We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Pleasant Surprise” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Logis Saint Martin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Le Logis Saint Martin
Santa Barbara, Calif
Level Contributor
185 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“A Pleasant Surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2012

A small Hotel across from a Park and Stream along which one can find a most pleasant walk. We found the trail that went along the stream, crossed it, and took us some ways through a leafy refuge.... with some very nice homes on the other side of the stream. Since we like walking and exploring, the area was unexpectedly rewarding.
Our room was comfortable and quiet. My wife found sufficient room in the Bath for the"necessities" The bath-shower was strong and warm. The Hotel's restaurant had some remarkable dishes, well worth the visit. The owner most pleasant. We enjoyed strolling through and around the town as well, though it seems the town's businesses have been adversely impacted by the "box store" phenomenon.

Room Tip: We always ask to see the room. It is a good idea so one won't be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Oski80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    30
    24
    12
    6
See reviews for
18
55
3
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
151 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2011

Tucked away in a quiet location the accommodation was very comfortable, the location adjacent to a rippling stream delightful and the restaurant providing gourmet food. Much of the food was locally sourced and delicious, such as yoghurt, apple compot, creamed beetroot, bread, beef etc. You must beware though that all of this does not come cheap and you may consider a nights stay with the basic evening meal at 260 euros too expensive, which included a charge for our dog. But after the drive from Cherbourg - after catching the ferry at Poole at 07:00 and arriving in France at 10:30 - the peaceful nights sleep was well worth the cost to us. Also the Hotel provides secure car parking

Room Tip: ask for a stream view, discuss your request with Edward the manager
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank spain0809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2011

Having stayed at this hotel in the distant past with my wife I thought I should give it another try to see if there was any reason we hadn't been back.
I knew that the surroundings were pleasant and quiet, but my first thought on looking at the details was that for the price the rooms should be something special. Well, if you want to pay to have your room walls covered in a very nice blue and gold fabric, with matching curtains, fine. The bed was very comfortable, but even one person felt the lack of space and seating possibilities. The bathroom was nicely modernised, but with no space at all to stow your bits and pieces.
The welcome was pleasant, and help offered with baggage.
There is evidently in the kitchen someone who really knows how to cook. From the amuse bouche through a carpaccio of salmon to the "beignets" of potato with the main course and a beautiful vanilla soufle things were good, including the "cuisson" of a piece of beef. Unfortunately said beef (pave) was tough and tasteless, and the choice on that or any of the more expensive menus very limited. The wine and alcohol prices were enough to give a sensitive soul like me apoplexy - and I am used to eating and drinking in various places around and about St. Tropez. They wanted about €40 for half a bottle of Provencal wine, and the same for a cognac, albeit XO - daylight robbery in anybody's money.
Suffice it to say that this place has potential, given realistic pricing and more choice for diners - I reiterate that the capabilities of the chef are not in question.
I now realise why we never returned, and I shall not be back until there is some indication of a sea change.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daftpilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2011

Tucked awy on the edge of the village, the location is very calm and attrctive with a lovely stream running just across the road from the hotel. Externally it looks like a converted stone farmhouse and inside much stone is in evidence. Our room was spacious and the walls were covered with a dark blue fabric with a gold motif, giving a quite luxurious feel . The dining room was quite roomy and the food was good. However the wine list was large with prices that blow your mind, even though we do like good winne e.g. the cheapest red wine appeared to be a half-bottle at €36! Furthermore, the service was slick but extremely pretentious with the plates served by white-gloved young ladies who then stood basck and announce in very rapid French what you were about to eat. Frnakly, it spoilt the effect and I found it difficult not to laugh because this is not a 5* hotel. Finally, the welcome from the owner was somewhat expressionless and he seemed to move around the palce like a ghost with no acknowledgement of one's greeting. We had a "Superior Preference" room at €155 a night with a French breakfast at a breathtaking €16 each. I think that the French are losing the plot over their increased charging. We would not stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EuropetravellerUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sussex
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2011

We stayed here with several friends for a wedding nearby. I think people attending the wedding took up over half the rooms for three night. The general atmosphere of the hotel is very nice, friendly and excellent decor downstairs the rooms are on the small side but the bed was comfortable and overall very clean. The staff were charming and helpful and the food was absolutely fantastic ! We had arranged a dinner for twelve people and it was superb. Management were very accommodating and looked after us extremely well with lovely menu, excellent service and good wine list. Breakfast was good but it would have been nice to have a choice if juices instead of the issued apple juice every morning! The hotel is situated in a lovely quiet area by a pretty river. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SussexJaneyt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level Contributor
95 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2010

The hotel was in a nice location by a river, has a small pool and looks lovely from the outside.

The dinner as great, drinks outside, followed by a tremendous French meal, slow, with great service and superb food.

The disappointment was the room. Although the bed itself was fine and reasonably comfortable the bathroom and separate toilet were more like those you find in an Ibis that in an expensive Chateau.

In the end it was a lovely experience, we would certainly go back to eat, but the room was just a little bit below par.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zenman1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2010

After our civil partnership, we went there for a three day break. It was amazing! The chef is a genius with food, the restaurant has an incredible atmosphere, the room was comfortable and spacious, and the swimming pool was a big plus (even if a bit cold at first!). It's so quiet, as it's located in a beautiful corner of the city near a stream. The welcome was not the warmest but the rest of the staff was really nice. It is pricey, especially the breakfast, but a great treat!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SGDESPREZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Maixent-l'Ecole
13.4 mi away
Chateau de Curzay
Chateau de Curzay
#1 of 1 in Curzay-sur-Vonne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
11.3 mi away
Qualys Hotel Lagrange
10.3 mi away
Kyriad Niort
Kyriad Niort
#2 of 24 in Niort
4.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Ibis Budget Niort
Ibis Budget Niort
#2 of 5 in La Creche
4.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hortencia Hotel du Cheval Blanc
Hortencia Hotel du Cheval Blanc
#2 of 2 in Saint-Maixent-l'Ecole
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
6.2 mi away
Moulin de la Papeterie
Moulin de la Papeterie
#2 of 3 in La Creche
4.5 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Logis Saint Martin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Logis Saint Martin

Property: Le Logis Saint Martin
Address: 2 Chemin de Pissot, 79400 Saint-Maixent-l'Ecole, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Deux-Sevres > Saint-Maixent-l'Ecole
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Saint-Maixent-l'Ecole
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Logis Saint Martin 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Le Logis Saint Martin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing