We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Raves from a return client!”
Review of Hotel La Chouette

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel La Chouette
McLean, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Raves from a return client!”
Reviewed 14 September 2012

As returning clients (4 times for my husband and 2 times for myself) we can attest to this B & B being a treasure set in a lovely French village. Suzanne is the quintessential hostess and chef. She has lived in the area for a long while, so she can direct you to a variety of places for dinners and arrange for different activities. Her B & B is indeed more of a small luxury inn with 6 large bedrooms on two levels, some with an outdoor balcony or patio. The rooms are very nicely decorated, incredibly clean and have great amenities. There is a small bar refrigerator in each room. The main living space on the ground level is centered around a fireplace with cozy places to read and gather (the fire is lighted in cooler weather).
Her breakfasts are to die for--always home baked breads and bakery goodies, jams, jellies, hard boiled eggs (quail and hen), charcuterie, a variety of juices, fresh fruits of all sorts, tiny smoothies, a hot fruit dish (cobblers, crumbles, etc), yogurt/fruit parfaits--the list goes on and on and it changes daily. Suzanne is definitely a fabulous chef, who just happens to specialize in breakfast. Breakfast is self-serve in a very informal style. There is lots of hot coffee and a variety of hot teas and hot chocolate. Breakfast is served outdoors on the patio in nice weather or at a long dining table in the great room on cooler days.
Since no children under 12 are allowed, it is the perfect place for quiet relaxation. Also perfect to sip a glass of wine after a hard day of touring the outstanding local vineyards.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ssdive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    19
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
15
73
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2012

Unfortunately, we'd only booked one night at this lovely B and B as we were heading south but we regretted not being able to linger longer! Suzanne has established an excellent and luxurious small hotel and the rooms are delightful. The setting is perfect in the heart of the best white wine area 'in the world' and Suzanne has some good recommendations for dinner.

Nothing could match her brilliant breakfasts, however! Wonderful home baking and preserved fruits and jams. Quails eggs as well! All so effortlessly and beautifully presented!

Anyway, we were very impressed and would love to return in the not too distant future!

Room Tip: Our room was downstairs and had a nice sheltered terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RedlizNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2012

This is a very comfortable and excellently presented Bed & Breakfast where every effort was made to make our stay a pleasant one. Perfectly anticipating our needs... on arrival we were offered a complimentary tray of tea and fresh cakes and fruits on the small terrace - the teas we chose being from a very wide selection available and the nibbles very pleasant. Suzanne was very helpful in providing advice on where to eat and where to visit. Our rooms were very good sized and immaculately presented, as was the whole property.

As I can only rate in whole numbers then to be fair I have to round this up to a 5 (excellent) as the only issues I had were very minor - the over bath shower was a bit narrow for me, and there was no tea & coffee making facilities in the room (that we generally prefer to have). However the bedrooms were immaculate and there was a good choice of freshly prepared items for breakfast, so this bed & breakfast definitely earns its 'excellent' rating.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Temple1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2012

We stayed in this B&B for a couple of days in April 2012 while on a Burgundy bicycle tour.

The owner, Suzanne, has set up this B&B to be warm, comfortable and luxurious. The breakfast is to die for, with lovely local faire. (I hope I've used the right word here, I mean local produce!) It was my first introduction to quail eggs, as compared to ordinary hens eggs. There was lots of choice for the rest of the breakfast, and she knows how to make a nice weak tea.

The rooms are very spacious, the bathrooms modern and clean and the little knick-knacks like soaps and shampoos are first quality. I've attached some photos of the bathroom below.

When we were planning our day, Suzanne offered a suggestion which we hadn't considered. I won't go into the detail, but her suggestion was BRILLIANT and was much better than the cold, windy day of cycling we were proposing. As it turned out it hailed and a strong wind blew for much of the day. Definitely not a day for outdoor cycling..... If you desperately want to know what Suzanne suggested, send me an email.

Suzanne also suggested a bunch of locations for dinner that night. We chose one, she made a booking by phone and it turned out to be a lovely place. That evening it hosted a full-blown wedding. However, the restaurant fitted us in, and we had a ball mixing it with the wedding guests.

I liked Suzanne's B&B and would dash back in a heartbeat. It had everything we were hoping for; local connections, charm, warmth and extreme comfort!!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PerthEngineer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Alberta
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2012

Three days in early May, as others have mentioned Suzanne is extremely helpful in guiding us to the must sees, while voiding the "don't bothers". Puligny Montrachet is home to some of the greatest Chardonnays on the planet, kind of a white wine oasis in the generally red (Pinot Noir) Burgundy region. La Chouette is ultra clean, modern with some old world charm, and a great breakfast. Continental, yes (of course...this is the continent after all), but wonderful little home made fruit cups, fresh fruit, and if its nice enough to sit outside, a beautiful little patio.

This is one of those special places that I would not hesitate to recommend.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Goodchip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2012

La Chouette was a comfortable place to stay while in Puligny - Montrachet. Suzanne directed us to a nice wine tasting and also to a very good restaurant a short distance away. We had a beautiful walk through the vineyards to reach the restaurant, Auberge du Vieux Vigneron. The rooms are small but comfortable. The only disappointment was the breakfast. I had read great reviews about breakfast and really built it up to my husband. Although the presentation was very, very nice and what was offered was good, it was more continental in style. We had expected a hot breakfast from the reviews that we read. Also, you cannot get coffee or tea until breakfast time, which is after 8:00am. We would have liked a coffee station set up just to be able to have a hot cup of coffee or tea a little earlier.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hamigirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
atlanta
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2012

We stayed 3 incredible days in Puligny-Montrachet and absolutely loved it. La Chouette is wonderful - centrally located to other towns but you can easily walk into the quaint town center for a drink or a bite to eat if you don't want to drive.
Suzanne is very gracious and can help guide you to some wonderful places to visit and eat! The rooms are spacious, clean but to me the biggest plus was the awesome breakfast - everything was so fresh and delicious! We loved it!! We cannot wait to come back and will tell all of our friends! Thanks Suzanne!!

Room Tip: I think all the rooms are pretty sound proof. We had an upstairs room with a view of the vineyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank catwomanAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puligny-Montrachet
0.1 mi away
Le Montrachet
Le Montrachet
#1 of 3 in Puligny-Montrachet
426 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Maison d'Olivier Leflaive
La Maison d'Olivier Leflaive
#2 of 3 in Puligny-Montrachet
323 reviews
6.7 mi away
Hotel de Luxe le Cep
Hotel de Luxe le Cep
#2 of 62 in Beaune
820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Hotel le Clos
Hotel le Clos
#1 of 4 in Montagny-les-Beaune
313 reviews
2.5 mi away
Chateau de Citeaux La Cueillette
9.0 mi away
Ermitage de Corton
Ermitage de Corton
#1 of 1 in Chorey Les Beaune
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Chouette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Chouette

Property: Hotel La Chouette
Address: 3 B rue du Creux de Chagny, 21190 Puligny-Montrachet, Beaune, France
Region: France > Bourgogne-Franche-Comte > Cote d'Or > Beaune > Puligny-Montrachet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Puligny-Montrachet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Chouette 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Chouette is a delightful six-bedroom hotel, designed and run by its owner, Suzanne. Its charming interior and picturesque setting make it feel like a home away from home. The hotel is located in the tranquil village of Puligny-Montrachet, whose world-renowned vineyards border the property. The panoramic view of the garden and vines, combined with the hotel's friendly and comfortable atmosphere, reflect the simple, country charm of Burgundy. Suzanne gives all guests her personal attention. Every day begins with the enticing aromas of her creative homemade breakfast. Early risers often share a cup of coffee and chat with her whilst she gets everything ready. Guests can also enjoy afternoon tea on the terrace or by the fireplace, with a book from Suzanne's library or just listening to relaxing music. Suzanne's knowledge of Burgundy's rich history, gastronomy and countryside helps La Chouette's guests make the most of their stay. It's a place to come back to time after time ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel La Chouette reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Chouette Hotel
Hotel La Chouette Puligny-Montrachet, France - Burgundy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing