We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight stay on way to south of France”
Review of Le Montrachet

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Le Montrachet
Certificate of Excellence
London UK
Level 5 Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Overnight stay on way to south of France”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

This is the perfect overnight stop from London to South of France. It had recently added a new restaurant with terrace serving a huge choice of local Montrachet wines and a cheese board to die for. Rooms are comfortable and a good size just love this hotel.
A great little village to sample the local wines!

Room Tip: They are all good due to the quiet location
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kymashdown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    224
    131
    64
    6
    2
See reviews for
62
273
7
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ashby-de-la-Zouch, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We used this hotel to break our journey from Calais to Provence. It's very relaxing and a great stop for families. Our rooms were large and airy, the beds very comfortable and the shower good. The restaurant produces some fantastic food - try the taster menu, well worth it! Breakfast is also very good. All staff are friendly, helpful and professional; they all speak excellent English and indulged us with our poor French. Planning to stop again next year.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K100E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Italy
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Loved this hotel the first time .... I was so impressed by the location and in fact still think it is a very lovely village and the square is so quiet and pretty too. We both loved the restaurant the first time in April, felt it really deserved its Michelin star and the breakfast was excellent, if possibly a little dear at 17 euros per person, but very fine qality and service.
We had a great room in the new annexe, large and spacious with private parking, definitely the best part of the hotel to be, our room was in the main building on our second visit and not quite so perfect, though absolutely pristinely clean and the bathroom was new and had natural light.
The restaurant disappointed us a little as the menu has changed very little and in fact we ate the same dishes as the last time due to the lack of choice and seasonal variety. I must say the snails are among the finest i have ever eaten. Our main course was not up to standard .... so all in all I would like to say, yes it was good, but not as tiptop as I first thought. Or is it the awful August syndrome? I did not expect this here ...

Room Tip: the ones in the annex on the other side of the square, a little more expensive bt worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michelangelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

After a tiring 7 hour journey we hoped to have a better greeting than "will you be having dinner with us to morrow night,please make your decision quickly" rooms in annex at least we're drab and not particularly equipped with poor reading lights. Breakfast expensive extra which we didn't realise on booking. Not many facilities in hotel to use like gym,pool or spa.

Room Tip: Insist on being in original house
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alderley Edge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

The hotel was charming but naturally the best bit was the copious glasses of puilgny montrachet!
Dinner in the restaurant was fantastic.
The room was at the back and a little dark but a good but cant complain as we hadn't booked and called in on the hope of a room.
All in all a great stopover on our route south.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vimix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Governor's Harbour, Eleuthera
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We have stayed at Le Montrachet several times and had loved the quiet charm of this out of the way place. The newly renovated room was very comfortable and the bathroom was grand, but it doesn't have the same charm it once had. The staff was very gracious and accommodative and we love the area outside of Beaune but will try another town such as Meursault or Santaney next trip as they have a few more dining options

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janice C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We arrived at the Montrachet during the hail storm that did so much damage to the beloved Burgundy grapes. What a huge disappointment! Having stayed there a few years ago and loved every minute of it, From "Madame's" welcome to the wonderful meal which was clearly intended to match the lovely Puligny-Montrachet. It was a memory to cherish. How things change! Now it is just a hotel with no stand-out features. The rooms have been updated but have lost their charm. A proper reception but the staff seemed new or 'in training'. The meal was the biggest disappointment. The bar was not staffed when we arrived so we waited to get an aperitif and waited even longer to see the menu. Nothing on the menu was designed to go with the wine! The worst thing was that they let dogs into the dining room. The whole experience for me was marred by the overpowering smell of wet dog. We shall not be back.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thejanners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puligny-Montrachet
0.1 mi away
La Maison d'Olivier Leflaive
La Maison d'Olivier Leflaive
#2 of 3 in Puligny-Montrachet
323 reviews
6.6 mi away
Hotel de Luxe le Cep
Hotel de Luxe le Cep
#2 of 62 in Beaune
820 reviews
6.9 mi away
Hostellerie Le Cedre
Hostellerie Le Cedre
#4 of 62 in Beaune
608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Hotel le Clos
Hotel le Clos
#1 of 4 in Montagny-les-Beaune
313 reviews
2.4 mi away
Chateau de Citeaux La Cueillette
6.7 mi away
Relais & Chateaux - Hostellerie de Levernois
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Montrachet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Montrachet

Property: Le Montrachet
Address: 10 Place du Paquier de la Fontaine, 21190 Puligny-Montrachet, Beaune, France
Region: France > Bourgogne-Franche-Comte > Cote d'Or > Beaune > Puligny-Montrachet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Puligny-Montrachet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Montrachet 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a famous Burgundy wine-producing village in the heart of the Côte de Beaune, Le Montrachet is the gateway to all the pleasures of an exceptional region. In an incomparable setting, Le Montrachet offers you a genuine Burgundian experience: outstanding wines, authentic cuisine, warmth and expertise. Just a few kilometres from Beaune and its famous Hospices and also close to numerous wineries well known to lovers of Burgundy wine the world over. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Le Montrachet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Montrachet Hotel Puligny-Montrachet
Le Montrachet Puligny-Montrachet, France - Burgundy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing