We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value great location. ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

My daughter and I stayed at Bagatelle after a long road trip through Namibia. It's set beautifully among the grassland and dunes of the western Kalahari. We tried to book one of the dune chalets but the place was full so could only get a garden room. While quite dark and closed up it was nicely decorated and excellent value if you consider that the brilliant meals alone were worth more than the price of the room. The family made us feel really welcome and it's great to meet people so proud of their establishment.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank gerrygrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (714)
There are newer reviews for Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

223 - 229 of 714 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2014

Great place to stay en route to sossuslvei. Staff welcoming, food excellent and accommodation great. Unexpected welcome from a springbox who wandered into the lodge late evening. New owners working on improving place.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hugh C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Beautifully located in the Kalahari between the red dunes, even driving the entrance road is a delight with springbok hopping around. We were warmly welcomed with afternoon cake and coffee. Excellent food (best we had in Namibia) with a choice between 2 starters (loved the springbok carpaccio), buffet main course with game meat prepared on the braai and choice between 2 desserts (of which the chocolate moelleux and poached pear are truly memorable...). The lodge is very cosy and warm with a fire in the evening, the staff was helpful and enthusiastic. We will always remember the pet springbok (Skanki) that just comes in the lodge and eats cookies :-) The cheetah feeding is a nice experience, the nature drive provided a good introduction to wildlife as this was our first stop after Windhoek. Camping places are about 1 km from the lodge, nicely spread out with private bathroom building and lots of privacy. The owners were very friendly and even gave us an upgrade to one of the bungalows which was very welcome given the cold temperatures at night. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IslandHopster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Having arrived about 2.30pm, we popped our bags into our straw-built chalet and nipped back to the main house for a spot of lunch. We were joined by the resident pet springbok - a slightly surreal but never the less great experience. Then off on a whistle stop tour of the private conservancy in the southern Kalahari. It was a bit frantic but we saw a good mix of game before heading back to feed the three orphan cheetah then off for a sundowner on one of the sand dunes. Supper was a game meat barbecue 'braii' with tasty buffet. Our chalet was well equipped with comfortable beds, hot shower, mini bar and great views over the sandy Kalahari dunes. The place is not a high quality lodge - but it is warm, friendly, slightly quirky and it grows on you. It is inevitably a perfect overnight break on your way down to Fish River Canyon or on your way back up to Windhoek.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Media1994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

It was our second stay in Bagatelle, as we were there a couple of years ago. There was a change in management / owners of the lodge end of 2013, and you can see the impact, in good and in bad.
The lodge itself is very nice, with beautiful surroundings and wonderful Kalahari landscape. It was the first time we went in the Kalahari after the rains, and it's really beautiful.
Rooms are also very nice. Last time we were in the dune chalet, but this ttime we moved to the chalets down in the valley, as we were travelling with a baby and they are more convenient to reach with a trolley… both are very nice. The strohbale chalets don’t have a bath, but they are more spacious.
The main area of the lodge is nice, there is some work done around the swimming pool with a new pool and new garden.
The food is good but not superb.
In the past you could see the suricates at the back of the lodge, the staff said they wouldn’t see them during the rainy season, but I guess that due to the extensive works done in the area of their previous den, they must have moved from there. So not sure you can still rely on this lodge as a good spot for suricates (to be confirmed in dry season).
On the whole, the staff is really new here, so don’t know a lot about the area. In the past you could walk on walking trails with a map given at the reception, but not anymore, or the reception girl didn’t know about it.
The bad point for me is regarding activities. The game drive can be very nice if you do it at the start of your trip (you will mostly see usual species, but in a very nice surrounding, it makes nice pictures), but they pack the cars with 10 people making it not so nice… the management also encourages you to take their combo : game drive + cheetah feeding. The cheetah feeding part is really disappointing, you end up rushing at the end of the drive to make it in time, then you spend only 20 minutes with the cheetahs, watching them from the car (in the past you could get out once they had been fed). Some people just did the cheetah feeding part, and they were really disappointed (keeping in mind it’s not cheap… they don’t give a good price Vs quality ratio). You finish the activity with a sundowner, but every car + people doing the horse riding congregate to the same point, leading to a sundowner with more than 40 people… I would think there is enough space in Kalahari not to bring everybody on the same spot. It gave us the feeling they do some “mass tourism” activities rather than quality orientated ones.
So for me a very nice lodge in a very beautiful area, but you can skip activities (specially the cheetah feeding) unless you insist to do only the game drive, and make sure they don’t pack the cars…

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Munhoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

Nice and complete accomodation. Very friendly staf. Great food. Horse trip, Game drive and sundowner are top. San bushmanswalk is interesting BUT fake and tourist trap when you reach the fake village where you feel pushed to buy very very expensive selfmade stuff. That last part was disapointing.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank aprilvis69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

This is a very nice place to stay. Great service, exceptional accomodation (Campsite), Exciting landscape and interesting offers for guided tours. Excellent restaurant and friendly staff. We would definitely come back.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Sabina448
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mariental hotels
23.0 mi away
Hardap Resort
Hardap Resort
#1 of 1 in Mariental
17 reviews
9.9 mi away
Kalahari Anib Lodge
Kalahari Anib Lodge
#1 of 8 in Mariental
695 reviews
14.8 mi away
Zebra Kalahari Lodge
Zebra Kalahari Lodge
#5 of 8 in Mariental
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
38.4 mi away
Lapa Lange Game Lodge
Lapa Lange Game Lodge
#3 of 8 in Mariental
263 reviews
28.4 mi away
Kalahari Red Dunes Lodge
Kalahari Red Dunes Lodge
#4 of 8 in Mariental
225 reviews
28.2 mi away
Africa Safari Lodge
Africa Safari Lodge
#6 of 8 in Mariental
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch

Address: 50km From Mariental On the C20 And the D1268 District Roads., Mariental, Namibia
Region: Namibia > Hardap Region > Mariental
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Mariental
Price Range: £149 - £306 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch Namibia/Mariental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing