We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second visit as good as the first”
Review of Hotel Costa Calero

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Costa Calero
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Puerto Calero
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 August 2014

We came back in August as part of our two centre holiday, split between here and Playa Blanca.
What can I add to last years review? Well the improvements might be minimal to some but they do add to the overall enjoyment.
First the TV now has multiple UK channels, so when you come back from a trip or off your sun lounger there are all the BBC channels and SKY. Second the Wi Fi has been improved dramatcially, it is now everywhere including in your bedroom. The benefit here is that the kids are now not all crowded downstairs in the WiFi area, as last year, but I could recieve all my business emails easily.
The food continues to be excellent and there is enormous variety at every meal. I dont believe anyone could complain that there is not enough choice. Even the hot meals, whether you choose the Chef's special (which yes you do have to get in line for) or the other prepared meals like Lasgne or what the other Chef is cooking fresh, there is a good choice. Some do pile there plates with every choice but thats their decision but if you eat one normal meal on any day the following week there would be the choice of other options.

The Spa is great, make sure you take your one day pass in (if on all inclusive)

We did hire a car this year so that we could go straight from the Airport to the Hotel and go out to visit certain areas of the island which we really found added to the holiday fun. The Hotel does provide transport to Puerto Carmen but there are so many other beaches to visit.

The entertainment team are great and the additional acts the Hotel bring in means there is something for everyone over a week. We recognised many of the staff from last year so clearly the staff must be happy there and this comes across in the service.

So in summary a great hotel with very good food, if on all inclusive as much to drink as you would like and lots to do.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TwitterEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,681)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,568 - 1,574 of 3,681 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

My family and I have been twice now and are never let down by the amazing rooms food and staff. The entertainers in particular are fab. They know exactly how to keep the family entertained for the entire day and I'd recommend this hotel to just about everyone.

Stayed: September 2013
Thank touristkid123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014

We visited Costa Calero for 2 weeks in August 2014. There are many very good aspects including:
Excellent staff in all areas who were genuinely friendly and very good at their jobs, the extensive and well kept gardens, the pools, the rooms, the air conditioning, the architecture which is really impressive, the spa and the animation team who work very hard. What stops this hotel from being a very good 4 star or even a 5 star is the lack of a second restaurant. The meals were good, a bit repetitive but you could get a variety if you looked around but lunch in the lunch restaurant did give us the feeling that we were in a school dinner hall. The room reverberates, can be hot and doesn't offer enough hot main courses. The main dining room is fine. There was no problem getting sunbeds which are very comfortable. The quietest place is around the big pool, the liveliest around the infinity pool. The clientele is mainly British and Spanish with a sprinkling of French, Italian, German and Dutch. Tattoos are common which might sum up what to expect. Drinks come in quadruple doses. It can be a very relaxing hotel but we won't be returning.

Room Tip: Levels 4 and 5 are best for sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank jerseyman56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

Me and my partner came last June whilst I was pregnant. We have now returned bringing baby and my parents along. We are all having a lovely time as we thought we would! Even better that I got engaged on our first night! :)
No struggle for sun beds in the day.
Food is lovely and very varied. Different themed evenings every night in the restaurant. There is always a good choice for my ten month old baby. Lots of fruit and veg available.
Staff are friendly and grounds are always kept very clean.

The marina is a five minute walk away down hill. Coming back takes a little longer!!
There is a market on Tuesdays and Fridays selling lots of nice bits and bobs.
Drinks are good all day and never have to wait long to be served. Real alcohol if you ask for it. Eg proper Bacardi and they aren't weak!!

We asked for a high room in the middle of the complex and we got exactly that. 553 is perfect. Views of the pools and sea. Lovely to wake up to every morning.

Thank you again Costa Calero
Definitely consider another holiday here :)

Stayed: August 2014
2  Thank stacey_200288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Had 10 day holiday with my husband and son in July, Hotel was spotless, staff extremely helpful, rooms were lovely albeit the air con wasn't very strong. The food was amazing!!! The kids club which my son originally wouldn't go to but was persuaded by the other kids in the pool was fantastic, a different show every night while these would be considered somewhat cheesy they were great fun for all ages. Can't say enough good things we will def be back.

Room Tip: Some steps to the rooms, reception on 3 floor so anyone with difficulty walking should pick ground f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank virginiao677
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

We stayed at the Costa Calero for one week in two rooms. Reception staff were very friendly and accommodated my request for adjoining rooms. The rooms were very clean and well maintained, the small fridge containing two bottles of water was extremely welcome. Rooms were cleaned daily and towels changed on request. The resort as a whole is very well kept and we had no problem acquiring four sunbeds together at 9am each morning.

Sadly the food in the resort wasn't great. Breakfast was probably the best meal of the day with a good choice of cereal, pastries and hot food items on offer. Sadly lunch and dinner were not of the same standard. Lunch is served in a separate open air restaurant and although the food is freshly cooked, the engineering of the containers in which food is served results in not only cross contamination of foods, but also a huge amount of flies on the food. This is a totally unacceptable situation which could easily be alleviated by the installation of fly screens. Bread rolls served with the hotdogs were stale and the rotisserie chicken was very hit and miss as to whether it was cooked thoroughly.

Dinner is served in the same restaurant as breakfast and although the flies seem to be less prolific much of the food appears to be recycled from lunch time ! The meat offered at the grill is of very poor quality as are the desserts which appear to be pre packaged and half frozen. The soup was often mislabelled and the daily 'casserole' or 'meat in sauce' looked very dubious in its origins.

Evening entertainment was poor at best and not of the standard we have incurred at other similar all inclusive resorts, although the upstairs piano bar had a nice atmosphere and was a lovely place to enjoy a quiet drink.

Thankfully the hotel is a short walk to a lovely marina which has a great selection of restaurants and bars serving lovely fresh fish and local foods however we all agreed the Costa Calero is not a hotel to which we would wish to return.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank melsy5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzann M, Director Comercial at Hotel Costa Calero, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for staying in our hotel and for spending the time to write this review!

Were are very glad to know that you enjoyed our facilities and find our staff very helpful its very rewarding to our team to know such comments.

We would like to thank you for the concern you have shown us through your observations regarding the restaurants.

Such comments are very important to improve our services.

Best regards from sunny Lanzarote!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Only been here for one and a half days so far but nothing to complain about. A large complex but plenty of facilities and staff to cope. All staff have been very polite and accommodating. My daughter and partner are repeat guests and requested a high room overlooking the sea which is what we were both given. Food has been very good, freshly prepared and great variety. Great variety of branded drinks and very large measures. A nice Touch ID the bottled water in the rooms. We have been to numerous all inclusive resorts and this certainly comes up to scratch with the best of them.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Les S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Calero
0.4 mi away
Hesperia Lanzarote
Hesperia Lanzarote
#2 of 4 in Puerto Calero
5,018 reviews
8.1 mi away
Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort
7.1 mi away
Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
#6 of 37 in Playa Blanca
3,868 reviews
14.1 mi away
Barcelo Teguise Beach - Adults only
8.0 mi away
Hotel Hesperia Lanzarote Playa Dorada
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Costa Calero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Costa Calero

Address: Urbanizacion Puerto Calero, 35570 Puerto Calero, Lanzarote, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Puerto Calero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Puerto Calero
Price Range: £88 - £322 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Costa Calero 4*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for complete relaxation in a luxurious setting in the Canary Islands, allow yourself to be won over by the charms of the Hotel Costa Calero Talaso & SPA, a magical holiday resort built in 2004 and featuring details of Lanzarote's traditional architecture and lush tropical gardens of 27.000m2. The wonderful views of the Atlantic Ocean to be enjoyed from our delightful hotel are an invitation to rest and relaxation on Lanzarote, although we also have a modern Talaso& SPA Centre providing an active pool, Roman Baths and beauty and thalasso treatments, a new concept in spas to restore mind and body. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotelopia, Expedia, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Costa Calero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Puerto Calero
Iberostar Hotel Costa Calero
Iberostar Costa Calero
Hotel Costa Calero Lanzarote/Puerto Calero

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing