We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was a budget holiday, you do get what you pay for.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
PortBlue Vista Faro
Gravesend, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“It was a budget holiday, you do get what you pay for.”
Reviewed 4 September 2012

To start with, we got this trip about a month before we went. We done a little research, not too much, so I was a little worried about the hotel. Last couple of places I've been to have been around the 4 start mark, and I believe the Vista is a 2 star. So i knew i was stepping down, but hey the whole week set us back £300 each.

Ok, 1st warning, there are no directions on what to do on arrival. There is a pool bar, but if it's closed there is no one to help you. More importantly, no directions to go to the S'Algar hotel(they own it) to pick your key up. The pool bar doesn't open until 11, we got there at 10:45 so, we were lucky. Did have to wait until 12, but it's a short flight, they took our suit cases to storage, so it wasn't a big deal for us. We got changed in the pool toilets, had a wonder round the resort came back and was told our room was ready.

We had a 1 bedroom apartment, with two single beds. Which is the norm. The beds are reasonably comfy, the pillows were not great. Long tube type pillows, took me a couple of nights to get used to.

Living area was ok, seating comfy, a basic kitchenette is there, which has all pans etc. included. Did not use to be honest. Did have an issue with the fridge, 1st day nothing seemed to stay cold, weirdly it sorted its self out the 3rd day.

Basic TV, with nothing to watch, good job that didn't matter to us, might to others.

The rooms are cleaned once a week, so there are no clean towels given to you. It's two star, expected. Was told a maid if you caught her would give you some fresh ones though. Never saw her.

There was a see view and the balcony was nice and relaxing when the temperature was unbearable.

Pool area was good, there are only 20 buildings there, so there was only a handful of people there at a time. Plenty of sunbeds and tables because of this.

The pool area also got a lot of sun, the umbrella’s on the table were practically useless after 4pm, so use sun block. The pool also has a ramp entry, which I think deserves a mention.

S'algar is only a small resort, there are only a handful of restaurants. The closest, Pirate and Isabella. Both nice, enjoyed the mixed Paella very much. The nicest place was in the San Luis hotel, salmon was excellent. The Chinese restaurant, which name escapes me was also very good.

There is a bus to Mahon, easy to use.

You can walk along the coast to get to another beach that is sandy called Alcaufar, be warned, it’s a half hour walk on a rocky path. Not a great idea at midday when it hit 34degrees, and defiantly don't do the hour walk to Punta Prima at midday either. Would recommend that hike 1st thing in the morning though.

Overall for a budget place it was a great stay, i really thought the pool area was excellent. Would've liked the room cleaned why we were there, but I would say it was very clean before we got there. It's more a case of me liking fresh towels.

I would stay there again, for a last minute deal, our stay was very enjoyable.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hellz08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SAlgarHotels, Ecommerce at PortBlue Vista Faro, responded to this review, 11 September 2012
Dear Client,

thank you for your comments about Vista Faro Apartments. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay.
The apartments are cleaned twice a week, once before arrival and again in the middle of the week.

We look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    27
    19
    5
    10
See reviews for
17
52
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Luton
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2012

I was there this July 09/07/2012 till 16/07/2012
The weather and appartment were brilliant
The only down side was that there was no ATM in the resort,as i booked my trip the Sunday as i flew out on the Monday morning i expected to draw Euros from a machine as i always do
One had to go to San Louis by bus /taxi as i do not drive i had Stirling and was able to change i t at the Hotel S'Algar so beware !!!

Room Tip: I had room 10B part sea view seconds from the pool and a good nights sleep will all the windows open
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank thomas james w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SAlgarHotels, Ecommerce at PortBlue Vista Faro, responded to this review, 8 August 2012
Thank you for your comments about the apartments. We are delighted to hear thet you enjoyed your stay so much.

We look forward to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

We have been to this hotel twice now, it is great value for money, the apartments are basic but clean, the kitchen is well equipped and all have balconies some with sea views. The pool is good, overlooks the sea and was never too crowded. You can also use facilities at the other hotels on the resort but we didn't bother. The only criticism I would make is that our sheets were never changed, towels were changed once and beds made once but no sheet change...nothing major but I would have preferred to have them changed once. staff friendly enough, there is pool bar that is opens in the day, shuts quite early.
This is a small quiet holiday resort there are 3-4 restaurants (we rate the food at Reina particularly), 1 bar, a couple of shops, and a bakery. There is no beach and little else to do in the resort if you cant hire a car you may be disappointed. I'm not sure what the bus services are like but Mahon and the slightly bigger resort of Punta Prima are near by. You can also walk to the nearby beach of Alcalfar (would take about 10-15 minutes) Alcalfar has a great beach for kids as the water is very shallow and it doesn't get too busy like some of the bigger beaches. If you do hire a car I recommend the beach at Cala Galdana and nearby Macarella/Turqueta , probably the prettiest beaches on the island. Overall this is a nice quiet relaxing place to stay and good value but not much going on.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EJC36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2011

The appartments were ok for the money, spacious and reasonably clean. The pool area and gardens very nice. Problem with late arrival is that you have to walk to main hotel to get your key and there is nothing to advise you of this. Fortunately another guest was about and he told us. Resort very quiet, mostly closed in Sept. Two restaurants only in the square. Neither very good, terrible really. Holiday good though

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank holidayladyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2010

The units are a little tired (peeling paint etc.) but are roomy and clean. Hot water readily available but the showerhead in our unit needed cleaning as a lot of the holes were blocked. Good sized balcony with table/chairs and a large clothes airer with pegs provided. We didn’t use the kitchen facilities, except for the fridge, but there appeared to be everything you would need to self-cater. Our apartment had a sea view but most would simply look over more units/pathways. Linen/towel change every three days when we were there. Small bar in pool area which closed the day before we left (22nd September). Full use of facilities at S’Algar Hotel and Hotel San Lluis where we also booked our taxi on day of departure – we were picked up at Vista Faro. Both hotels have free wifi and small selection of books in English, but none at Vista Faro. Also no laundry facilities as advertised, but we did find a laundry 5 minutes away with English owner. Apart from hotels mentioned above, restaurants are El Pirata and La Reina Isabel both of which are fine. The bar mentioned in other reviews was not open during our stay and we did not try the Asia Restaurant.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellerVera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, England
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2010

Vista Faro is perfectly located within the resort of S'Algar.

The apartment was roomy and functional. There is everything that you could possibly need for a self catering holiday which made this place great value for money. We booked through AlphaRooms.com and it cost just over £300 for 10 nights.

The small pool and area is nice and clean. The bar has friendly staff and drinks and snacks at reasonable prices.

The pool bar is the actual reception, and we arrival and departure coincided with the reception being closed. This was no bother though because the keys can be collected from the S'Algar hotel just 5 minutes walk away.

All in all we had a good time and we would recommend the Vista Faro if you're looking for a budget getaway in a quiet Menorcan resort.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jono2507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 July 2010

Just returned from the Vista faro and these are a few things I would have liked to have known myself before going. The apartments are ok they are clean, the kitchen has everything you will need, while we were there it was very hot and there is no air conditioning (which I did know) but in one brouchure I looked at it did mention a ceiling fan but there are no fans which made the apartment very hot especially at night to sleep. The complex is amongst other apartments that are occupied by the locals and this can make it quite a noisy place at times. There are hundreds of mosquitos in S'Algar you will definitely need insect repellent!!. There are only a handful of places to eat, and at the Reina you will get eaten alive by the mosquitos if you don't keep a watch out. The Asia restaurant is very nice and would recommend eating there. Just one bar to go to 'The Dinky Bar' which is a nice little place and the drinks are cheap enough about 1.70 euros for a decent glass of wine. S'Algar is a very small resort no beach but overall I enjoyed it very much.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Dufus009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near S'Algar
0.3 mi away
PortBlue San Luis
PortBlue San Luis
#1 of 2 in S'Algar
1,491 reviews
25.2 mi away
Melia Cala Galdana
Melia Cala Galdana
#2 of 9 in Cala Galdana
1,189 reviews
13.5 mi away
Valentin Son Bou
Valentin Son Bou
#2 of 8 in Son Bou
1,491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.8 mi away
ILUNION Menorca
ILUNION Menorca
#6 of 9 in Cala Galdana
496 reviews
15.2 mi away
Hostal Jeni
Hostal Jeni
#1 of 1 in Mercadal
176 reviews
12.7 mi away
Sol Milanos Pinguinos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to PortBlue Vista Faro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PortBlue Vista Faro

Property: PortBlue Vista Faro
Address: Avenida Octava, 07713 S'Algar, Minorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Minorca > S'Algar
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Speciality Lodging in S'Algar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — PortBlue Vista Faro 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
These apartments in Menorca are beachfront with a spectacular views of the air Island that will lead to a relaxed and familiar environment. Perfect for a weekend getaway or holidays in family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your PortBlue Vista Faro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vista Faro Apartments Hotel s`Algar
PortBlue Vista Faro Spain/Minorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing