We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern Hotel in Beautiful Setting”
Review of Hotel Costa Calero

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Costa Calero
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Puerto Calero
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We Stayed For 10 Nights 10th-20th July As our Annual Holiday.
We were recommended this hotel by a friend who has been before and we were not disappointed.
On arrival At around 9.30pm In the Impressive Reception area we were ushered into the Restaurant for the evening meal before we checked in as last service is around 10pm which was a very good selection buffet considering our late arrival.
The room was clean and very well appointed(284)we were at the end of the building quite a way from the hotel entrance which was ok for us but if you have mobility issues request a room nearer the entrance.
Staff in the hotel were very friendly Happy(seem like they Love What They Do) and accommodating and extremely efficient working there roles.
We Were Given a Free one day spar Pass which was a really nice experience..do it you will enjoy.
Pools were clean and amazing.
The piano bar Enjoyed fantastic views of the volcanic hills .
There were also some great shows in the hotel concert room.
There was a Marina within a short walk downwards but is a bit of a steep walk back up .
Information given in the hotel seemed accurate and there was a free bus to and from Puerto del Carmen a few times a day...the promenade walks are lovely.
There is also a cliff path To Puerto Del Carmen for the more energetic(about 1.2 hours for us)over varying terrain offering Great photo opportunities.
Puerto Calero is a quiet Area With a few pubs and restaurants .
One Bad point to note was the reserving of unattended sun beds (we sat around the pool on our first day and there were reserved beds NEVER used the whole day)We even seen people reserving them at 11.30 pm when we were returning to our room The HOTEL needs to address this Somehow.
We Had A Great Holiday Here And would come back.
:) :) :)

Room Tip: Upper Floors offer better privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jeffredcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,785)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,673 - 1,679 of 3,785 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2014

We have just returned (11th August) from a week at the hotel Costa Calero, two adults and two 15 year olds.

Overall I would agree with most points made in previous reviews. The hotel is beautifully clean and the large grounds are kept to a very high standard. We arrived at 10pm and they opened the restaurant at 10.30 so we could eat. The reception staff were very friendly and the reception area huge and very impressive.

Our rooms were spacious and comfortable, we were on the 2nd floor and had a lovely view of the pools and beyond them to the sea. The air conditioning was greatly appreciated as was the water supplied daily and put into the fridge.

The food was of a good quality and quite varied though we felt that it was very repetitive. We had chosen the fully inclusive option but ate out 2 evenings and 4 lunchtimes so we didn't really feel we used the fully inclusive option to its full potential. What we felt would really improve the eating option would be the availability of another restaurant or two which you could visit during your stay. The drinks availability was excellent with a very comprehensive bar menu, definitely no complaints there. Sitting on the piano bar terrace with a piña colado and the most amazing view of the mountains, the sea and the islands of Los Lobos and Fuertaventura is when you know you're on holiday it's beautiful.

The pools were great, though I must agree with the sun bed review. We tended to want to swim and sunbathe about 3ish and we preferred the pool in the garden area. We were unable most days to get a sun bed despite many being empty, they had towels/books on them so obviously saved. We watched from our room and were amazed how early some people would be up to reserve their beds for the day. If you dared to squeeze onto an empty bed or two between people you were told that usually another person was there and made to feel uncomfortable. I am obviously aware that this is down to the clientele that happen to be at the hotel when you are and is in no way the hotels fault we just wish there was some way this selfish behaviour could be stopped.

Five minutes walk down to the marina is well worth it. Only a few shops but lovely restaurants. We did the Catlanza boat trip from the marina which was amazing, we even had dolphins swimming alongside the catamaran we can definitely recommend that excursion. We also used the shuttle bus into Puerto Del Carmen quite a lot. There is a huge beach there and some lovely tapas bars in the old port. You can also hire jet skis (50 euros for 20 minutes), banana boats etc. from a small bay called Playa Chica. If you have teenagers it's worth a visit.

Overall a lovely holiday and a wonderful hotel. Add a couple of restaurants and work out how to stop sun bed savers and you have the perfect holiday.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

2 x 46 yr old parents.
1 x 13 yr old son.
Stayed 5-12 August 2014.

On arrival the reception area is very posh, and modern looking. Receptionists are polite and really helpful. We were checked in and at our room within 15 minutes.

We had asked for a top floor room, as previous reviews suggested this, and they weren't wrong, so thank you those reviewers! We stayed in room 547 and the view over the ocean at anytime of the day/night was perfect.

The pool was chilly, but once in, lovely to get away from a 28-32 degree heat! The pool and surrounding areas were beautifully maintained, and clean.

The food was really well cooked and quite varied they week we were there. Staying any longer may make it a bit repetitive, but that is familiar to all the All Inclusive hotels we have stayed at.
I agree with the comment from another reviewer that the chef cooking had other prepared dishes in front of him/her. Chips, mashed potatoes etc. This meant a queue quickly built up with some people queuing for chips etc. whilst others were waiting for the chef prepared items. Some layout changes would easily cure this minor matter.

Entertainment at night was good, we tend to disappear up to our room around 10pm to play the annual blackjack tournament! so I can't comment on this really.

Nowhere is perfect. But here it is only minor issues.

The Air Conditioning in our room was unbelievably loud and had to be switched off at night :( as it was impossible to sleep. Okay though, as opening the patio door slightly let in a lovely sea breeze in. Maybe just a dodgy AC unit in our room?

We paid for All Inclusive Plus. Not sure about the 'Plus' bit as nowhere do you get anything 'Plus'!
A bit annoyed at that really, as felt a bit conned. The bar drinks had a price and if All Inclusive or not. No mention of 'Plus' drinks, no different branded beers, and your card for meals/drinks was the same as everyone else?? A conn, and that is not fair.

Sunbeds versus towels and the dawn brigade haunt most resorts and this is true here. But that's the way of the world!

To sum up, a GREAT relaxing holiday at a REALLY ace hotel.
Slightly tinted by a Plus that wasn't!

Stayed: August 2014
2  Thank CHEDDER008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We have just returned from 2 weeks at the Costa Calero. We travelled as a couple, with another couple and two 18 year old girls. My opening comment is that we had a fantastic time and would most certainly recommend the hotel to friends.
The entrance area and reception are grand scale and very impressive. The reception staff were excellent and friendly - always service with a smile.
We stayed in room 436 and it was a lovely room - very spacious with plenty of wardrobe space and great views out to sea and over to Fuerteventura. My wife suffers with a bad back on hard beds, but a memory foam topper fixed that - delivered to the room before we got there after requesting it from reception!
The pools are great, if a little chilly - but that's a great relief when the sun is blazing!
The restaurants are clean and the food is good. As has been said before on here, the food was rarely stunning, but always good, well cooked and tasty. Breakfast is the best meal of the day.
The AI is excellent, with great choice of drinks and the bottled wine is a nice touch.
The entertainment team is excellent and they never stop working! The shows, with the kids involved, is a great touch and a superb experience for the children to take part in the shows, in front of a large audience.
The gardens are well maintained and look great.
Our friends (room 441) celebrated their wedding anniversary whilst we were there. An email, that I sent beforehand, resulted in a bottle of bubbly and fresh fruit being left in their room on the day. A simple but very much appreciated gesture.
As you can see - we really like the place and would go back.

However, here are the couple of improvements we would suggest:

The main dining hall layout is not the best. There are two cooking stations, but only one was ever in use when we stayed - apart from the chocolate fountains on a couple of nights. This means that, although the restaurant is set up for easier service, it isn't used to it's potential. The other layout issue here is that the staple sundries (chips, rice, mashed potato etc.) are set out in front of the chef who is show cooking. This means that large queues form, when many of the guests could be away quicker as they only want accompaniments rather than fresh meats.

The other improvement is around sunbeds. Whilst it is true that we always managed to get 6 beds together, the reservation of sunbeds from stupid o clock could be avoided. Many TUI hotels that we have been to have a policy of not allowing reservation before 9:00 unless you stay with your bed. Staff actually remove towels from beds before this time. This just removes the drive to get to the beds so early. We felt that a similar policy would really be a major improvement here.

However, these are two minor points against a backdrop of an excellent hotel, which has provided us with a great family holiday.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank supersaints65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzann M, Director Comercial at Hotel Costa Calero, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for staying in our hotel and for spending the time to write this review!

Were are very glad to know that you enjoyed our facilities and find our staff very helpful its very rewarding to our team to know such comments.

We would like you to know that we really also appreciate your positive feedbacks and your critics to improve our service and that we would be glad if you visit again in the near future.

Kind regards from Hotel Costa Calero!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

I have just returned from costa calero and had the most relaxed holiday the hotel very impressive staff attentive and very friendly foodbexcellent top quality and branded drinks in your all inclusive some have a small sur charge but mainly all in clean top class bedrooms nice and we had a nice balcony sitting areas lovely fantastic views from the piano bar live music. Entertainment some good shows lots of dancing great kids club children seemed to be well looked after met some lovely people table of at least 20 at times we met alot of people who return year after year and yes we will be returning so the group will grow marina lovely lots of restraunts chinese was great and the michelin star resteraunt was excellent market tuesday and friday hotel has a free bus if you need to go into puerto de carman nice beach we mainly stayed around the pools infinity and another lower pool there is a full length saltwater pool also well when u have had enough of all that pop to the gym for a workout then go and enjoy thebsalt water spa very relaxing and yes we got up and there were no spaces for towels on sunbeds you need to get up we tended to pop down after a late night. Pool bar fab we had lunch in there daily lots of competitions sporty things and bingo they had massive inflatables at certain times of the day water polo for adults and water activities for the children they can even have a go at diving with the tanks on so some noise but
plenty of quiet times
My husband got bitten by the little black flies takr vitamin b before you come and pack plenty of jungle insect repellent and antihistamines they didnt bother me he must just be more tasty all in all great time had by all and my 18 year old daughter and hwr friend made lots of other friends they didnt want to leave
oo

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 50deb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Can't fault this hotel. Just came back last week from a 2 week holiday here with my husband & 15 year old daughter. It ticked all the boxes, a relaxing atmosphere, lovely big pools & plenty of good sunbeds with umbrellas. We were all inclusive & the food was varied & really good. All staff were friendly & entertainment team were good - not too in your face. Plus lots of choice in the activities. Evening entertainment was surprisingly good too, loved the ABBA tribute, flamenco dancers & the acrobats to name a few.

Room was spacious with a lovely big balcony. We had a sea view room & got exactly what we paid for, fantastic views.

The free wi-fi was a big bonus especially for my hubbie & daughter.

Was amazed at how many people were coming back year after year. Not surprised in one way but we like to see different parts of the world so would only return if it was for a 2nd holiday in Autumn or Spring.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
7  Thank Janet_Yoga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

I will admit I am a hugely fussy person and having an ED thought I would struggle at this hotel, the food was amazing. I don't understand the sunbed mafia comment as everyone was friendly and there is no need to lay into children, I encountered no issues at this hotel and it was one of my happiest holidays. Staff were great, food lovely and pools fabulous. Would recommend to anyone young/old/families/couples/friends.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Beggy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Calero
0.4 mi away
Hesperia Lanzarote
Hesperia Lanzarote
#2 of 4 in Puerto Calero
5,187 reviews
8.1 mi away
Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort
5 mi away
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
#28 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
3,928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.3 mi away
H10 Suites Lanzarote Gardens
H10 Suites Lanzarote Gardens
#4 of 38 in Costa Teguise
2,316 reviews
1.9 mi away
La Isla Y El Mar Hotel Boutique
La Isla Y El Mar Hotel Boutique
#4 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
510 reviews
14.1 mi away
Barcelo Teguise Beach - Adults only
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Costa Calero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Costa Calero

Address: Urbanizacion Puerto Calero, 35570 Puerto Calero, Lanzarote, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Puerto Calero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Puerto Calero
Price Range: £88 - £473 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Costa Calero 4*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for complete relaxation in a luxurious setting in the Canary Islands, allow yourself to be won over by the charms of the Hotel Costa Calero Talaso & SPA, a magical holiday resort built in 2004 and featuring details of Lanzarote's traditional architecture and lush tropical gardens of 27.000m2. The wonderful views of the Atlantic Ocean to be enjoyed from our delightful hotel are an invitation to rest and relaxation on Lanzarote, although we also have a modern Talaso& SPA Centre providing an active pool, Roman Baths and beauty and thalasso treatments, a new concept in spas to restore mind and body. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Expedia, Booking.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Costa Calero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Puerto Calero
Iberostar Hotel Costa Calero
Iberostar Costa Calero
Hotel Costa Calero Lanzarote/Puerto Calero

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing