We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the worst experiences of my life” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“One of the worst experiences of my life”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

We had an absolute nightmare with our "stay" at Bagatelle. We had booked in advance and had stated that we would arrive early evening however on the way our hire car had a breakdown so we were running late when we received a phone call at 8.30 asking if we were still coming and did we want dinner. We advised that we were still coming and were on our way but as we were two hours away we had stopped for food so would not require dinner - I do wonder if we had said we would be purchasing dinner and thus spending money the eventual outcome would have been different.

We arrived at Bagatelle at 10.40 to find the gates shut and no watchman. We banged on the gate house, rang the number in the guide and the number who had rung us but received no replies. As Bagatelle is a game reserve we didn't fancy scaling the fence.

We tried to find somewhere else to stay locally but everywhere was full so in the end we had no other option than to drive back to Windhoek, arriving back exhausted at 3.00am. This to be frank was a terrifying experience, driving at night in Namibia is never recommended due to the number of animals on the road however this was also the weekend and the number of clearly drunk drivers around was staggering. We were very lucky to make it to Windhoek with ourselves and the car in one piece.

If we hadn't confirmed that we were still on our way this experience may have been forgiven but we had and it clearly goes to show how little Bagatelle value their guests.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
5 Thank Scal_78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

636 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    378
    190
    48
    15
    5
See reviews for
135
395
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

Beautiful camp amongst the red sand dunes. Room was very comfortable. Food was excellent. We attended the cheetah feeding with the sundown and the walk with the Bushmen - highly recommend. We did not realize that there are different choices of accommodation so if you want to stay right on the dune make sure that you ask for that option.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 113Sheila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

This was a very peaceful setting and the private bathroom was really good to have! However we were assigned a site that had no level place in which to position our vehicle. We have a rooftop tent so we preferably need to sleep on a level area! the other sites did appear to have level areas, so when you book do make a request for a site with some level space if that is a requirement for you. Otherwise a great camping experience!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank mary689_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kokstad Sa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

This is an excellent Resort, the setting magnificent a fotografers paradise, with lots of game. We did like the "breadroll eating springbock" around the dinner table, maybe some fussy overseas clients would not like it. Pity we didn't have more time.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

The campsite was great and clean in a beautiful location and a personnal bathroom. The dinner at the lodge was really nice, the activities (horse riding) interesting and the staff was very friendly! Would have loved to stay longer.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Laure B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

Travelling with 8 students (age 20 - 26) through Namibia and the stop in the Kalahari at Bagatelle Ranch was absolutely recommendable. Being guests at one of the beautiful campsites, we could still use the pool and all other facilities on the lodge. Having a nice sunset-tour in the red dunes with cool drinks, enjoying a delicious dinner at the ranch, and taking a shower with a view into the red Kalahari dunes - all of it made it an unforgettable experience, even with a smaller students buget.
The staff was exceptionally friendly and the tame springbock walking around on the ranch is a nice experience as well. We will definitely come back!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Namibia_Explorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WC
Level Contributor
37 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

We had booked a camping site at Bagatelle, but it was a cloudy and wet day when we arrived. We booked a room instead and the staff went out of their way to assist us in our choice. The scenery is beautiful, and in the afternoon we went on a beautiful naturen drive. The dinner afterwards was very good and so was the breakfast. In fact we liked it so much that we have already booked again!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TWKNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mariental
20.3 mi away
Kalahari Anib Lodge
Kalahari Anib Lodge
#1 of 8 in Mariental
4.5 of 5 bubbles 564 reviews
36.3 mi away
Lapa Lange Game Lodge
Lapa Lange Game Lodge
#4 of 8 in Mariental
4.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
33.8 mi away
Zebra Kalahari Lodge
Zebra Kalahari Lodge
#5 of 8 in Mariental
4.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
44.8 mi away
Africa Safari Lodge
Africa Safari Lodge
#6 of 8 in Mariental
4.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
0.4 mi away
Stampriet Historical Guesthouse
35.2 mi away
Suricate Kalahari Tented Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch

Property: Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch
Address: 50km From Mariental On the C20 And the D1268 District Roads., Mariental, Namibia
Region: Namibia > Hardap Region > Mariental
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Mariental
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch Namibia/Mariental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing