We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stunning”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Maison d'Olivier Leflaive
Certificate of Excellence
Malmesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Stunning”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

The second leg of our holiday took us tp Puligny Montrachet and Olivier Leflaive's. We spent 2 nights in the Chambre Soleil and superlatives would not come close to describing our experience. The room, the staff, the food and the wine were all beyond reproach. Particularly impressive was the fact that the wine takes precedence over the food...quite rightly so given its location. The winetasting meal was a tour de force although interestingly I found the Chassagne Montrachet superior and the others the Meursault. That is not to say the Puligny Montrachet was not excellent, it certainly was but not the best. This is a superb hotel which does justice to the illustrious region it is situated in. It is not cheap but it is worth the indulgence. I cannot recommend it highly enough.

Room Tip: The Soleil is at the top end of their price range but worth every penny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ArthurGrun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie L, Directeur général at La Maison d'Olivier Leflaive, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Dear Arthur,

It's always a pleasure for us the here such compliments about our establishment.
It's good to know that you've enjoyed to taste the Chassagne-Montrachet, definitly better for your taste.
Maybe you can enjoy the Puligny-Montrachet in another vintage...

Thank you again for sharing your experience.

All the best
Julie Leflaive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    236
    51
    19
    3
    1
See reviews for
34
191
6
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield
Level Contributor
477 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 287 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Amazing hotel. Our suite was the most luxurious room that we have ever stayed in with a walk in bathroom with its own outside seating balcony area. The service and the staff were very friendly and professional. We enjoyed their ten wine tasting meal. None of their white wines stood out but the red was good. We had three glasses per person and asked for fresh glasses after the first three wines, we were refused and had to use our original glasses throughout even when the red wines were served.
The lounge with a honesty mini bar was very comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We had a great stay in La Maison d'olivier Leflaive, we stayed for two nights in the Opale room, the room was fantastic, large bathroom, and quiet. For one of the days we upgraded to the package "La Maison et la Table" which included, breakfast, vineyard tour, winery tour and lunch with wine tasting, and Dinner (wine not included). The winery tour from Patrick (one of the owners) was amazing, not rushed and he really took time and had interest in all who took part in the tour. The wine itself was magnificent, so much so, that we paid 3x the price that they charge at the winery for a 2009 bottle in Nice a week later, you only live once!

La Maison does not really have the feel of a regular hotel, more like a large non-intrusive B&B which is really nice for a change. Upon arrival reception was a bit lacking to acknowledge us, as well as later in the stay the gentleman at reception was a bit non responsive to our presence at reception, but overall the staff was friendly and courteous.

Dinner was great as per previous postings, we were treated like royal guests for sure. The highlight for us was the vineyard tour, including geology lesson, history of the Puligny Montrachet region, grapes etc.

We were hoping for a good scotch late in the evening but turns out that the hotel is not licensed to sell, only beer and wine available, not a bad thing for sure, but next time we stay we will be prepared with own version of tasting in our room. The breakfast did lack some warm offerings, at 15 Euro for ham and croissants, we felt it was somewhat overvalued (some hot eggs, bacon or ham would have hit the spot), but must say the fresh orange juice was treat.

The small town is very cool to walk through, great photo opportunities, so quiet and the solitude of the air was amazing. We were recommended by the hotel to visit the Bistro in the square, I must say the food and service was on par.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shake-N-Baking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

My husband and I stayed at the hotel and also had the full tour package (includes breakfast, wine yard and factory tour, and dinner). We cannot sing praises high enough of the wonderful staff, the beautiful facilities, or the fantastic tour.

HOTEL:

We stayed in the "Pop" room - which was decorated in bright colors and pop art posters. Super charming. Our room had both a front window exposure (to the Monument plaza) and a back window with a view to the vineyards beyond and to the village. The Clarins shampoo and conditioner were a really nice touch.

The lounge area was very cozy - you have your choice of complimentary Nespresso or honor-system based minibar (Wine, Orangina, Creme de Cassis, etc)

TOUR
We had the package that include the tasting with lunch (highly recommended) and also dinner. While lunch was simple (and tasty), dinner was sumptuous. The sommalier cheerfully took the time to answer all of our questions (no matter how ridiculous they were) during the tour of the field and during the lunch. Breakfast is buffet style with super fresh fruits, pastries, yogurts, cheeses and cold cuts...

My husband and I are already plotting our next trip to visit La Maison d'Olivier and our vacation isn't even over - you won't regret your stay here.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amogle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie L, Directeur général at La Maison d'Olivier Leflaive, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Dear Customer,

Thank you for your commentry.
We are glad to read that you had a great time at our place with the La Maison et la Table package.

I hope you will come back soon to enjoy our place again.

Best Regards

Julie Leflaive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Our hostess in Pommard, where we were staying, recommended we reserve the wine pairing lunch and we are so glad we did. Our afternoon began with a winery tour which I would encourage doing. We learned many new things about the process of making wine even after spending a previous day touring wineries with a guide in the cote du nuits.

We opted to taste 8 wines, you can also choose 5 or 10. Each tasting is paired with food and explained on an individual basis at your own table. Lunch was delicious and the wine complimented each course. We look forward to returning another year.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sharon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie L, Directeur général at La Maison d'Olivier Leflaive, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Dear Sharon,

Thank you for you time taken to explain your experience at our place.
We are glad that you enjoy our place and hope to see you again soon at La Maison

All the Best

Julie Leflaive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales 99
Level Contributor
71 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

The website photos did not really do it justice. I'm not sure what I expected having read the website and other entries. This was really lovely; the rooms were way beyond our expectations. We chose one of those described as more modern- room 30- which had all the mod cons, to include effective air con in sweltering conditions, and a view of the grand cru vineyards beyond the roof tops. The village was very quiet at night, and not even church bells disturbed us.

The restaurant was fun. A very simple meal ( you wouldn't eat there two nights), with different wine lists from the cellar, dependant on grade. It was reasonably priced, and the wines were excellent, and the portions were adequate.

We ate in the long standing Montrachet for night 2, which was excellent.

This deserves return visits. The only drawback was that I thought it churlish to charge clients buying wine, and eating food there, for their cellar and wineyard visits. So we didn't go..

Room Tip: room 30 excellent; on third floor, but there is a lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank welsh73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie L, Directeur général at La Maison d'Olivier Leflaive, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Dear Customer,

Thank you for your commentary. That's true our web site did not really do justice to the rooms, but the new one will be online soon.
We are very happy to see that you understand and liked our concept.
I hope to see you again soon at La Maison.

Best regards

Julie Leflaive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We just spent the last weekend at La Maison d'Olivier Leflaive.
I recommend the wine yard visit as well as the cellar visit, followed by the wine tasting at lunch, this was perfect. The food is not very sofisticated and serves only to illustrate the different wine aspects.
Shall you wish to eat well, after the wine testing at lunch, II would recommend to book at Le Montrachet for the evening. Rated one star at Michelin, I liked it very much.
The pigeon was perfectly cooked, whereas the lever was slightly over cooked for "rosé" that I ordered.
We followed the butler recommendation for the red wine, a Volnay. I was surprised that she suggested one of the cheapest and it was really excellent with the pigeon and the cheese. Fortunately I had kept some Chateau de Meursault for the goat cheeses and that was also perfect.
Very nice and huge terrace!

Room Tip: Had the room #1, excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OlivierTrelex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie L, Directeur général at La Maison d'Olivier Leflaive, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Dear Mr Trelex,
Thank you very much for your comment about our place.
The formula you've choose is the classic one and the best to discover La Maison et la Table d'Olivier Leflaive.
I hope to see you soon again at our place.

Best regards


Julie Leflaive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puligny-Montrachet
0.1 mi away
Le Montrachet
Le Montrachet
#1 of 3 in Puligny-Montrachet
389 reviews
6.5 mi away
Hotel de Luxe le Cep
Hotel de Luxe le Cep
#2 of 62 in Beaune
783 reviews
6.8 mi away
Hostellerie Le Cedre
Hostellerie Le Cedre
#4 of 62 in Beaune
579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Hotel le Clos
Hotel le Clos
#1 of 4 in Montagny-les-Beaune
298 reviews
6.6 mi away
Abbaye de Maizieres
Abbaye de Maizieres
#16 of 62 in Beaune
347 reviews
6.4 mi away
Hotel de la Poste
Hotel de la Poste
#12 of 62 in Beaune
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Maison d'Olivier Leflaive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Maison d'Olivier Leflaive

Property: La Maison d'Olivier Leflaive
Address: Place du Monument, 21190 Puligny-Montrachet, Beaune, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Bourgogne-Franche-Comte > Cote d'Or > Beaune > Puligny-Montrachet
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Puligny-Montrachet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — La Maison d'Olivier Leflaive 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The building dates from the 17th century, nestling at the heart of the village of Puligny-Montrachet. An interior garden and a spacious lounge are invitations to draw corks and taste. But what really defines the character of the place are the 13 spacious, light-filled bedrooms. These have been designed as intimate, comfortable spaces, where flat-screen TV, internet-access, DVD-players, air-conditioning and inside shutters are standard.One might choose a documentary about a famous, local wine, or from the wide choice available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your La Maison d'Olivier Leflaive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Maison d`Olivier Leflaive Hotel Puligny-Montrachet
La Maison D'Olivier Leflaive Puligny-Montrachet, France - Burgundy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing