We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“comfortable stopping point” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Anandi Guesthouse

Anandi Guesthouse
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mariental
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Anandi Guesthouse
Ranked #2 of 7 Mariental B&B and Inns
Surrey
Level Contributor
421 reviews
153 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 229 helpful votes
“comfortable stopping point”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

There isnt a great choice of accommodation at the lower cost end of the market and this place is good value for price. You probably only want to stop one or two nights max as nothing much in the area and Mariental very basic town. Your only choice really for food is the wimpy or the Anandi will provide a simple home cooked dinner if ordered in advance.

Our room was pretty good and comfortable, secure parking was on site, the service very friendly and the included breakfast excellent.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Jasmine101Surrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    12
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
10
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Namibia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

Friendly staff and nice garden with secure parking. You can order pizzas at reception for dinner, hot breakfast was included. Make sure you request a room on the ground level with a view on the garden and a private sitting area at the back. The big family room on the second level needs attention as some of the furniture showed a lot of use with broken chairs at the TV area.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amelia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
47 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

A friendly, warm greeting sets you on your way to an overall pleasant overnight stay. The rooms are spacious and neat and the bathroom is modern. One is able to relax in a lovely garden setting. Although it is located opposite a garage with a truck-stop, this was not an issue for us as we were still able to enjoy a good night's sleep. We would use this establishment again in the future.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol7337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minden, Germany
Level Contributor
58 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2013

We stayed at this guesthouse in 2008.
The room was big, very comfortable and clean as was the bathroom.
The staff was very friendly.
Breakfast and dinner were very good.
Secure parking was provided.
Our son liked to play in the garden.
Although there is not much to do in Mariental apart from going to Hardap Dam, Mariental is a nice place to stopover from WHK to the South of Namibia.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank namsun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaruru, Namibia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2012

We liked visiting this Guesthouse alot. The staff was very friendly and our room was comfortable we each had our own bed for a change and the kids enjoyed the spa bath. We had easy access in and out of the premises.

The only "frown" I had, was that I had specifically asked if we could have dinner at the Guesthouse, and the lady taking the reservations did not note/remember that I asked.

Otherwise, nice big lawn in front of our room and the kids played and relaxed a bit.

Room Tip: One of the luxury rooms 1-6 very affordable!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarteniqueScott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2012

Anandi Guest House in Mariental, Namibia is a luxurious, clean and comfortable oasis in the middle of the hot and dry Namib. The room was very well furnished and included a shower and a spa bath. An added extra was the friendliest cat I have met in years! The price of the breakfast at N$70 was a bit unrealistic so I had a big breakfast at the Wimpy across the road for less than half that. I would recommend Anandi and would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Interloper99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2012

Loved the hospitality and clean rooms. Especially after driving around sandy windswept dustbowls that lead into the town.
What this basic accommodation has going for it is the managaress Elsa. A gem in the otherwise bland town. She actually made me (almost) like Mariental.
The rooms were well stocked with towels and amenities and fitted out with good furnishings. Here and there maintenance issues, but nothing to make you want to try the lesser guesthouses you see dotted about town.
I always say sleep in your own guest rooms now and then and you will feel the saggy bed and faulty hand shower. Only way to know before it ends up here. These were our only two small gripes. Very conveniently located opposite a 24 hour petrol (gas) station with a supermarket and fast food franchise.
Again it if was not for Elsa who greeted us with complimentary cakes we would have experienced it all very differently.

Room Tip: Ask for a spa bath room - only a few, and our hero Elsa had kept us two. Very welcome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CapeTownBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mariental
0.0 mi away
Lapa Lange Game Lodge
Lapa Lange Game Lodge
#4 of 8 in Mariental
4.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kalahari Anib Lodge
Kalahari Anib Lodge
#1 of 8 in Mariental
4.5 of 5 bubbles 564 reviews
0.0 mi away
Africa Safari Lodge
Africa Safari Lodge
#6 of 8 in Mariental
4.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch
0.0 mi away
Stampriet Historical Guesthouse
0.0 mi away
Auob Country Lodge
Auob Country Lodge
#1 of 2 in Gochas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anandi Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anandi Guesthouse

Property: Anandi Guesthouse
Address: PO Box 345, Mariental, Namibia
Region: Namibia > Hardap Region > Mariental
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Mariental
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Anandi Guesthouse Namibia/Mariental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing