We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service made the stay unforgettable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
La Maison d'Olivier Leflaive
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Excellent service made the stay unforgettable”
Reviewed 8 April 2014

I started to write a review and in the middle of doing so, scrolled down and read some others. I second everything that NewYorkNYMom says below. Rather than repeat everything she wrote, I'll just summarize to say that the service at La Maison d'Olivier Leflaive is truly top-notch. The entire staff is so friendly!

At dinner, the sommelier, Charles, was funny and charming and managed to really give us quite an education about wines of Burgundy (and we weren't amateurs to begin with). He was hands down the best sommelier we've ever had, in Europe or the US. The manager took care to inquire on no less than three occasions if we had found everything we needed / everything to our liking. When we forewent breakfast due to the fees, he even provided us with espressos and croissants at the bar at no charge!

Meeting Olivier over dinner, and then (like NewYorkNYMom again) his brother over coffee in the morning was such a treat as well. They were so warm and it felt like they really took time to chat -- more than just a cursory hello.

My husband and I have traveled the wine routes of a handful of regions in France, and we felt that the experience of staying and dining at Olivier Leflaive was truly unique and all-around charming.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amandas711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie L, Directeur général at La Maison d'Olivier Leflaive, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Thank you very much for this wonderful review.
Our first interest is to satisfy our clients, so reading such a good comment is a real pleasure.
We will read it to the all team.
We hope that you will come back soon to learn more about Burgundy, and to have a peaceful stay.

All the best
Julie Leflaive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    239
    52
    21
    3
    1
See reviews for
35
195
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

As part of our touring of the Cote d'Or we spent one evening at La Maison d'Olivier Leflaive. The rooms were large and nicely supplied with Clarins toiletries. All the staff we dealt with were warm and helpful. We had the dinner and wine tasting offered at the hotel. The pre-set meal was simple, the food only adequate. However, the accompanying wine tasting, (we ordered the basic 5 wine option but added on the Grand Cru choices since we weren't sure we'd ever opt to spend the money on a full bottle) was a highly enjoyable experience. Charles, our sommelier that evening, was delightful. He guided us through the wines and answered all of our questions most charmingly. Olivier Leflaive stopped by each table to chat. The next morning we met his brother, Patrice. They set a tone of good humor and hospitality that is carried through by all the employees. We thought the 25 Euros for breakfast a bit steep, and picked up some very good pastries at the bakery just across the square.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NewYorkNYMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie L, Directeur général at La Maison d'Olivier Leflaive, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
We thank you very much for your positiv comments about La Maison d'Olivier Leflaive and are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us . We feel like you very much enjoyed you stay, and we are happy to know that. Just to clarify, our breakfast is not 25 € but 15 €, for a big buffet, with eggs on demand, fresh fruits... But the bakery across the street (where we buy our pastries) is indeed very good.

We will share this information with our team and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you soon again.

Best Regards
Julie Leflaive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 November 2013

A couple of friends invited my husband and me for a we in Burgundy at the occasion of our wedding. They knew the hotel from last year and wanted us to discover it. The rooms were really beautiful, spacious and comfortable. The dinner and degustation of wine as well and the explanations and service at the top. On that point there is nothing to add.
The pity regarding that hotel is really the poor communication within the staff. I discovered that my friend had to send severall emails to receive a confirmation about the booking and the formula choosen and we when showed up at the hotel, despite a confirmation per email from the hotel, the formula was still no ok and the confusion and irritation of the guy at the reception so clear. We did not feel so welcome.
The last day, my friend was unfortunately sick and we asked for her to stay in the bedroom till 11.45 a.m instead of 11.00 a.m.... we received the agreeement of the receptionist and.... at 11.30 he made a scene because the check out of the room was not yet done and the bill not yet paid. Definitely not acceptable in a hotel of such standing. He was not obliged to agree to our request but as formn the moment he agreed, his behaviour is not acceptable.
Unfortunately, this experience was unpleasant enough to make sure we will not come back nor recommand this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cat0611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean S, Directeur général at La Maison d'Olivier Leflaive, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Dear Mrs,

Happy to hear you appreciated our hotel, restaurant and our wines.
Nevertheless, the behavior of our hotel assistant-manager is not
admissible. We clarified this point with him with the higher firmness. We
understand that your beautiful WE ended with such a bad experience is a
shame. Please accept our apologize, and we hope to have the opportunity to
welcome you again with a special rate whenever you want.
With my best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Our second year staying at 'La Maison' and it's still as good. We've seen 5 different rooms in all and they are all huge and every one as good as the others.
The other reviews all attest to the quality of this hotel so all I can do is confirm the positives that others have experienced. We have stayed in other hotels in Puligny Montrachet but this is the best - in our experience.
Breakfast is excellent and it is well worth taking advantage of the vineyard tour and wine tasting. In the end, it's all about the wine.
Both lunch and dinner is served but, at their website says, the food is served as a 'simple meal' to highlight their wines - with options to have 5, 8 or 10 glasses of wine to taste. So don't have great expectations of a gastronomic experience - but the wines are very good!
Note the restaurant is closed on Sundays but try Le Pelugney just across the square.

Room Tip: All seem to be as good as the others so no real preferences - some look over the square but it's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SPCJ45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie L, Directeur général at La Maison d'Olivier Leflaive, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Dear customer,

Thank you very much for your comment.
We are happy to see that you liked our rooms.
As you said, our goal is not to try to make gastronomic food, but to propose a meal which fit perfectly with our wines. And we are always happy to book in a nice gastronomic restaurant for Sunday evening or you second dinner at our place!

I hope to see you soon again at La Maison.

All the best

Julie Leflaive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malmesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

The second leg of our holiday took us tp Puligny Montrachet and Olivier Leflaive's. We spent 2 nights in the Chambre Soleil and superlatives would not come close to describing our experience. The room, the staff, the food and the wine were all beyond reproach. Particularly impressive was the fact that the wine takes precedence over the food...quite rightly so given its location. The winetasting meal was a tour de force although interestingly I found the Chassagne Montrachet superior and the others the Meursault. That is not to say the Puligny Montrachet was not excellent, it certainly was but not the best. This is a superb hotel which does justice to the illustrious region it is situated in. It is not cheap but it is worth the indulgence. I cannot recommend it highly enough.

Room Tip: The Soleil is at the top end of their price range but worth every penny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ArthurGrun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie L, Directeur général at La Maison d'Olivier Leflaive, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Dear Arthur,

It's always a pleasure for us the here such compliments about our establishment.
It's good to know that you've enjoyed to taste the Chassagne-Montrachet, definitly better for your taste.
Maybe you can enjoy the Puligny-Montrachet in another vintage...

Thank you again for sharing your experience.

All the best
Julie Leflaive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield
Level Contributor
483 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 289 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Amazing hotel. Our suite was the most luxurious room that we have ever stayed in with a walk in bathroom with its own outside seating balcony area. The service and the staff were very friendly and professional. We enjoyed their ten wine tasting meal. None of their white wines stood out but the red was good. We had three glasses per person and asked for fresh glasses after the first three wines, we were refused and had to use our original glasses throughout even when the red wines were served.
The lounge with a honesty mini bar was very comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We had a great stay in La Maison d'olivier Leflaive, we stayed for two nights in the Opale room, the room was fantastic, large bathroom, and quiet. For one of the days we upgraded to the package "La Maison et la Table" which included, breakfast, vineyard tour, winery tour and lunch with wine tasting, and Dinner (wine not included). The winery tour from Patrick (one of the owners) was amazing, not rushed and he really took time and had interest in all who took part in the tour. The wine itself was magnificent, so much so, that we paid 3x the price that they charge at the winery for a 2009 bottle in Nice a week later, you only live once!

La Maison does not really have the feel of a regular hotel, more like a large non-intrusive B&B which is really nice for a change. Upon arrival reception was a bit lacking to acknowledge us, as well as later in the stay the gentleman at reception was a bit non responsive to our presence at reception, but overall the staff was friendly and courteous.

Dinner was great as per previous postings, we were treated like royal guests for sure. The highlight for us was the vineyard tour, including geology lesson, history of the Puligny Montrachet region, grapes etc.

We were hoping for a good scotch late in the evening but turns out that the hotel is not licensed to sell, only beer and wine available, not a bad thing for sure, but next time we stay we will be prepared with own version of tasting in our room. The breakfast did lack some warm offerings, at 15 Euro for ham and croissants, we felt it was somewhat overvalued (some hot eggs, bacon or ham would have hit the spot), but must say the fresh orange juice was treat.

The small town is very cool to walk through, great photo opportunities, so quiet and the solitude of the air was amazing. We were recommended by the hotel to visit the Bistro in the square, I must say the food and service was on par.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shake-N-Baking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puligny-Montrachet
0.1 mi away
Le Montrachet
Le Montrachet
#1 of 3 in Puligny-Montrachet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
6.5 mi away
Hotel de Luxe le Cep
Hotel de Luxe le Cep
#2 of 62 in Beaune
4.5 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
6.8 mi away
Hostellerie Le Cedre
Hostellerie Le Cedre
#4 of 62 in Beaune
4.5 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Hotel le Clos
Hotel le Clos
#1 of 4 in Montagny-les-Beaune
4.5 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
6.6 mi away
Abbaye de Maizieres
Abbaye de Maizieres
#15 of 62 in Beaune
4.5 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
6.4 mi away
Hotel de la Poste
Hotel de la Poste
#12 of 62 in Beaune
4.0 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Maison d'Olivier Leflaive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Maison d'Olivier Leflaive

Property: La Maison d'Olivier Leflaive
Address: Place du Monument, 21190 Puligny-Montrachet, Beaune, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Bourgogne-Franche-Comte > Cote d'Or > Beaune > Puligny-Montrachet
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Puligny-Montrachet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — La Maison d'Olivier Leflaive 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The building dates from the 17th century, nestling at the heart of the village of Puligny-Montrachet. An interior garden and a spacious lounge are invitations to draw corks and taste. But what really defines the character of the place are the 13 spacious, light-filled bedrooms. These have been designed as intimate, comfortable spaces, where flat-screen TV, internet-access, DVD-players, air-conditioning and inside shutters are standard.One might choose a documentary about a famous, local wine, or from the wide choice available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Hotel.de so you can book your La Maison d'Olivier Leflaive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Maison d`Olivier Leflaive Hotel Puligny-Montrachet
La Maison D'Olivier Leflaive Puligny-Montrachet, France - Burgundy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing