We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good accommodation” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Residencial Cortijo Mar

Residencial Cortijo Mar
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Puerto Calero
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Residencial Cortijo Mar
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very good accommodation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

We stayed here for two weeks in March/April with our 14 month old daughter. On the positives, the villa had lovely views, was very clean on arrival, kitchen was well equipped and the set up of the outside area meant you were very sheltered from the wind. It was reasonably child friendly (they gave us a cot and high chair) but the property is over three floors so two sets of stairs to police. The marina is only a short walk away (with a couple of options for takeaways if you're stuck eating in) and the location is a good base for exploring the island. Only downsides were that there was no mid-stay clean (just a change of towels and bedding) which meant floors were very dusty and bathrooms in need of a clean by the time we left. There was also a reasonable amount of noise from the villa a few doors down which appeared to be undergoing renovations. All in all it provided very nice accommodation and we'd definitely think about returning.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AP77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    9
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed in villa 25 in November. The villa had lovely views and is in a great location. The villa was clean and the furniture and fittings are all very well kept, nicely decorated with the addition of a small pool and air conditioning well worth a visit.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lynne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tadley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

Lovely view from apartment and very comfortable. Management of apartments very helpful and they were apartment was very clean. Restaurants within easy walking distance and nice beach to snorkel from nearby. Very much enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CBI62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heilbronn, Germany
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

Hard to say what was the best thing because everything was great!
The views are breathtaking, especially the sunrise. The ocean is so close you can hear it lying in the bed in the bedroom upstairs. The swimming pool was bigger than we expected and the sun loungers were of excellent quality. The kitchen is very well equipped, the furniture is everywhere modern and of lively colors. The living room is big and the AC works in the whole apartment very well. We appreciated having a washing machine, too.
In the middle of our stay two friendly cleaning ladies came to change sheets and clean the apartment.
It was very much worth the price we paid for 8 days, we can only recommend it.

We had a lovely stay, we are already planning on coming back and we are sending our regards to Joaquin from the office in the Marina.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Huncutka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dartford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

We booked through Thompson and had villa 19 small pool , however more than sufficient Accomodation spacious , clean with a well appointed kitchen . Great air conditioning and very restfull . A great selection of restaurants within 10 minutes walk We particularly enjoyed
Wave and Casablanca restaurants

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Witham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2013

Return visit to these apartments that are well positioned and quiet (unless the nearby hotel are running a Zumba Class). Good facilities and a pleasant walk along the promenade to the local restaurants and shops). The accommodation is of a good standard, but some bits were a bit tired and needed some TLC (like the peeling paint on the railings). The kitchen had a good range of appliances, and there was a washing machine just outside the back door (this is normal in Spain). If you had a hire car there are garages under the complex opened with a remote control. Although there are three bedrooms - two having en-suite - the basement bedroom in our apartment lacked wardrobes, so that may prove a problem to families. You should be able to watch out of the front bedroom for whales and dolphins. I would definitely use the apartments again - but I echo comments made regarding Thomson's key arrangements.

Room Tip: If possible try to sort out key arrangements in advance, and try the local restaurants.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank ambercat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2013

We booked with Thomson and we were in villa 19 on the second row, not on the sea front. The Location is quiet: next door to the Hesperia hotel, down the hill if you are going to look for it on goggle street view. There is no reception in the villa complex. Instead there is the villa’s management company offices, which are a 10 minute walk away, along the sea front of the marina Puerto Calero (stands on its own on the quayside and has list of properties in the window: looks like an estate agent!.) The villa has a key box on the wall by the front door. Be warned Thomson should give you the key code a week before your departure. We did get one when we booked, this turned out to be wrong. I would advise you to check before you go that you know the villa number you are staying in and the up to date key code. The path to the marina goes down the side of the villa complex at the end the Hesperia hotel gardens.
The interior of the villa was clean: there is no maid service but the pool was tended to every couple of days. The pool is about 1m deep, 3.8m long and 2.5m wide (approx.) so there is no hope of swimming: my son named it the pond! The interior furniture is worn and has seen better days (not 4 star). Only one wall, by the kitchen door has plaster missing. The kitchen was reasonably well equipped and all but one ring on the cooker worked as it should. The microwave, at head height, requires extra care when lifting hot food out. Once we had tightened the legs on the bed so it didn’t wobble, got used the thin mattresses and ignored the hole in the bed linen we slept fairly well, but there was no chance of a lie in due to the noise of next door coming through the walls. The property details said that there would be a DVD player – there wasn’t. English language TV is Sky: International news, Clan (cartoons), Discovery Max and Disney to keep the kids entertained. We didn't test the internet connection.
There are shops in the marina, but pricy. Better value is to be found in the Spar supermarket in town of Puerto del Carmen in the Biosfera shopping centre; with free underground car parking below the shops. (Biosfera Center, Celle Juan Carlos I, Puerto del Carmen). The best beach we found was a bit of a drive away at Papagayo, near Playa Blanca It is down an unmade road, and there is a 3 Euro charge, but this gives you a choice of bays to explore.
To sum up. Nice resort, ok villa, quiet location, great weather (end of March 23oC or 24oC most days, sunny), amazing volcanic landscape.

Room Tip: Make sure you know your villa number and up to date key code a week before you go. Villa has no on s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SChrodingers_Cat13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Calero
0.1 mi away
Hesperia Lanzarote
Hesperia Lanzarote
#2 of 4 in Puerto Calero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,379 reviews
3.5 mi away
Lani's Suites de Luxe
Lani's Suites de Luxe
#1 of 94 in Puerto Del Carmen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
2.1 mi away
La Isla Y El Mar Hotel Boutique
La Isla Y El Mar Hotel Boutique
#5 of 94 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort
5.3 mi away
Costa Sal Villas and Suites
Costa Sal Villas and Suites
#3 of 94 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,942 reviews
7.8 mi away
Hesperia Playa Dorada
Hesperia Playa Dorada
#17 of 37 in Playa Blanca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residencial Cortijo Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residencial Cortijo Mar

Property: Residencial Cortijo Mar
Address: Urbanizazion Cortijo Viejo, 35570 Puerto Calero, Lanzarote, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Puerto Calero
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Puerto Calero
Hotel Class:3 star — Residencial Cortijo Mar 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Residencial Cortijo Mar Hotel Puerto Calero
Residencial Cortijo Mar Lanzarote/Puerto Calero

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing