We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic family holiday”
Review of Hotel Costa Calero

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Costa Calero
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Puerto Calero
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 September 2014

Wonderful visit to this hotel on AI basis. Staff are extremely hard working and pleasant and are a credit to the hotel. The amount of repeat visitors speaks for itself. This was our second visit and we would like to return at some point in the future. Some other reviewers go into a lot of detail so I won't repeat except to say, we had a wonderful time and would not hesitate to recommend.

Room Tip: Room 30/31 on lower ground area opposite entrance to grassed area which families mostly used. Singl...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank SLR09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,631)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Costa Calero
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,512 - 1,518 of 3,632 reviews

Reviewed 31 August 2014

This hotel is situated near a pictuesque marina and has the right ambience for a relaxing holiday. Let's start with arrivals. We arrived approximately 8.30 pm where we were greeted quickly by the reception team. They went through check in quickly giving all the information we needed for a pleasant stay. Over all our dealings with reception was helpful and friendly and couldn't ask for more.
Our room was clean and in good decorative order with a beautiful sea and mountainous view with a good balcony which included a drying rack to hang wet clothing towels etc rather than guest have them hanging over the balcony. The bathroom consisted of walk in shower toilet and wash basin perfectly clean and adequate. We had plenty of space it the bedroom with large comfortable bed dressing table, bedside tables and plenty of wardrobe space. We did have to pay for safety deposit like many hotels but I did find the cost reasonable. The room was kept beautifully clean and tidy by the maid each day.
Breakfast was served in the main restaurant which was quite contemporary in style. You were quickly greeted by waiter or waitresses with coffee. It was buffet style with plenty of choice for cereal,yogurt, cooked breakfast, meats, cheeses, fruits and pastries. You had cooks cooking omelettes of choice too.
Lunch was in an outdoor restaurant which served perfect and wide choice of salads with a choice of meat fish and other food. It also had a reasonable selection of fruit and deserts. You could help yourself to drinks including wine, beer soft drinks and water.
Evening meal to me was the biggest let down to the hotel. Again it served excellent choice of salads bit the hot food for me lacked presentation, flavour and imagination. I would not say it was terrible but was average. The meals were very repetitive and plain in my opinion.The waiters asked which wine you would like offering you a menu of chargeable wines but did not say you could have a glass of house wine at no extra cost.
Sunbathing and pool areas were perfect lots of space whether you wanted some activity around or peace and quiet there was plenty for everyone. Sun beds were in abundance and very comfortable and plenty of parasols,and shade if needed. No need to go out early to find a bed even in peak season. However the brollies do need to be checked by staff as some were broken. The are including pools were kept clean and tidy throughout the stay with well tended gardens. The pools also had a life guard around the main pool.
Piano bar was a quiet more adult style entertainment but to me was too much the same consisting of sax, flute and piano playing a little more of cabaret/ classical singing would have been different the drinks were usually good,except for cocktails which were made from syrups rather than fresh ingredients and were very sweet. Other entertainment we didn't view so can't comment. I will say there was plenty of comfortable seating around the hotel but if you wanted a coffee or drink in the day time and you had to go outside for it.,we waited in reception on the last day for,a couple,of hours and would have loved to have a coffee there on a comfortable cool seated area but there was nowhere to get oneself had to sit out while dressed ready to go home too hot.
Spa was a fantastic treat for our holiday complimentary 1 per stay. It was excellent idea and if visited again I'd be tempted,to use the facilities on more than one occasion. It also had excellent facilities for changing and washing afterwards and lockers to keep your valuables safe.

Location. Set in beautiful surroundings with good local restaurants and bars and is in close proximity to Puerto del Carmen if you want the high life though not for me. It was well located if you wanted to hire a car and travel around the island and if you don't mind driving abroad I would suggest you do this as it's got lots to see and offer for everyone and for a small island we originally hired a car for 3 days but decided to hire it the following week from 2 more days and each day we managed to fill,our time in seeing some amazing museums and countryside. However people with limited mobility be aware this hotel is situated on a hill and is a steep walk back from the marina.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Tracey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2014

We have just returned from this hotel which quite frankly is faultless! The staff are so helpful and cheerful and the rooms are immaculate with fresh daily towel changes. The food was fantastic with a huge choice to suit everyone. The restaurants were very civilised without queues which had been a problem on previous holidays. The alcohol was branded ie Smirnoff and included in the all inclusive. Drinks were served to you at breakfast and evening meal which was a lovely touch. Throughout the day both pool bars offered cakes ice-creams and toasties with a wide range of drinks and slushes for both adults and children. The grounds are well kept and the pools are fantastic if not a little too cool at times!! Sun beds were plentiful and always available at any time of time of day. I really can't recommend this hotel enough and look forward to returning.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lisaruvino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2014

Stayed here in August with a friend and her son of 15 years old in half board. Our room was at the far end - groundfloor with a small garden and easy exit to the swimming pools. Perfect for us.

On the positive side: the small town Puerto Calero is ideal if you don't want to hang out in the big crowds and streets with plenty of bars. If you go 100m downhill the hotel there is a nice new port with about 20 resto's and bars and a lot of yacht sight seeing. The hotel offers a free bus to the busy Puerto del Carmen with lot's of resto, bars and shops (60% of the Lanzarote tourists are stationed there) and a few beaches (don't expect Carribean white sand). The hotel itself is very spacious and gives an airy feeling. At the swimming pools you can choose to lay down at the busy swimming pool with a lot of children or at the less crowded swimming pool with small cosy corners for only 6 to 8 people (rarely with children).
Restaurant: very nice food and always plenty of choice. We could always eat outside on the terrace - no waiting queue. We had 2 theme dinners (Italian and Chinese) and 1 evening with a special dessert buffet with only candy and a chocolate shower - very good idea. Wifi was adequate. Zumba session was very nice but hot. Our return flight was late in the evening but there is a shower room at the hotelgrounds where you can freshen up.


On the negative side: At the swimming pool you have to reserve your chair. There are plenty but if you want a specific area put your towel (go with the flow and don't discuss). Bar service in the evening is bad meaning you have to wait very long before someone shows up; I assume that they slow down this service to avoid too much consumptions of the All Inclusive guests. We got our drinks ourselves at the bar or mostly went to the small harbour and went for a drink there (better service and much better cocktails at 6 eur each and no children running around). Animation at the evening was really old school; this definitely needs some creativity.

I can really recommend this hotel: everything you need is available and at a high standard and the Lanzarote Island offers also a great variety in excursions and it is very well kept.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank BelgianTravellling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2014 via mobile

The hotel is big and airy and you can always find a nice peaceful place to sit if that is what you wanted. The hotel grounds are beautiful and very clean. The rooms are quite big but in need of little TLC and cleaning of them was a bit hit and miss. The food was good, I am very fussy but was always able to find plenty to eat. The entertainment left a lot to be desired!!! Sometimes it was so bad it was funny! The pool areas are very good and clean. The sun beds around the main pool were always taken before 7 am and we saw towels on some the night before! We tended to sit around the salt water pool which was much quieter and much more pleasant. We could always find sun beds here.
The majority of the staff were always very helpful and polite, except for Stephanie on reception who went out of her way to be unhelpful, rude and very abrasive! I witnessed her dressing guests down on several occasions if they did not comply with her rules!
The hotel is in a nice quiet area which might not suit all but we had a car so it was perfect for us. The introduction of all inclusive at the hotels seems to be killing the marina which is sad to see. Overall an enjoyable holiday.

Stayed: August 2014
3  Thank Anjiib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2014

Recently returned from our second visit to this wonderful hotel. In the past when we have returned to places, we have been slightly let down however this was not the case with the Costa Calero. If anything, there has been improvements (improved wifi). Some of the hotel staff remembered us from last year and they are a credit to the hotel.
The food was of a high standard and there was a varied choice available. The restaurant wasn't chaotic like some other all inclusive places we have been to. Everything was conducted in a very civil manner.
The grounds of the hotel and pools are immaculate, with an army of cleaners and gardeners tending to the grounds early in the morning. The sunbed situation is okay, we went down to get 6 sunbeds at about 7:30am, and there was still plenty of beds available at about 9am.
The activities available are the usual sports (archery, volleyball, pistol shooting, boules, rifle shooting, water polo etc). These are conducted in a fun manner with no pressure to join in.
The evening entertainment is varied and you shouldn't see the same show twice in a two week stay. The animation team are led by the wonderful Camacho (Daddy) and do an amazing job.
All in all, fab holiday and we are looking forward to returning a possible 3rd time.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank Chris267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2014

The hotel grounds were lovely. However on arrival we were given a room with no sea view despite paying extra for a sea view. We did complain and got a sea view however not really worth the extra money. Kids club in my opinion was very poor. It is the least secure I have come accross. When we came to collect our daughter she was alone with no supervision from staff playing table tenis in a different area. We never left her there again after that. My daughter of 7 said they came to check on her every 10 mins however I felt this unacceptable. I don't understand the rave reviews. I think its far too risky as whilst the hotel felt safe you never really know who is around. My daughter was in there chatting to other adults. You had a option to let your child come and find you or come and collect. We chose to collect assuming she would be with the staff the whole time or we would never have left her.
The food was very bland and only had a few ok meals. I had a bad stomach nearly every day. If you like beer there is only a choice of a brand called tropical on their all inclusive. This made my husband ill. So the all inclusive for us was a bit of a let down.
The hotel was far too remote. The porte is very small.
Definitely would not return.
Those who are used to a mini disco lasting for more than 15 mins will be dissapointed.
The only thing I can say was amazing were the pools and the grounds.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sunnytash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzann M, Director Comercial at Hotel Costa Calero, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2014

Dear guest,

We really appreciate you taking the time to write and share your experience with other TripAdvisors travellers.

Your comment is very much valued and we will take the remarks mentioned in our consideration to be able to improve on any points necessary. The opinion of our guest is very important to us, so we can improve our facilities and services and have the opportunity to strive to an even better level of service and hospitality.

We look forward to being able to welcome you again in order to reach your complete satisfaction.

Best regards from hotel Costa Calero!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Calero
0.4 mi away
Hesperia Lanzarote
Hesperia Lanzarote
#2 of 4 in Puerto Calero
4,942 reviews
8.1 mi away
Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort
7.7 mi away
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
#6 of 37 in Playa Blanca
3,826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Hotel Hesperia Lanzarote Playa Dorada
7.1 mi away
Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca
4.7 mi away
Seaside Los Jameos Playa
Seaside Los Jameos Playa
#10 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
3,810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Costa Calero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Costa Calero

Address: Urbanizacion Puerto Calero, 35570 Puerto Calero, Lanzarote, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Puerto Calero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Puerto Calero
Price Range: £85 - £220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Costa Calero 4*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for complete relaxation in a luxurious setting in the Canary Islands, allow yourself to be won over by the charms of the Hotel Costa Calero Talaso & SPA, a magical holiday resort built in 2004 and featuring details of Lanzarote's traditional architecture and lush tropical gardens of 27.000m2. The wonderful views of the Atlantic Ocean to be enjoyed from our delightful hotel are an invitation to rest and relaxation on Lanzarote, although we also have a modern Talaso& SPA Centre providing an active pool, Roman Baths and beauty and thalasso treatments, a new concept in spas to restore mind and body. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Costa Calero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Puerto Calero
Iberostar Hotel Costa Calero
Iberostar Costa Calero
Hotel Costa Calero Lanzarote/Puerto Calero

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing