We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Calm Hotel Near Beach”
Review of Hotel Cesar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Cesar
Reviewed 19 August 2012

Vilanova is a calm town near Barcelona ideal for families.
the water depth of the beach is ideal for kids.
Special to recover sleep and very near to the beach and restaurants.
Food in the hotel is nice and healtly.
In the evening we enjoy a guitar spectacle.

Room Tip: Air conditione was not working nevertheless had good sleep with the fan
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luis1197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanainae, Director General at Hotel Cesar, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2012

Thank you very much for your nice words.
We are very happy that you like the hotel, Vilanova and the guitar.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (278)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 278 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2012

We (my partner and I) stayed here for five days in the third week of May. It's a little before the real tourist season, but the hotel was excellent. The staff were helpful and polite, and the room (a standard room) was well decorated, clean, airy and spacious. It's very close to the sea, a strip of bars and cafes near the beach (though it also has its own restaurant and conference options - a glass outdoor eating area, indoor facilities and the option to eat outside in the hotel's front-of-house square area) and the town centre. Vilanova itself is in a great location, with a good rail link to Barcelona (30-45 minutes depending on which train you take), beautiful beaches and good cafes, bars and restaurants, along with the beautiful architecture you can expect in northern Spain/Catalunya. (My Catalan is terrible, and my Spanish not a great deal better, but the staff at the hotel were accommodating, and helped make sure what we asked for was what we wanted). In fact, the town seems a good place for a family break, offering a relaxed place to stay and have fun as well as easy access to Barcelona. The town also offers some interesting festivals, and artwork which includes public work decorating the rockface lining the beaches' southern end. The hotel offers a good introduction to the Vilanovans' creativity, from the rooms painted by the owner's husband (an art teacher and childrens' author) and his father, and exhibitions of photography in its corridors and stairwells, to sculpture and mixed media work on display in its central square. It's a pretty hotel, in a great spot, with good staff, good food and all in all it's very good value for money. I'd recommend it to anyone, and so I am...

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RoryOK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2012

It is really one of my most favorite places on earth. My wife and I keep returning to the Hotel Cesar to spend a week or two in a homey and peaceful atmosphere of this great rustic house. We enjoy the stuff and service, we enjoy the rooms and all the facilities, we enjoy the whole experience.
The Mediterranean sea is a minute walk away, along with the Sun and the wind. Everything is nearby, just a short walk to restaurants, shops, and railway station. Overall an absolutely great place to stay and relax. Heartily recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fedandr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanainae, Director General at Hotel Cesar, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2012

Thank you very much for your nice worlds!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2012

Great stay at nice hotel with very nice view from the roof top terrace. The staf is very nice and friendly. A very short distance to the beach and a short walk to bars and coffee places. Nice stroll along the sea front to the Rambla Principal. Overall a great place to stay!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Malin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2012

We were given an 'executive' room. Executive rooms have computers with hardwired broadband connections. Our computer was old (WinXP) the internet connection didn't work; nor did the wifi service, nor did the air-conditioning. The staff were attentive and both Internet connection and air-conditioning eventually functioned. But the 4th floor free buffet (supposedly in lieu of a mini-bar) was completely absent (perhaps the start of the season). The room was very small (although the bed was huge); it smelt musty and the decoration was amateur. The furniture, the plumbing, the bathroom were at best tatty, at worst dilapidated. Breafast was limited in choice and poorly attended (one coffee machine was out of coffee beans, the fruit juice occasionally ran out).

We went on the basis of the good reviews we had read. It seems that this hotel has seen better times and is now living on a reputation which it no longer merits. Very poor value for money.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ralph S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2011

Stayed here sept 2011 all in all a nice quite place to stay just 50 mts from the beach. We ate once in the restaurant, chose the fixed menu for €19 it was fine for the money. Only broken English spoken but that for us added to the experience and would def go back.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NickB_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2011

We have been here several times and we enjoy it everytime we come to the hotel. When you enter the hotel there is a calm that falls upon you. Rooms are spacious and very clean.

The food is excellent and very tasty, breakfast and dinners. The portions could be a bit larger.

The hotel has a swimminpool but if you prefer, there is a very nice beach just close to the hotel. The beach is very suited for families with small kids.

I recommend this hotel to everybody, but especially for couples and families.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 832Michael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vilanova i la Geltru
0.1 mi away
Atenea Park Suites Apartaments
Atenea Park Suites Apartaments
#1 of 6 in Vilanova i la Geltru
394 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Solvi
Hotel Solvi
#4 of 6 in Vilanova i la Geltru
113 reviews
0.6 mi away
Gatell Hotel
Gatell Hotel
#5 of 6 in Vilanova i la Geltru
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ceferino
Hotel Ceferino
#2 of 6 in Vilanova i la Geltru
157 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Desitges
Hotel Desitges
#2 of 2 in Sant Pere de Ribes
153 reviews
3.2 mi away
Sunway Playa Golf Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cesar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cesar

Address: C/ Isaac Peral 4, 08800 Vilanova i la Geltru, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Vilanova i la Geltru
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Vilanova i la Geltru
Price Range: £57 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cesar 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Cesar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cesar Vilanova i La Geltru, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing