We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I really wanted to say nice things, but...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Pousada Colonial
Ranked #5 of 37 Sao Luis B&B and Inns
RJ
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“I really wanted to say nice things, but...”
Reviewed 13 June 2011

I always wanted to go to São Luis and Lençóis Maranhenses, so I decided to stay at this hotel because it was located at the historical center. When we arrived, I was really frustrated to discover how abandoned the historical center were. The receptionist warned us to avoid walk around it since it was Sunday and it could be dangerous. Since we’re from Rio de Janeiro, we thought he was over reacting. They weren’t - we felt unsafe and it was even hard to find a place to have lunch.
The hotel is almost like the historical center itself, with a huge potential, great historical heritage, but abandoned.
Breakfast was good, with traditional cakes and juices. Hotel staff is very friendly and helped me to find an “arraial” - it was the last day of June, when they celebrate the Saint John’s party with typical dance (bumba meu boi).

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank MLvy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    41
    26
    7
    3
See reviews for
19
29
19
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2011

This pousada is so popular that they don't even ask for a deposit to book the room. It was enough to send an e-mail and the room was booked.
I loved the colonial style of the building and its interiors. The room was quite big, the equipment basic, but all clean and comfortable. Nice view from the window. Breakfast OK.

The receptionists were helpful, gave us city maps and advised about touristic places to see in the city + trip to Alcantara, which I had planned to see. I don't know if they speak English as I communicated with them in Portuguese. However, there are many foreign tourists in the pousada, mainly French people, so I guess they have to communicate with them somehow :)

It is very close to historic centre and best restaurants in the city, just few steps away. Location is really good.

We liked the pousada very much and would surely choose it again if we go back to Sao Luis, which is fantastic and very safe city.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank brasilka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2010

We had high expectations based on reviews online and their website. However, even if we had done a reservations two months in advance, we were bumped to a tiny room with no window. The hotel was pretty noisy and, while well located, there is nothing in the area. On the other hand, the receptionist was extremely helpful and there is a delicious breakfast. Poor service for the cost paid.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SpainSweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sao Luis hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Rome
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2010

We went there because it's often highly recommended in web forums or tourist guides but we don't thik it deserves it.
Building it's very fascinating, in colonial style but we were really disappointed about rooms, really small and unclean, expecially the bathroom. We also changed one room , but almost nothing changed, same level of cleanliness and same awful sleeping quality with a really noisy air conditioning and noises from cars / workers in the streets.
Location is quite good, it's at walking distant from the centre and to every attraction place (except for the beaches, but the best are far away from Sao Luis centre), only at night streets are really empty, so walking from the centre to the hotel (5-10 minutes) with absolutely no one around can be quite scary.
Breakfast was ok and staff was helpful, even if they don't speak English at all.
Negative thing: internet is free only if you have a laptop/smartphone, the rate to use hotel's computer is far higher than the computers downtown.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Giuraus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2010

I am actually surprised that this pousada is No 1 in Sao Luis. Building has beautiful tiles outside, but that to me is irrelevant point. Our room was very old and run down. Staff was so-so, they didn't speak much English, but they were very polite and nice. Breakfast was awful! Immediately after they set up the buffet it was attacked by fruit flies, so you could not eat anything. Location is good given that all sights are within easy walking distance, but be aware that this area is dead at night, so for any restaurants or bars you need to take a cab to a different, new part of town. All in all, this place is just OK, not terrible, but far away from No 1 in Sao Luis.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jelena81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2009

The building is fabulous- especially from the outside. Location at the edge of the old town is terrific. Breakfast was ok and room only so-so- too many modern/ unstylish touches. Staff were terrific.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tombrasil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sao Luis hotels
City Center
Grand Seo Luis Hotel
Grand Seo Luis Hotel
#9 of 34 in Sao Luis
642 reviews
Pousada Portas da Amazonia
#13 of 34 in Sao Luis
431 reviews
Praia Mar Hotel
#20 of 34 in Sao Luis
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pousada Ludovicense
#25 of 34 in Sao Luis
18 reviews
Premier Hotel
#3 of 34 in Sao Luis
440 reviews
Litoranea Praia Hotel
#7 of 34 in Sao Luis
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pousada Colonial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pousada Colonial

Property: Hotel Pousada Colonial
Address: Rua Afonso Pena, N0 112, Sao Luis, State of Maranhao 65010-030, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Maranhao > Sao Luis
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Sao Luis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Pousada Colonial 2.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Pousada Colonial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Pousada Colonial Sao Luis, MA, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing