We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A "must" for a trip outside Rome”
Review of Ostia Antica

Ostia Antica
Book In Advance
More Info
US$59.93*
and up
Ancient Ostia Small Group Day Trip from Rome
More Info
US$71.91*
and up
Ancient Ostia Half-Day Trip from Rome
More Info
US$63.52*
and up
Ancient Ostia Guided Tour for Kids and Families
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Present day site of sprawling ruins of a densely populated Roman city at the mouth of the river Tiber.
rome
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“A "must" for a trip outside Rome”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

This is one of my favourite places for a trip outside Rome. It's a massive archeological site of what used to be the main port for the imperial city. It is huge, well preserved and is wonderful to stroll around for hours or a full day. With the ruins of ancient Roman theatres, bars and warehouses it has little to envy Pompeii or Herculaneum even though it is far less well known. It's very easy to get to by train from the Porta San Paolo station next to Piramide metro stop, and alternatively you used to be able to get a boat ride down there on the Tiber from the centre of Rome, though I'm not sure if that still goes.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank gavinRome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,599 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,880
    565
    101
    35
    18
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Broomfield, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“If you like ruins and history, this place has it all!”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We enjoyed wandering around this site, imagining the greatness of the past, and learning the history of the Romans. Everything was open to view - not roped off - and the available phone app by Rick Steves gave us all the information we needed and more. On an extremely hot day, there was shade among the ruins, and a delightful little snack bar with gelato. Very refreshing and the pace at the site was slow and enjoyable. Amazing photo opportunities, as well.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank pleskar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Vast ruins to explore”
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

These ruins are vast with tons of different buildings to explore. Our kids had a blast running around sights like the amphitheater, temples, mosaics and of course bathrooms!

It's also not crowded (like Pompeii) which is a huge plus.

There are a few different water stations where we stopped for a drink and to rinse off our heads. There is also a nice cafe although we would recommend bringing snacks too so you can stop whole exploring.

Enjoy!

Helpful?
1 Thank Matt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Lothian, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Our favourite place around Rome”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This is the Ancient ruined sea port of Rome. Tourists don't seem to come here despite it being far more interesting than Pompeii. Visitors get to wander through the ruins and are not restricted where they can go like in Pompeii. It is a large site and we took 4 hours to go round it. It's only 25 minutes in the train from central Rome - make the effort, It only costs 11 Euros for an adult's admission and kids are free. Well worth it.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Iain N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Worth a trip!”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

My mom and I loved Ostia Antica! It was very nice to get out of the city. The metro lines can take you there, and it is a short walk to Ostia. Although there might be people in the cue for tickets, once inside, it is almost like you are alone. You can walk around at your leisure and explore the ruins. It is very expansive, and we were not able to walk the whole thing. We had lunch at the cafe, which was surprisingly busy after seeing so few people while walking around. Such a beautiful ruin. Might have gotten more information from a tour, but wandering around was very enjoyable, and we took everything in at our own pace.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sydney O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ostia Antica also viewed

Lido di Ostia, Province of Rome
 

Been to Ostia Antica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing