We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Maison Tirel-Guerin
Nearby Hotels
US$153
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$147
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$223
US$213
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel de la Baie(Saint-Benoit-des-Ondes)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Beachfront
Le Querrien(Cancale)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (622)
Filter reviews
622 results
Traveller rating
299
212
77
27
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
299
212
77
27
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsst maloscallopsstayed for nightsreception staffroom rategrand marnieren routenight staywine menucheesepigeoncancalemaitreferryeurosfrenchdelights
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
56 - 61 of 622 reviews
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We spent two nights here following a week in Southern Brittany. As a couple, our experience was good, However, my son, daughter-in-law and three very young children were with us and they found the hotel somewhat unsuitable for children. They had a family suite, which involved the use of a bed settee and when in bed mode, it left very little space.
The restaurant was fine dining and even though a child menu was available, the timings were too late for small children, used to eating earlier. We ate in the restaurant the first evening and the food was excellent, with set menus ranging from approx. €40 up to €90 plus, so be prepared! During our visit to the restaurant, many French children were eating there with their parents. All was fine and very civilised apart from a small number of babies and toddlers, who cried relentlessly until removed by a parent and returned when they were calm enough to continue their meals. My son and his wife decided not to risk the crisp white linen and beautiful glassware even though our grandchildren are well behaved. They certainly wouldn't stay at this hotel again with young children, whilst we may do as a couple on our own.

Room Tip: The front of the hotel would be noisy due to the proximity of the railway station.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cali4Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

We stayed here on a last minute booking after a very trying day - but this hotel made us feel as though our luck had changed! The staff couldn't have been more welcoming and the room was lovely. The biggest boon, though, was the fantastic swimming pool with jacuzzi and sauna. We stayed in a family room which was perfect for us. I would definitely stay there again for longer!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sharieramanella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

This is our fourth visit to this hotel where we spend the night before taking the day ferry from St Malo. Although it is expensive it makes a splendid finale to the holiday. Once again the food was excellent. We skipped the cheese course on the set menu. Our waiter was delightful educating us about the unusual wine we chose. The room was comfortable with a pleasant balcony but oh dear the shower!
It was a hand held with a small shower head and the fixture was about 2 feet above the bath so no chance of standing underneath to wash and feel refreshed after a long hot journey. The screen was not wide enough so I'm afraid we splashed water on the floor. At over £100 for one night - excluding breakfast - one expects a shower that is a little more comfortable.
We will return next year and hope for the standard we have had in previous years and which have been enjoyed by other visitors who have submitted reviews.

Room Tip: Check on the shower!
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisbeth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maison_Tirel_Guerin, Owner at Maison Tirel-Guerin, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

Dear Sir, Dear Madam,

Many thanks for commenting on your last stay in our Hotel,
please do mention the shower thing on your next booking, so we ensure you to get the best we have. Since you stayed with us, a few things have been improved, including the Hotel lobby.
Our Chef Olivier Valade has revisited a lots of our so called "signature" dishes, and he has brought lots of creativity and novelties, still using local fresh produce whether it be sea or earth made....
We are looking forward to receiving you again,
and wish you the Best Season's Greetings,
Yours Sincerely,
Pascal Duval

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

Our first visit to this lovely hotel and it won't be the last. From the efficient reception to the immaculate table service this hotel has got it sussed. Our suite was excellent - the bathroom was especially superb with lighting in the right place for once and plenty of room for toiletries etc. A fantastic shower room too. In a less than 24 hour stay we managed to cram in 2 superb meals - a delicate lunch followed by a oh so delicious 'degustation' dinner. We reckon the chef and kitchen certainly lives up to it's Michelin rating. We are looking forward to returning next year as a final climax to our annual holiday in France. We were impressed too by the reasonable cost of wine - for such a high graded hotel - prices to suit all pockets! So well done Maison Tirel-Guerin we'll be back!

Room Tip: The rooms on the non road side would probably be quieter, but the double glazing is excellent and the air conditioning quiet and efficient so even in a heat wave the road noise didn't disturb us.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pat b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maison_Tirel_Guerin, Owner at Maison Tirel-Guerin, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

Dear Sir, Dear Madam,

many thanks for commenting on your stay in our House last summer.
Please when you book next time, do tell our Clerk about your room number in advance so you make sure to get the same. since your spent time with us, a new Chef got in, Olivier Valade, which we hope will have the pleasure to cook for you and please your palate.
Most of our "signature" dishes have been "revisited", and lots of creation has been brought in, still using local produce whether it be poultry, fish, or vegetables.
Please, may we also present you our Best Season's Greetings,
Mr Duval and Mrs Duval, owners.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

I have been staying at this hotel for many years, usually as a last night stopover after a week or so in SW France prior to catching the ferry back to the UK from St Malo. We look forward to staying here -- such lovely rooms and service, and only 15 -20 mins from the port at St Malo. The restaurant continues to be first class -- the lobster remains our favourite as there are few places who can cook it perfectly, and this is one.
If you like a bit of quality in accommodation and food, and are prepared to pay a bit more for it, then this is well worth a visit.
Rooms are at a premium so booking is essential -- and call them directly if the websites say fully booked :-)

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews