We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“well designed and managed property”
Review of Monte Marina

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Esquinzo
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Monte Marina
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Esquinzo
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Monte Marina has a lot of intimacy in its design, and is well kept. Maintenance, garden, and housekeeping staff are around every day. Apartments are spacious, and comfortable. Good beds ! The majority of guests were 50+, quiet and respectful. Nice and quiet atmosphere, good for relaxation.
We had a very good week. Compliments to Mrs. Duffner and her staff !

Room Tip: Our favourite appartments are 34, 32, 30, 28, 26 and 24, which have some sea views and early morning...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank anjacasper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (55)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 55 reviews

Reviewed 16 September 2013

Very nice apartment complex for a mid-budget nudist holiday in the peaceful resort of Esquinzo, in the South of the Island.
Rooms worked out at £ 70/night for a large and immaculately clean apartment which had recently been decorated. The decor and fittings are a tad dated but was well presented.
Pool, gardens, sauna all very well kept too as was the small pavilion with a book exchange library and table tennis. Being September the pool was pleasant but would feel cold early in the year.
Main hotel over the road (Marina Playa suites) has the additional amenities (Spa,pools gym) but lacks a bar and the restaurant (although fab setting) is overpriced for its standard (eating out in nearby Moro Jable is cheaper and the Supermarket (local Spar 100 metres away) is very cheap for food and drinks compared to the UK) in our opinion- hotel restaurant would push UK prices-€60-80 for three courses with wine for two.
Additionally the resort has a good lively pub (Safari Bar owned by Owen the Irishman) open to 1 a.m. each night and nearby is the Maribu restaurant (which we did not try in the week we were there) which we were told was very good but pricier than the hotel. The excellent, immaculately clean C/O beach has a very good beach bar (in textile area to the right (south) on the beach) called Atalaya. Its hard to spend more than € 3/pint of beer € 2/glass vino blanco. In the Spar good white wine (Bach) is € 3.80/bottle, beer 50c/can (33cltrs) and spirits €5-11/litre!!!
The beach is a major plus being a major reason this area has developed.heading North (left) you lose the hotels and at low tide you can walk 15 km to Sotovento along the beautiful white sand beach-naked if you desire. Need to catch a cab or the Nr 1 bus back from the Melia Gorriones hotel if you do this amazing walk.
MM clientele mainly German then Dutch with a few Brits but everyone was very friendly. Age range on our visit late 30's to mid 60's. Duffner family who own Marina Playa Suites (textile) and Monte Marina (nudist) are very pleasant and friendly and run a good operation.Faults (TV-three English channels incl BBC-was not working)attended to and fixed immediately.
Nice relaxing resort and all the amenities are a short walk....we would recommend this place and will return as it was such fun!

Room Tip: Best to avoid rooms 45-49 if you are shy as there is a oblique view from the roadside. Our apartment...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank PatRa123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2013

This seems a good opportunity to mention that there is a rather good restaurant attached to Monte Marina. You pass under an arch to the left of the hotel, walk towards the beach about 50m and the entrance is on the right. The menu is quite varied, the table staff are competent and friendly, and of course, the food is very good. We ate there several times Dec 2012 through to Jan 2013 and would return again. Sometimes live entertainment is organized.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2013

This was our second time staying at this naturist resort. Arrived in our hire car, free parking is on the road around the resort, never had a problem finding a space next to our apartment. Most of the roads here are one way and the traffic is light. The Reception is in the hotel complex of Monte Marina Playa. Although the Reception is open in the morning and late afternoon, if locked new arrivals can ring the bell and you’ll be attended to, probably by Frau Suzanne Duffner (Manageress/Owner). Cheerful welcome plus we were offered a cool drink while booking in. This time we had requested a top flat and were allocated No.42 and a bottle of wine greeted us when we entered. This gave us a view overlooking the pool area and steps from our balcony led down to the pool. The apartment consisted of one spacious bedroom with double bed, large wardrobe and a security safe. Kitchen area had a two ring electric hob, kettle, filter coffee machine, cooking equipment and utensils. There was a step down to the lounge/diner area, one side has a table and chairs, and the other has two bench sofas, low table and satellite TV. Could only find BBC World in English, most other channels were German stations or appeared as 'scrambled', not a big deal as we didn't come to watch TV. The balcony had two sunloungers, table and two chairs. This was useful as the balcony caught some of the last rays of the sun without going down to the poolside.
The poolside has about 30 wooden sunloungers plus a bench built into the low wall, sun shades are static. There is an upper level which had another 6 sunloungers. No one rushed down in the morning to place their towels on the sunloungers then not appear for hours, unlike the stone igloos on the beach. The pool is heated by the sun, so can be called 'refreshing' when you get in. There is a small part of the pool that is like a jacuzzi, same temperature as the pool. Alongside the pool is a building that holds table tennis equipment, other games and a library of books and magazines. Next to that is a sauna that operates late afternoon to early evening, it has a two tier bench and I've seen approximately ten residents use this so that indicates the spaciousness of it. Two showers complete the set up. The pool, surrounding area and buildings are cleaned daily and the landscaping is well maintained.
Our departure flight was early evening we were able to use our flat, as it was going to vacant, till we left which was a great bonus. Otherwise there are storage facilities for luggage in the main hotel.
Optional extras are available for a deposit or rental fee, safe deposit box, sun shades, beach towels, toaster etc.
Although self catering there is a restaurant in the Monte Marina Playa Hotel, and one opposite the naturist resort the apartment block. Beach cafés along the bays are open during the daytime for midday meals and snacks.
Plenty of space on the local naturist beaches although textiles do use it as well.
We stop at a large Spar shop on way from the airport but there is a local Spar, same prices, for groceries.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank RoyE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2013

This was our first visit to Monte Marina and we were very impressed. We have visited self catering places, naturist and non-naturist all over the world and for quiet relaxation this is one of the best. The complex has clean sheltered white buildings with beautiful gardens of bougainvillea, hibiscus, succulents and cactus.I don't think I have ever been to an apartment so well equipped with the basics: coffee machine, hairdryer, kettle - even a teapot! Additionally those items that sometimes have to be bought after you arrive were all there: washing up liquid, toilet rolls, liquid soap, dishcloths - the only thing missing for us was coffee filters.The pool was cold but my husband made good use of the sauna (which is included in the price)
The local Spar shop was well stocked and had everything we needed(including alcohol) for a 10 day stay. We didn't shop anywhere else.
The reception is in the local textile hotel. Susan was very welcoming and often visited the restaurant while we eating in the evening to make sure everything was going well, Reception sells postcards and stamps, and has a letter box for posting. There are two libraries for book exchanges so no need to leave the area.
The hotel restaurant with its sea view was good, a mixture of Canarian and German food - huge portions! We were pleased that the Spanish habit of eating late was not an option. Most customers had eaten by 9.00pm. The house wine - Portuguese was very good.
We also discovered a superb local restaurant - Marabu.This was more expensive but beautifully presented and we ate there three times. It was so popular you had to book!
The beach is sandy with a beach restaurant but the wind meant you needed to use some sort of windbreak.
Our only negative comment is about the hot water supply. Solar powered means that sometimes it was not hot enough (especially when local developments cut off the supply during the heat of the day). We ended up boiling water on the hob for washing up as we couldn't bear to waste water waiting for it to run hot.
We plan to return!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Rosclow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2013

This was my third visit to Monte Marina, so obviously there is a lot about the place that I have enjoyed, but I was aware of more problems during my fortnight here this time. As there is no heating in the apartments, they can get cold of an evening; an electric point was starting to come away from the wall; the plug in the washbasin didn't fit and so let the water out quite rapidly; water had to be run for a very long time before it began to heat up and, on occasions, it hardly heated up at all; the water pressure from the shower seemed low, so that it only came out in something slightly better than a trickle. (This might be due to sand in the shower head - when a technician came to sort out some of the problems mentioned, he greatly increased the flow from one of the taps by removing sand from it. He explained that sand can be a problem because the tap water all comes from the sea.) The Wi-Fi, for which, unlike in many hotels, you have to pay, was fairly unreliable, at one point not working at all for a day and a half. (Incidentally, if you're going to be on the internet a lot, it pays to ask for a voucher which, for 20 euros, will give you twenty hours. This is not usually offered unless you ask for it. The charge per hour is considerably higher than this if you only request an hour or two.) As regards TV, the only English language programmes you'll get are the BBC World Service and CNN. Most of the programmes are in German. I enjoyed watching several episodes of "Little Britain" and, as I have seen the series back in England, my A level German was sufficient to enable me to follow them. It wasn't too difficult to understand "Computer sagt nein!" for example.

There was one other problem which is obviously beyond the control of the management: the beach seemed to have got smaller! Not being a geologist/geographer/meteorologist, I'm not sure whether this was due to the time of year, global warming, erosion or some other factors, but the sea always seemed to come up too close to the rocks, leaving not a lot of sandy beach. On previous trips, I had been able to go on longish runs on the beach, but this proved impossible this time, as there were no good stretches of sand immediately near the accommodation.

This sounds rather negative, but it reflects my experience on this particular trip. Generally speaking, it would be fair to say that, if you want a quiet naturist holiday, this place may well suit you. Most of the customers are elderly Germans - indeed on the beach or in the restaurants you hardly hear any Spanish being spoken.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rik0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2012

Third visit this year and once again we were not disappointed, total bliss. If you are looking for night life this is not the place for you. Had half board in sister hotel and this could not be faulted.

An not imagine why anyone would not think that for just 24 euros for half board. One of the healthiest breakfasts you are likely to have and the three course evening Buffett is one of the best we have had, what is lacks in choice it more than makes up for in quality.

Staff in restaurant are very welcoming always have time to help nothing is too much trouble.

Really enjoyed third holiday already in the process of booking for next March, so this in our view this is the best naturist holiday apartment holiday

Room Tip: Rooms on ground floor with pool access
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank edwards47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Esquinzo
0 mi away
Fuerteventura Princess
0 mi away
Occidental Jandia Playa
0 mi away
Avanti Hotel Boutique Fuerteventura
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Hotel Jandia Golf
Hotel Jandia Golf
#8 of 16 in Morro del Jable
506 reviews
0 mi away
IFA Altamarena Hotel
IFA Altamarena Hotel
#4 of 16 in Morro del Jable
771 reviews
0 mi away
SBH Club Paraiso Playa
SBH Club Paraiso Playa
#1 of 5 in Esquinzo
788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monte Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monte Marina

Address: 8, 35626 Esquinzo, Pajara, Fuerteventura, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > Jandia Peninsula > Pajara > Esquinzo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Esquinzo
Price Range: £72 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 45
Also Known As:
Monte Marina Hotel Marabu
Monte Marina Fuerteventura, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing