We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to relax and have fun with "Toffee", the lodge's meercat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kalahari Red Dunes Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Nice place to relax and have fun with "Toffee", the lodge's meercat”
Reviewed 11 January 2014 via mobile

Pros:
- nice lodges with a view to the waterhole
- beautiful and lovely decorated tent-bungalows with own veranda
- nice pool and lounge area
- friendly and attentive service staff
- "Toffee", the lodge's meercat, who comes to play and cuddle with you

Cons:
- Food (Dinner) is only average and can't match the expectation in a lodge like this (In comparison: food was much better in Sossus Dune lodge, Fest Inn Fels and Na' ankuse Lodge)
- not much game in the lodge

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kinski T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    135
    69
    14
    1
    1
See reviews for
33
146
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Erding, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We had a great time in the Kalahari Red Dunes Lodge. It was not only that the scenery was stunning but the rooms were just sweet, the food was gorgeous, the staff very helpful and Toffee the cutest companion for a walk ever. If you come straight from Windhoek it's a perfect start. The game drives were fun and a good opportunity to ask any questions cause the ranger really took the time to answer any questions. We absolutely would recommend the place and definietly would come back.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Netto0302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zürich
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

We used the Kalahari Red Dunes Lodge as our first destination on a tour through central and northern Namibia. Conveniently located a few kilomteres off the main road in Namibia, the lodge is perfectly set and decorated to fulfill all traveller's needs. The staff is friendly and helpful, the food was very good and the privacy and design of rooms nice.
Unfortunately we had a sleepless night with a couple of people loudly partying at the pool until 3 a.m, which is definitely not appropriate in a 'safari lodge' and we would definitely have expected the managament to interfere!
We would recommend to everyone seeking a conveniently located lodge, easily reachable, with lots of comfort, at the end or start of a safari.
Last but not least, the Meerkat 'Toffee' has made our evenings even more pleasant :-)

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LONDOLOZI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

A lodge without a definite character or personality. Our room 'Nyala' was huge with three elements joined together. One contained the sitting room (with an open fire for cold nights), one with the bedroom and one with the bathroom. It had the essential air-con in the bedroom (it was 40 degrees when we were there), fridge and coffee/tea making facilities. No complaints about that at all. We originally had no hot water but that was fixed promptly when reported. Food was average. Good free wi-fi in the public area. As mentioned, we were there in very hot weather so as it was too hot to walk and there is nowhere of note in the vicinity to drive to, the early morning or sundowner drive is really all there is to do. My advice would be to arrive in the early afternoon, enjoy the complimentary tea and cake, and then go on the sundowner drive. Stay one night at the beginning or end of your trip as it's only 2 hours from Windhoek (but 3 from the airport).

Room Tip: There is detailed information on each room on their website, so take your pick.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TonyNorwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013 via mobile

Recommended.. Lovely tents with nice fittings, welcome drink and yes its true, free mini bar. Atmosphericly surrounding a pan and waterhole. Wooden walkways to central area, really nice staff. The letdown was the food which was ordinary. A 'six minute' boiled egg came back runny. But all in all very nice.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank john222333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conwy County, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013 via mobile

A warm welcome was given to us as we turned off the B1 to this convenient stop on the journey south. The lodges were linked across the sands by a walkway with car parking outside each one. They are well equipped including a free minibar - a very pleasant treat. There is space for a wood fire and the beds and bathroom were spacious even if a little tired. Don't expect a host of wildlife but we saw desert foxes on our way in. Food was not outstanding but adequate. A good peaceful stop which can be recommended.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Stephen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cantù, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

I choosed to stay at the Red Dune Lodge because of the good reviews readen and can only confirm that they are all true. The lodge is only 3 km from the main street, but after these three km of gravel road you are going to enter in another world: immediatly after the arrival you have an absolutly feeling of peace and tranquillity. The bungalows are gorgous, big and very tasteful with a beautiful view from your bed from which you can enjoy the sunrise. The lounge and restaurant are wonderful as well and beside this what really makes a difference is the staff: helpful and paying attention to any single details to make the clients feel absolutly comfortable. We made the sundowner game view, not that much to see if it comes to animals, but anyway the guide was excellent, explaining every single animal we saw and the sundowner was amazing with a beautiful sunset and a full moon coming up. Dinner was excellent and the extra drinks weren't expansive at all comoaring with the very high level of the place. The morning we had to leave we discovered to have a flat tyre, but ince again the staff was helpfully and changed for us the tyre, giving us as well indication where ti go in Mariental to fix it! Just a wonderful place with and amazing staff, absoluty the best you can get and wish!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mariental hotels
41.8 mi away
Hardap Resort
Hardap Resort
#1 of 1 in Mariental
15 reviews
37.0 mi away
Kalahari Anib Lodge
Kalahari Anib Lodge
#1 of 8 in Mariental
653 reviews
28.4 mi away
Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.5 mi away
Zebra Kalahari Lodge
Zebra Kalahari Lodge
#5 of 8 in Mariental
163 reviews
62.1 mi away
Lapa Lange Game Lodge
Lapa Lange Game Lodge
#3 of 8 in Mariental
248 reviews
38.2 mi away
Africa Safari Lodge
Africa Safari Lodge
#6 of 8 in Mariental
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kalahari Red Dunes Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kalahari Red Dunes Lodge

Property: Kalahari Red Dunes Lodge
Address: Kalkrand, just North of Mariental, Mariental, Namibia
Region: Namibia > Hardap Region > Mariental
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Mariental
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kalahari Red Dunes Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comforting and charming best describes the mood at the Kalahari Red Dunes Lodge. This is where Africa will captivate you in a laid-back and cheerful manner. The long-gone atmosphere of Africa safaris from centuries past seems to hover in the air. Enjoy the Kalahari desert from one of twelve individual guest houses nestled into the bankside of a natural dry lake where lots of wild animals are frequent to be spotted. The Kalahari Red Dunes Lodge is a very special place - let its magic work on you. Directions: From Windhoek, drive 190km south on B1 to Kalkrand. Continue on B1 for another 6km and turn towards the lodge until you reach the visible entrance to the lodge after 3km. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo so you can book your Kalahari Red Dunes Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kalahari Red Dunes Lodge Namibia/Mariental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing