We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Chateau de l'Aubriere
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Italia(Tours)(Great Value!)
US$61
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$54
US$48
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ibis Tours Nord(Tours)(Great Value!)
US$85
US$82
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$219
US$207
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Inter-Hotel La Terrasse(Tours)(Great Value!)
US$87
US$82
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$76
US$73
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$63
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$53
US$48
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$107
US$104
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$39
US$37
hotelF1
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Reviews (126)
Filter reviews
126 results
Traveller rating
71
32
12
6
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
71
32
12
6
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfamily homeloire valleycharm and characterlady ownerlate arrivalold treesswimming poolresident peacockchateautoursfurniturelawnsbedroomcandlelightantiqueshostcentury
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
61 - 66 of 126 reviews
Reviewed 16 January 2011

We had seen both positive and negative reviews on this hotel and having been there, we now have to side with the negatives. Overpriced for what it was -- "faded glory" is an apt description. Rooms were shabby; bathroom carpet a bit scary. We didn't eat there because it was too expensive. The hostess was charming until we were ready to check out and she told us she had us booked for 6 nights rather than 3. (We had booked through Venere.com. Hostess told us we needed to contact Venere; we later contacted Venere, they told us we needed to contact her. Nothing was ever resolved. ) We left, as planned, after 3 days but had to pay for 6. There are many other hotel options and we suggest choosing something else.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank culturevulture45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2010

We spent one night in an expensive "suite" The rooms were dirty, the bedspead looked as if it had never been cleaned, the bathroom is carpeted and smelly and although there is a mini-bar, it is stocked with very expensive out-of-date rubbish.

All rooms are upstairs, and carry your own luggage, which is fine if we are not paying 180Euros for the pleasure. Security is a nightmare, so do not take any valuables there. The owner speaks little English and does not attempt to help. Breakfast is a very overpriced 15euros and there is nothing within walking distance. The location is on the outskirts of Tours, and given that there are over 300 establishments closer to the attractions of the Loire Valley, there is nothing good about this place. No wifi for business, nothing for leisure travellers either.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lyndie2U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2010

I saw the beautiful chateau sitting high up on the hill from the main road as we drove up. The place is absolutely charming. When we arrived we were greeted by the countess who was extremely friendly. She took us to view the rooms and then told us about breakfast the next morning which included her homemade croissants (delicious). The grounds were very nice and extremely spacious, it was not warm enough during our stay to be open but the pool was a wonderful touch. I hope to return in the future to use it. The chateau felt like home and I left feeling like I had spend two full days as a real life princess. The location of l'Aubriere is ideal for touring all of the major chateau in the area and is very close to Tours for a bit of nightlife. My Mother, Aunt and 2 cousins had such a wonderful time.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jen_demick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2009

We unfortunately only had 1 night at this lovely Chateau, but it was certainly one of the highlights of our 2 month trip around Europe. Our hostess Violenne was absolutely delightful and made us feel so welcome. The Chateau is set on 35 acres, so plenty of room for the children to run around. There are also bicycles, table tennis, a pool, soccer nets etc., so the children had an absolute ball.

In some places, especially travelling with children, we were sometimes nervous that perhaps the children were looked down on - not here ... they were made to feel extremely welcome and truly loved the experience.

While there are probably more elaborate chateaus in the area, if you are travelling with children and want to give them a treat, but still feel comfortable in their surroundings, then you can't go wrong here.

Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
4  Thank Daisy1531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2009

We loved our stay in this beautiful château nears Tours. A wonderful welcome from the charming countess, who cooks great meals, looks after 5 children and runs the hotel.
We felt we were part of the family. We will return and we highly recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to share a unique experience.

  • Stayed: June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank girarddelphine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews