711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2013

The bedroom may have been a little tired and the short walk to the restaurant in pouring rain a small irritant, but we enjoyed a marvellous night's sleep in a quiet and more than adequate room with wonderfully comfortable beds. And the walk proved well worth the umbrellas, the ambience, the quality of service and the standard of our meals in the restaurant proving to be of the highest order.
Vouille itself, although largely unexplored (the heavy rain persisting into the next morning) has a really good feel to it and is undoubtedly a venue of character.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank toptrumps_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013

Vouille in the Vienne does not jump out at one on the map of France.The Vienne conjures up images of wonderful historic medieval castles,beautiful beaches and lots of sunshine. All true. Thanks to my Logis de France guidebook I landed in Vouille and disturbed a group of locals playing petanque by speaking a strange language - a cupla focal! A nearby attraction is Futuroscope a giant high-tech film theme park. Le Parc Europeen de l'Image -Disneyland for adults. Stephen Roche won a stage of the Tour de France into here way back in 1987. The Auberge de Cheval Blanc provides comfortable and reasonably priced accommodation in an idyllic rural French setting. The food in the restaurant is really great - setting, presentation and ambience is dix sur dix. The Haut Poitou wines from a nearby cooperative really compliment the local fare. As they say, a marriage made in Heaven. Most of the brioche produced in France comes from this loveable area.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DCHPORTVENDRES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vouille
9.5 mi away
Quality Hotel Alisee Poitiers Nord
Quality Hotel Alisee Poitiers No...
#8 of 20 in Chasseneuil-du-Poitou
194 reviews
9.2 mi away
Mercure Poitiers Centre Hotel
9.0 mi away
Ibis Poitiers Sud
Ibis Poitiers Sud
#9 of 35 in Poitiers
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Ibis Budget Poitiers Centre Gare
14.5 mi away
Garrigae Manoir de Beauvoir
Garrigae Manoir de Beauvoir
#1 of 1 in Mignaloux-Beauvoir
587 reviews
8.9 mi away
Ibis Styles Poitiers Nord
Ibis Styles Poitiers Nord
#12 of 35 in Poitiers
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Cheval Blanc et Le Clovis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Cheval Blanc et Le Clovis

Address: 3 rue de la Barre, 86190 Vouille, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Deux-Sevres > Vouille
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Vouille
Price Range: £54 - £69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Cheval Blanc et Le Clovis 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cuisine crafted with passion....With fresh local produce. The Chef will delight you between tradition and modernity : eel stew, boneless filet of lamb, snails .... Plenty of space ( accommodates up to 60 ) on the water's edge for meeting or family reunions. 42 Cosy guestrooms, including 3 family rooms accesible to guets with reduced mobility, accompanied by the soothing murmur of the Auxance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Le Cheval Blanc et Le Clovis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing