We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place to enjoy and relax”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hosteria-PapaGayo South
Certificate of Excellence
tel aviv
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to enjoy and relax”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We had a wonderful stay at Papagayo. Beautiful location with mountain views, the hosteria is a good place for relaxing, horse riding, climbing Cotopaxi and more. The staff are great people. The food was delicious. The rooms are beautiful and very comfortable, and there's also a fun jacuzzi(: I truly recommend this place, one of the best in South America!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sivan8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    132
    51
    18
    5
    6
See reviews for
30
70
53
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Quito
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

There is a very popular MTB race that takes place in PapaGayo, so this was the second year we stayed here before the race. Last year we took the last room available, which was pretty small, cold and far away from the main building. It got pretty noisy in the morning, when the race organizers arrived.

This year we stayed in a room on the third floor of the main building. The view was beautiful and since we were on the third floor, it was pretty quiet. Machachi is very cold because it is surrounded by mountains, but once you got under the covers, it was pretty comfortable. Our room had cable TV, a DVD player, and a heater. Our room was pretty big and comfortable.

You can rent a bike or a horse to go to the nearby places. If you rent a bike, keep in mind that you are at almost 4.000 mts above sea level and that the terrain is full of hills. Near PapaGayo you will find mountains such as Corazón, Iliniza Norte, and Iliniza Sur. If you go further south you will find Cotopaxi and Rumiñahui. If you go to the north you can also go to Sincholagua and Pasochoa.

The breakfast and food were pretty nice. There is a variety of dishes, mainly international cuisine, but there are a bit of local dishes as well.

There is very little or no mobile signal over here, so wi-fi was our only alternative. There was free wi-fi, but perhaps because the hotel was full, it was not very good in our room. If you really need to use wi-fi, I would recommend going to the lobby area, the signal is stronger there.

Room Tip: I can't remember the name of our room, but it is on the third floor of the main building, it was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mfjaramillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ra'anana, Israel
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights and it was one of the best we had in Ecuador. The room is spacious and include all amenities. Breakfast is the best we had and other meals were of high quality. It has a nice jaccuzi, wifi and heating in the room. The hosteria is a farm with nice garden and various animals.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Yoram L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amsterdam
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

The hosteria is situated just 50 min drive south of Quito on the PanAmerican road .the place is wellcoming & nice but we realy didnt like to find out that the kitchen is close to dinner after 19:30 . The room was o.k. & clean but the bed was not satisfying. The bathroom was really poor with no window or other ventilation so bathroom floor got wet as well as slippery .the doorpost of bathroom was so short so I ( a short guy = 173 cm ) scratched my forhead (bleeding) twice during one night .

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmsterdamAzriel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

I spent a total of 6 nights at the wonderful Hosteria Papagayo as part of an acclimatisation program. It's a terrific base for tackling volcanoes within an hour's drive of the most popular climbs. Exceptional food and drink at every meal, great WiFi and fantastic service. Nothing is too much trouble - I cannot praise Luis, Raoul and the team enough. The activities run from the Hosteria such as the Cotobike tour are efficient and great fun. General cleanliness and small touches such as free tea and coffee and a slice of cake on return from a climb do not go unnoticed. Everything you need.

Room Tip: Don't choose Victoria if you object to walking through the garden after dinner to get to your ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jessica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

I spent one night at Hosteria Papagayo. It was booked as the part of the 2-days tour to Cotopaxi and Quilatoa. The place is so lovely. There is a small "zoo" with animals, children must adore it. Lovely garden, where you can read a book or just relax after you hiking or horseback riding tours. The breakfast is included and amazing, you can choose light option like granola with fruits or eat a big american breakfast. Rooms are really nice, specious, but cozy. The bathroom was so big and with a really hot water, that is not that easy to find in Ecuador. The only thing you need to check if your room have a heater or fireplace, because it is going to be very cold at night. There are some spa-treatment at the hotel also. The best place during my trip to Ecuador!!

Room Tip: Ask for the heater!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daria D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
266 reviews
149 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 252 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

This delightful inn is situated just of the PanAmerican Highway about an hour drive from Quito. There is short access along cobbled and uneven road but despite close proximity to the busy road the place is an oasis of tranquillity. The welcome starts on arrival with tea and chocolate cake served at check-in.

The hacienda once belonged to the family of the South American hero, General Sucre, and is full of history and ambiance. There are even llamas wandering the lush lawn outside. Try not get bundled out to one of its chalets as the rooms inside the main building are far more interesting.

It can be very cold in its huge rooms so the heaters are often provided. And things are not often work as they should like broken showers or lack of hot water in some rooms. Still, this is not a top class hotel so these are just minor inconveniences. There are no English-speaking channels on TV.

Gulliver typically provide half-board on the location at PapaGayo and the food is superb. Try the excellent pancakes for breakfast or Locro de Papas, the local potato soup for lunch or dinner.

The meal times, in keeping with the purpose of the place, are early: breakfast from 6.00 till 7.30am and dinner over by 9.00pm.

Staff are very friendly and helpful, some speaking English. Definitely the place to stay near Cotopaxi.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Globetrotter008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Machachi
9.9 mi away
Hacienda Los Mortinos
Hacienda Los Mortinos
#1 of 10 in Machachi
113 reviews
8.6 mi away
Hacienda El Porvenir / Tierra del Volcan
Hacienda El Porvenir / Tierra de...
#1 of 28 in Cotopaxi Province
254 reviews
8.6 mi away
Chilcabamba Mountain Lodge
Chilcabamba Mountain Lodge
#3 of 28 in Cotopaxi Province
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Casa Sakiwa Hotel
Casa Sakiwa Hotel
#1 of 2 in Machachi
15 reviews
14.8 mi away
Hacienda La Cienega
Hacienda La Cienega
#1 of 3 in Lasso
346 reviews
8.0 mi away
Hacienda Santa Ana
Hacienda Santa Ana
#2 of 28 in Cotopaxi Province
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hosteria-PapaGayo South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hosteria-PapaGayo South

Property: Hosteria-PapaGayo South
Address: Panamericana sur km 26 | Cotopaxi Area, Machachi 34999, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Machachi
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Machachi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hosteria-PapaGayo South 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This colonial hosteria accommodation near the volcano Cotopaxi does not only offer magnificent views of the untouched countryside, but also gives you the possibility to experience the culture of the Andes local communities. Whether you just want to relax or to explore the landscape actively, our Hosteria is the best place to start. At the altitude of 3200m you can comfortably acclimatize and prepare yourself for the climbing of Cotopaxi, Ilinizas o Chimborazo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hosteria-PapaGayo South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostería Papagayo Cotopaxi
Hosteria-PapaGayo South Ecuador/Machachi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing