We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gem A Couple Hours From Paris and Near Auxerre”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Le Petit Manoir des Bruyeres
Ranked #1 of 1 Villefargeau B&B and Inns
Boston
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
“A Gem A Couple Hours From Paris and Near Auxerre”
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

This was our third stay at this beautiful Chateau & Hotel Collection B&B. The woman who owns and runs the property is amazing. She is probably eighty years old and is a fabulous cook and host. She will prepare and serve a great and hearty home cooked meal paired with a fine wine. All at reasonable prices. The property is beautiful, comfortable, and quiet. Monica is also a cat lover.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank amortizor73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    6
    4
    1
    6
See reviews for
11
38
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Traverse City, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

Felt like staying with a friend in this charming home but still had our privacy. They served a wonderful dinner even though we didn't make advance reservations for the night. Beautiful house with nicely decorated rooms and biggest (clean and modern) bathroom we've ever had in Europe. Very hospitable.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelTootser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2013

Stayed in this hidden gem for just one night and was amazed at the welcome we got. Arrived late one evening and the lovely and slightly eclectic ladies who operate the place welcomed us into what is a magnificent old mansion. We did not book our stay with breakfast but they insisted on us having a superb breakfast - including several delicious breads with, I guess, more than a dozen different home made jams. The room we stayed in was straight out of a Louis XIV movie, wonderful ensuite and very comfortable 4 poster bed.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shaun C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 November 2012

My 4th visit here this past September was as wonderful as ever.
Le Petit Manoir des Bruyeres is a tranquil gem of beauty and welcome civility on lovely grounds with beautifully appointed rooms and an excellent cuisine prepared by the charming and most capable proprietor, Monique.
The Manoir is well-located; an easy 2-hour drive to or from Paris.
I definitely plan to return next year.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2012

The reviews to this property have been varied from one extreme to another and its understandable depending upon what you expect and like. The location is about 7/8 km from Auxerre (not 3km as some guidebooks suggest), has a most wonderful garden with great fruit trees and birds and fantastic location near woods. The rooms are quaint furnished with all sorts of knick knacks and the main dining room with some great pieces of furniture and art. We only had breakfast there which was good. The welcome from the only staff member was very pleasant despite the fact that she was not feeling well and she was most helpful. Its a beautiful house but its not a standard hotel. So if you are expecting a standard hotel room with all amenities dont go there, but if you would like a peaceful and tranquil setting in a beautiful garden then this is a good place to go.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michaelj2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2012

After arriving from a long flight from Brazil, collecting our rental car we made this our first stop as previously booked. The Lady owner was there to great us and made us very welcome. After listening to her advice we had a meal in the nearby village which was outstanding.
Breakfast in the Hotel the next morning was a work of art and tasted like it. Glorious....
This will always be our first stop when arriving in Paris and travelling south.

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Hans B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2012

My wife and I stayed at this Chateau & Hotel Collection selection in mid April for one night. We wish we had more time to stay longer. If you are looking for a place to stay after landing in Paris or the day before staying in Paris you will not regret staying here. The Petit Manoir is a small operation but it does have rooms on the ground level and plenty of secure free parking.

The Manoir itself is a kilometer or two from the stated location of Villefargeau with Auxerre about 5 km's away. The location is easy to find and very quiet. The main building contains the elegantly old fireplaced dining and reading area. Madame Monica had a nice fire in the great fireplace just before our arrive on a damp and coolish April day.

Our room was in a annex building just a few meters from the main building. The rooms are beautifully decorated and have all the modern amenities - our's had a roomy bedroom with flatscreen tv, roomy bathroom with a fantastic multi-jet shower and separate toilet area. Also a fridge and coffee area.

The best part of the stay was the ambiance and motherly attention of the owner/manager Monica and her Table de Hotel meal in the evening. It is best to take advantage of this culinary experience as just about everything is home made at the maison. We had an entree of white asparagus followed by a devine roasted chicken plat followed by fantastic cheese and desserts. It was truly outstanding. Monica is an older woman but very experienced with both food and wine. She has a nice selection of wines to match with the food.

The crowning culinary event was the breakfast in the main manoir in the morning. It was too cool to have the breakfast on the beautiful terrace but that did not deter from the breakfast itself. Copious amounts of home made jams, breads, fresh fruit, cheese etc all nicely presented and served by Monica. We have been traveling to France annually for well over a decade and this was the one of the finest - if not the best - places that we have found to date. And we have stayed at some pretty impressive places. An interesting aspect of the Le Petit Manoir des Brugeres is the collection of chickens, birds, white doves, and two friendly orange cats that occupy the grounds.

So if you are looking for a stopover going to or from Paris - you should check this place out. We will be returning.

Room Tip: Make sure to reserve the "Table d'Hote" for meals. A car is a must. The Manoir does no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amortizor73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Villefargeau
4.5 mi away
Le Parc des Marechaux
Le Parc des Marechaux
#4 of 22 in Auxerre
244 reviews
5.2 mi away
Mercure Auxerre
Mercure Auxerre
#1 of 4 in Appoigny
383 reviews
5.3 mi away
Ibis Auxerre Centre
Ibis Auxerre Centre
#2 of 22 in Auxerre
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 mi away
La Cote Saint Jacques
4.7 mi away
Hotel Normandie Auxerre
Hotel Normandie Auxerre
#1 of 22 in Auxerre
327 reviews
5.1 mi away
Hotel Le Maxime
Hotel Le Maxime
#6 of 22 in Auxerre
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Petit Manoir des Bruyeres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Petit Manoir des Bruyeres

Property: Le Petit Manoir des Bruyeres
Address: 5 allee de Charbuy, 89240 Villefargeau, Auxerre, France
Region: France > Bourgogne-Franche-Comte > Yonne > Auxerre > Villefargeau
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Villefargeau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Petit Manoir des Bruyeres 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Petit Manoir des Bruyeres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing