We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sirenis Hotel Club Aura
Certificate of Excellence
South Wales
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“We loved it”
Reviewed 17 June 2012

Just arrived back from the Sirenis Aura went with our two young grandchildren on their first holiday abroad. The junior suite had plenty of room and storage and although we did not pay for a sea view we could see the sea from our balcony. Everywhere was clean and the maid service was very good. I agree with the points raised about the shower glass it needs to be shorter, bit of a nuisance climbing in and out of the bath to turn on the taps and also awkward getting in and out. We had no problem with the french reps our children enjoyed the mini disco that they ran on certain nights and hats off to the kids entertainers they were great and very patient with kids and our grand children loved them. Special thanks to Harry the Thomas Cook rep who showed us to our room when we arrived and helped carry our bags it was a nice gesture. We couldn't fault the hotel the pool area was lovely and there was always plenty of sun beds, although this is a quiet time of year. The water park is brilliant and well supervised. The price of bed and umbrella rental on the beach was over priced 21 euros for two beds and an umbrella. Food was good, didn't have a problem with it being hot, dessert choice was a bit limited and repetitive. No hot dessert. Food geared towards european traveller although there was always something to keep everyone happy. Would have been good to have baked beans on the kids buffet at lunch and dinner as well as breakfast. Snack bar was very good. No problem with the bar service sometimes we would be given glasses and sometimes plastic cups it seemed to depend on who served us. I do not see the point of wrist bands and plastic cards it should be one or the other. As we travelled with Thomas Cook we could eat free in the Japanese restaurant one night but unfortunately it was fully booked when we tried to go there so book early. My grand children did not want to leave and I would recommend the hotel to anyone with young children. We visited the Sirenis Seaview this was busier than our hotel and had large family groups which were quite noisy. I am glad we chose this hotel as I prefer the mix of cultures. I hope when Thomson take it on board next year it's not going to spoil it.

Room Tip: Be aware that the entertainment does go on to about midnight and rooms near the pool will be noisier...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ASHJON_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Sirenis Hotel Club Aura, responded to this review, 22 June 2012
Dear Client,

Thanks for the comments regarding the Sirenis Hotel Club Aura ****. It is nice to read that you had a pleasant holiday with your grandchildren.

We have taken notes of your feedback and hope to show our improvements in a future visit.

Best regards,
Sirenis Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,401 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    639
    478
    189
    65
    30
See reviews for
1,038
122
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (440)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2012

Just returned from 1 week at the Sirenis Club Aura.

We travelled as a family group of 11 which included grandchildren aged 5, 3 and 2. We booked this holiday over a year ago as it was half term week. This was not our original choice of hotel, we had originally booked a 5 star Thomas Cook Style hotel in a different resort. Over many months not only did Thomas Cook change the flight to a different departure airport the times were totally unsuitable for children to travel so we contacted them and secured a different airport and better travel times. A few months later they advised they were not using our original hotel and changed us to the Aura, which was not a Style holiday but Family Friendly, the price remained unchanged. We contacted again and they said we could have our money back. At this point it was very difficult to obtain a holiday in half term for so many people.

The Flight
This was horrendous. They called us the gate and kept us waiting an hour. The plane had not been cleaned and we watched the cleaners go on board. It was very hot in this area and all children in this area were getting very bored and getting upset. There were quite a few young, highly excited and drunk groups also. Unfortunately some of our party were seated next to some very drunk girls. The staff on board did not seem to have any control of the situation and still sold them more alcohol. The attitude of the manager on the flight was appauling. The other cabin crew were very pleasant and tried their best to keep everyone calm and happy. I did advise the manager that her customer care skills were somewhat lacking. It was the first time our grandchildren had flown and the parents were highly stressed by what was going on around them. I fully understand people being excited going on holiday but I have never experienced a flight like it. I would just add the groups were totally quiet on the return flight!!!! The return flight was great, absolutely no problem and everyone enjoyed the journey.

Reception
Efficient check in. Strange you had to wear a wristband and also had to have a swipe card to access the all inclusive. Never experienced this before. Staff were generally OK, a bit abrupt sometimes. They seemed to want to try and charge for everything - including childs bed guards. As we were leaving the hotel late afternoon we requested to keep our room, obviously we expected to be charged. On the day of departure we were told this was not possible. We said we really needed a room so 11 of us could get ready and after a couple of telephone calls they allocated us one at the other side of the hotel for 36euros. The room was very dark, musty and also had ants. They asked my husband and myself if we would vacate our room by 10.00am as they need to clean this for the next guests early arrival. We did this but they still charged us for the use of the other room which I thought was rather petty as we were helping them.

The Rooms
They offered us Junior Suites, all the rooms are junior suites. As they had downgraded us I requested pool or seaview rooms but the hotel said we would have to pay a supplement per room. We did not agree to this as we had already paid for a 5 star hotel and were in a 4 star hotel but in fairness this was not the hotels problem, it was Thomas Cook. However speaking to people who had not requested the pool or seaview rooms they had been allocated them. Prior to travelling I had emailed the hotel to request bed guards for the children. On arrival the children were to sleep on sofa beds, which were not made up, and bed guards had not been supplied. The hotel tried to charge us for the use of bed guards which we refused and they did supply. This is not acceptable in a family hotel. They eventually made up the childrens sofa beds. The rooms smelled very musty and needed air. The rooms were large with plenty of storage space. The maids kept the rooms very clean. The bathroom was large but it was difficult to bathe children with the fixed shower screen.

General Areas
The hotel was very clean and the pool area lovely. Plenty of sun beds. The waterpark is new and a great place for families. The lifeguards at the waterpark were excellent. They need a few more tables and chairs and may be a few sun loungers for people who just want to watch the brave people on the slides!!! The lifeguard at the main pool in the hotel sat and read a book!!! The garden areas need serious maintenance and looked very shabby.

Bar area
The bar staff were fine, but stressed, as they had insufficient bar staff. On our first couple of days we were allowed glasses for drinks at night after that we could only have plastic glasses. I appreciate the need for plastic around pool areas during the day but at night when the bar is mainly adults plastic should not be used. We were told the dishwasher had broken. We do not believe this to be the case. Two large wedding parties arrived at the hotel. There was no trouble but it was after the arrival of the two large parties that the plastic glasses rule was implemented. We asked to see the manager to explain our views but he was not available but they took our room number and said he would contact - we never heard anything from him. This is not the standard of a 4 star hotel. The rules changed constantly, initially you could order all your drinks together, then they changed this to two drinks per person, then four then sometimes you could have your full order again. This was very frustrating when there is a group of you.

Entertainment
The entertainment was very poor and geared up to the French people. The childrens reps told us that many complaints had been received about this but nothing was being done. I did feel sorry for the English reps as they did not seem to have any say in the entertainment. We did not use the Childrens Club but the reps were always very pleasant. We did not meet the main Thomas Cook rep for the hotel and they did not make any effort to find us and introduce themselves.

The Restauant.
Food was OK with a good choice. Sometimes not that hot but there was something for everyone. All the staff were very helpful in the restaurant. We had requested a birthday cake for our grandsons 5th birthday and the hotel provided a lovely chocolate cake with candles and placed sweets on the table. The Japanese restaurant was great fun and everyone enjoyed their meals.

Holiday Overall
As a family we had a great time but this hotel is not 4 star. The location is superb with a lovely beach nearby and a great beach bar where the food is lovely. Access to the water taxis is convenient. Would we return to this hotel, no, this is due to Sirenis. We are used to travelling and generally hotels have different nationalities but at times we thought we were in France, which again is not an issue but we were in Ibiza.

We would never use Thomas Cook again and would think long and hard about the Sirenis Group.

Room Tip: Ask for ground floor rooms if you have young children. The blue block is nearer the pool and entert...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Holiday29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2012

We travelled as a family which included my 2 year old daughter! The hotel itself was gorgeous! Our room (junior suite) was large, clean and lovely. The food was amazing. So much choice and catered for everyone. My daughter ate well here. The pool areas were fantastic with plenty of sun beds and the children's pool was perfect for my daughter. She also loved the water park and we spent many a hour up there with her. The big slides were enjoyed by her grandad too! The entertainment was brilliant with a kids disco nightly and different entertainment every night. Thank you for a wonderful holiday which created many a happy memory for us all.

Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
10 Thank HRHMummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

The hotel itself is very clean and well presented. All the public areas are clean and the public toilet areas and facilities are very clean. The family rooms are sufficiently spacious and the twin beds comfortable but the standard doubles are short on space. Each room is air conditions which in the hot weather is very welcome.The maid service is excellent with sheets and towels changed daily. The pool area is hosed down every morning.
The down side is the standard of food could be better and the degree of cooking sometimes leaves a little to be desired. Be wise on what you choose to eat. The level of selection is usually sufficient to enable the pickiest of eaters to find something but not Brit standard.
The walk to some of the rooms can be quite distant and for older people a little too far.
The reception staff are very helpful but an early wake up call on the day of going home was over 20 minutes late.
Entertainment is basic, noisey and very limited, geared mainly to the French customers who appear to think its excellent. Childrens entertainment extends quite late so be prepared.
There is one main bar and this is generally under-staffed at most times of the day and particularly in the evening, as is the restaurant.
The highlight is the on site Japanese restaurant. Be sure and book in early for your chance to go places are limited. It is well worth a visit and the first time is included in your stay. The service is excellent and the food very good.
The garden areas around each block of rooms are very poorly maintained and could be quite a good feature. the hotel should make more of these.
Overall I would not choose to stay here myself, we stayed as part of a wedding party. It is reputed to be a 4 star hotel but the whilst very clean the standard of accomodation could be better (a little dated)and the food needs a vast improvement and to be more carefully cooked.
It is particularly aimed at French customers and they themselves are not tollerant of the British and indeed on several occasions thier rudeness caused a degree of upset.

Room Tip: If you like a little extra space book a family room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Iain P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2012

on arrival was not offered an upgrade, room was in far corner of resort dispite requesting a sea or pool views over a year ago on booking. told by rep they could not help as was not up to them. [thomas cook] dated room and was expected to let a 2yr old sleep on a sofa by front doors as room was not as described. decor dated new clearly designed for elderly people.
lack of entertainment for british throughout day. kids club security gates left open. food definately not 4* often cold no choice and french. bar staff on a go slow, pointless passes needed to gain all inclusive status dispite wearing wrist tags.

however resort was clean majority of the time, new ajoining aqua park fantastic fun for all the family. met a couple of lovely families who made our daughters first abroad holiday enjoyable, shame the staff didnt do the same. this hotel is clearly for the french. choose next doors seaview if british.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lee1873
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelaura, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Sirenis Hotel Club Aura, responded to this review, 14 June 2012
Dear client,

Thank you for all comments you have written about our Hotel.
We have already take notes about some things you describe and we will take care of this.

We learn from all your comments and next time will be a pleasure to welcome you again.

Best regards,
Sirenis Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crieff
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2012

Just returned from 1 week at the Aura. This was our first holday abroad with our 2 young children (age 5 &3). Had initially looked at the Seaview but chose the Aura for the junior suite option. The room was a good size with lots of storage space and a large bathroom. The houskeepers attended daily and did an excellent job. The shower door is fixed to the bath which made getting in and out tricky and it was difficult to safely wash the kids in the bath as it was so slippy (our 3 year old did bang his head on the first night). From other reviews i can now see that there are disabled rooms with shower curtains which may be better if you have young children.

The complex was very clean and felt safe for the kids. The pools are lovely and the waterpark is excellent.

The entertainment was so, so but the kids disco was good and it wasn't difficult to sit in the evening sunshine making the most of the all inc drinks and watch the kids running around with new friends. Yes there were a lot of french (and other nationalities) but we don't all want to be stuck with wall to wall Brits abroad!

The food was average. Saying that we always managed to eat well and the all inc package was a godsend with the kids. The biggest problem with the food in the restaurant was the temperature - often luke warm. You quickly got to noticing when the food was being replenished and moved quicky to take advantage. The snack bar was good, altho with quite a limited menu (fine for 1 week).
The drinks were good and the bar area very pleasant.
Not a lot in the local area unless you take the local ferry into San Antonio but if you are looking for a relaxed pool side holiday this is spot on.

Would def go back altho having looked online, this hotel doesn't seem to feature much in UK holiday companies next year. Maybe the anti- french brigade have influenced Thomas Cook etc which is a shame.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiona S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blyth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2012

We have just come back from staying for 14 nights. This hotel/rooms are kept spotlessly clean . We had a 1 bedroom suite which was very large but we had to swap to a disabled suite(as it had shower curtain over bath) as the fixed glass shower screen came 3/4 of the way down the length of the bath, so when you got in you stood on the sloped end which when wet was lethal. Also to turn on the taps you had to step into the bath , in my opinion the glass screens are 1/4 too big , badly designed. But they changed our room no problem .
The hotel run entertainment team are all french and made a big fuss of the french guests, i wish i spoke fluent french so could join in. We went to two cabarets that they put on and even though they spoke/sang in mostly french we found it entertaining especially James who did an excellent michael jackson dance routine and very funny in his other sketches. We also did archery with david and some french guests . Just ask to join in as they say "shy bairns get nowt".pool area and pools were excellent, plenty of sunbeds.Water park was good as free for guests. Food we found very good with lots of variety.Kids club reps were very friendly and my kids age 10 and 4 loved going and went to 2 parties as well. Night time entertainment wasnt fantastic, flamenco show , singers, sixties show, reptile show, eagle/owl show. Kids disco good, kids enjoyed it.wide variety of drinks on A I , sometimes bar got busy but staff worked as fast as they could. bar snacks ok but we mainly went to the restaurant at lunch for more choice. Our room was at the back of the Aura right next to the seaview but we were not disturbed at night by noise from them.You can hear people in other rooms especially at night when come in at 3.30am and later ringing their doorbell to be let in,but you expect that.We got the bus to san antonio 30mins and it was 28'c red hot , got water taxi back to local beach over the road from the seaview.Not much in immediate area, seaview , supermarket 2 shops, beach which we never went to prefer pool.Went up to 33'c second week, apparently what you would expect in june/ july.We all enjoyed our holiday and would go back to this hotel.We went to seaview to look around and the pool area was very busy, much prefer quieter Aura.

Room Tip: The suites are spacious and we found the fridge a bonus, if you can get a sea view thats a plus as y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Linzie-Howard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sant Josep de Sa Talaia
0.4 mi away
Occidental Ibiza
Occidental Ibiza
#1 of 14 in Sant Josep de Sa Talaia
1,829 reviews
1.7 mi away
Intertur Hotel Hawaii Ibiza
Intertur Hotel Hawaii Ibiza
#4 of 99 in Sant Antoni de Portmany
1,979 reviews
16.4 mi away
Sandos El Greco Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Apartahotel San Marino
Apartahotel San Marino
#4 of 14 in Sant Josep de Sa Talaia
161 reviews
18.3 mi away
Invisa Hotel Club Cala Verde
Invisa Hotel Club Cala Verde
#7 of 56 in Santa Eulalia del Rio
1,253 reviews
1.8 mi away
Bellamar Hotel
Bellamar Hotel
#5 of 99 in Sant Antoni de Portmany
888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sirenis Hotel Club Aura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sirenis Hotel Club Aura

Property: Sirenis Hotel Club Aura
Address: Calle des Calo, s/n | Port des Torrent, 07829, Sant Josep de Sa Talaia, Ibiza, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Ibiza > Sant Josep de Sa Talaia
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Sant Josep de Sa Talaia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sirenis Hotel Club Aura 4*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sirenis Hotel Club Aura is in a superb location on the seafront, just 150 metres from the Port des Torrent beach. The hotel is within easy reach of nearby San Jose and 20 km from Ibiza town. It opened its doors in the summer of 1999. The complex has been designed in the style of a small village, with groups of low-rise buildings situated amongst extensive gardens. As a result, there's a warm, Mediterranean feel to the hotel. The quality of services and facilities has been awarded year after year with the Environmental Management System Certification UNE - EN ISO 14001:2004 The hotel is oriented for British guests and is the ideal spot to enjoy an unforgettable family holiday, with the convenience of the All Inclusive board. If you are looking for somewhere to escape the stress and bustle of your daily life, and want to relax but also have fun, you will find all you need here - a large pool on three levels, separate children's pool, sun terrace, sauna, whirlpool, an indoor heated pool and a 4.500 M2 water park. The buffet restaurant offers a varied cuisine, where you will find the best local and international dishes, with many prepared on the spot. If you want to try something different, the Teppanyakiclub thematic restaurant offers a delicious Asian experience. The Sirenis Hotel Club Aura is available in the UK through Thomson as a Thomson Family hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Sirenis Hotel Club Aura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sirenis Hotel Aura
Sirenis Hotel Club Aura Ibiza, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing