We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb campsite and great facilities at the lodge!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kalahari Anib Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kalahari Anib Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Schiedam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Superb campsite and great facilities at the lodge!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

We stayed at the campsite of Kalahari Anib Lodge as a 1-night stopover between the Kgalagadi Transfrontier Park and Sesriem and we really enjoyed our stay! We were really happy we could use the restaurant of the lodge after cooking ourselves for 8 days in the Kgalagadi so we really made use of it. We had lunch and dinner on the day of arrival and breakfast at the day of departure and it was all very tasty. It's a bigger lodge than for example Bagatelle that's in the same area so it's a bit less personal but the staff was very welcoming and really tried to make us feel at home. We didn't take part in any game drives or walks so I can't say anything about that, we just relaxed in the gardens with a drink while checking our email and stuff like that.

The campsite itself was very, very good! It has a private shower, toilet, braai and kitchen area and also has nice bushveld views. And last but not least, it's all really affordable!! So if you are in the area it really is a great place to stay, especially if you're on a budget.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MR1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

564 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    259
    217
    70
    13
    5
See reviews for
147
267
19
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

We stayed here for two nights on our way back to Cape Town and it was by far one of the best campsites we've visited in namibia. The sites are really well appointed, totally separate from each other and each has its own private loo and shower.

We dined at the restaurant which was a set menu - but really good quality local food and wine and we really enjoyed our meal. The staff were excellent and attentive and it was a refreshing experience after the previous service horrors of NWR resorts.

One afternoon we took a long walk around the farm and were pleasantly surprised to see all sorts of wildlife and birds which was a real treat - walking through small herds of zebra on foot, stopping by small streams etc - well worth the effort!

Just like all the Gondwana resorts we've stayed it was great - they give an excellent level of facilities and service at a really affordable rate - we would definitely recommend visiting here for a few nights.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

After a long first drive through the desert we were most happy to arrive at this welcoming lodge.

Food and accommodation were very good, and the walking trails nice and easy to follow.

The sunset drive was one of the coldest experiences that we've had - and the chilled wine when the sun went down was delicious, but mulled wine would have been more welcome. But we did see an abundance of wildlife.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Morton J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
265 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

We arrived and were shown to our chalet, nice room a little dark. As we were quite early we thought we would go for a walk, asked re sunset at reception and were told incorrect time. Went for a walk with provided map, and planned to walk to the river which turned out to be dry. saw some wildlife and were adopted by a dog who accompanied us for most of the walk, just leaving to chase a wildebeest. It got very dark and finding the signs was a little tricky, we would have done a shorter walk if we had realised.
dinner is served at set time, slightly strange set up as every one gets served together, slightly spoilt by a few big noisy groups.
At the end the staff started singing and dancing which was definitely the highlight and worth lingering for many had left and missed it.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CGSFormby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

One of the Gondwana Collection lodges, this is a little gem in the Kalahari. The first night of our tour of Namibia got us off to a great start. The whole place is tastefully decorated with an African theme to help you get a feel for the country. The rooms are fairly large so you can spread out a bit and very comfortable. The game drive on offer only adds to that holiday feeling and gets you nice and relaxed.
Dinner and breakfast were both delicious.
I travelled solo but in a group.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vera P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

10/10.

Very hard to find any faults with this place. Food is excellent and service is second to none. There's not much to see around Mariental but this is a great place to chill out for a couple of days, which is what we did en route to Fish River Canyon.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GobanSaor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dortmund, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

Great experience - the accommodation, game drive, meals as well as the talks ...
wonderful seeing also the commitment of Gondwana collection towards the environment, social, health and wellness concerns of the employees!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Ute H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mariental
20.3 mi away
Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch
28.6 mi away
Lapa Lange Game Lodge
Lapa Lange Game Lodge
#4 of 8 in Mariental
4.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
20.0 mi away
Kalahari Farmhouse
Kalahari Farmhouse
#1 of 1 in Stampriet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.7 mi away
Zebra Kalahari Lodge
Zebra Kalahari Lodge
#5 of 8 in Mariental
4.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
25.0 mi away
Africa Safari Lodge
Africa Safari Lodge
#6 of 8 in Mariental
4.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
19.9 mi away
Stampriet Historical Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kalahari Anib Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kalahari Anib Lodge

Property: Kalahari Anib Lodge
Address: About 30 Km Northeast of Mariental, Mariental, Namibia
Region: Namibia > Hardap Region > Mariental
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Mariental
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Kalahari Anib Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kalahari Anib Lodge lies like a lush green oasis in the midst of red Kalahari dunes. The restaurant and chalets are arranged around a shaded courtyard with a large swimming pool. 52 rooms(30 Twin Standard, 17 Twin Comfort and 5 Family Comfort Rooms) with a private veranda are available for tour groups. Located about 30 km northeast of Mariental the lodge makes for a perfect stopover on the way south. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Kalahari Anib Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kalahari Anib Hotel Mariental
Kalahari Anib Lodge Namibia/Mariental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing