We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the best quality / price in es pujols”
Review of MaVie - CLOSED

MaVie
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Portugal
Level Contributor
128 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
“the best quality / price in es pujols”
Reviewed 29 October 2012

We have visited this restaurant from 5 years till now, and the quality and consistence is always the same.
Good service, excelent food and normal prices.
Excelent for families and for childrens.
Extremely recomended if you dont want to spend lots of money and you want to eat good food.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank snowflakes69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    51
    15
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gibraltar
Level Contributor
48 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“nothing special and slightly overpriced”
Reviewed 1 October 2012

there isn't a difference between the outdoor and indoor. the seating is very cramped and smokey. food we ordered was OK but nothing special (fried fish in a basket and paella). could do much better

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JohnPaulGibraltar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good food but not great”
Reviewed 24 June 2012

Ate at this restaurant last night because it was voted #1 restaurant in Es Pujols.

The atmosphere is not the best...side street compared to ocean front like some of the other restaurants. I assumed this meant the food was going to be amazing.

The food was good but definitely not amazing. I will tell you that the Paella was awesome. It had lots of flavor and there was a very good amount of seafood.

The fish soup was mediocre. I would pick another appetizer next time. The bread with tomato and olive oil was below mediocre...pass please.

The sangria tasted like medicine. Not sure what they added to it but I barely had 2 sips.

I would recommend this restaurant if you like paella. I am sure they have other good food...we just got unlucky with some of our choices.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Doctor-ARK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kinross, Scotland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Ma Vie - Cosistently good over the years”
Reviewed 27 July 2011

This is a relaxed restaurant one street back from the front which we visit several times during our two week holiday

We have been visiting Formentera for many years and find Ma Vie to be consistently good. Despite all the changes on the Island aimed at pleasing the vast numbers of Italians the owner has maintained his standards and value for money. Whilst there are many restaurants serving good food it is the owners personal attention which turns a meal at Ma Vie into a memorable dining experience.

The restaurant has had a facelift which brightens up the place. The owner is very attentive and the service is excellent. The food is consistently good with a wide choice of menu and I can particularly recommend the pork kebabs. He is also very accommodating and flexible with his menu and arrangemments to meet any special need or requests.

It is supported by all nationalities and I would strongly recommend that you give it a try

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank balearicbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cecina, Italy
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Very good, excellent atmosphere, but too much salt in the food”
Reviewed 10 October 2010

This restaurant is a bit away from all the restaurants and is in front of Pacha shop. They always offer the fixed menu. There was a seafood salad + paella + any drink at your choice at 23 euros per person. Well the salad was very tasty and fresh, but I do not understand why they put there surimi crabsticks. As for me in Formentera they have enough fresh seafood to use, so the surimi crabsticks (not a very healthy and really chemical product) are making the weight, not the taste. As a drink we have chosen cava (local champagne) and it was excellent. The paella was very tasty and rich with seafood but too much oooh too much salty. We eat salt also at home but this was really too much. I could hardly eat one plate and had to leave all the rest of paella in the pot. By the way even for 2 persons they bring too much of paella! eh, guys, this is rice and in this quantity it is very very caloric!!!!
We have also tasted a seafood soup (7 euros) in this restaurant and it was fantastic - one of the best seafood soups I have ever tried. it had a delicate, sweet taste. The seafood soups in Italy where we live are too specific and full of spice and tomato, so not every person is able to eat it. This one from Ma Vie was absolutely perfect for everyone. They offer also a good gaspaccio soup only for 5 euros. They bring you fresh bread with incredible garlic sauce as aperetiff and it is free. After dinner you can try their cheap cocktails which are not bad (strawberry margherita only 5,50 euros).
The pleasant thing that they do not have any service charge or "table prepared" charge or other hidden fees.
If you spend 60 euros for two you will hardly stand up from your table - so full and so drunk you are!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lubaitalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed MaVie also viewed

 
Es Pujols, Formentera
Es Pujols, Formentera
 
Es Pujols, Formentera
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing