We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful experience!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Carman Hill House

Carman Hill House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Carman Hill House
Self catering wing of Carman Hill House View from the back of our garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
24 reviews
Carman Hill House
Self catering wing of Carman Hill House
View from the back of our garden
Our free range chickens and ducks
Example of our Welcome Pack
Open plan large lounge with fully equipped kitchen and dining area
Luxury fully equipped kitchen
Dining area
Open plan large lounge with fully equipped kitchen and dining area
Open plan large lounge (sofa bed) with fully equipped kitchen and dining area
Master kingsize bedroom or Family Room with a double sofa bed / cot
Double bedroom
Entrance hallway
Hallway
Bathroom
Bathroom
Carman Hill House
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Renton, West Dunbartonshire, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Nathalie...
Montreal, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience!”
Reviewed 29 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We loved our stay in Renton! The view is spectacular. With the chickens, ducks and cats. Susan and John are so welcoming and helpful. The house is comfortable and perfect 5 or 6. We visited Glasgow, The Stirling Castle, Edinburgh, either by car or by train. I would recommend Carman Hill House!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Aug 2017
Hi Nathalie. Thank you so much for picking our accommodation for your trip. It was a pleasure meeting you all and having u stay with us. Thanks again Susan & John
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
24 Apr 2017
Thank you for your lovely comments. We are delighted you had a good staff with us and hope to see you in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Gill U
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Mrs”
Reviewed 2 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Had a lovely time staying here. The property is modern, clean and has everything you could possibly need! Like home from home. Views are lovely too and the children enjoyed exploring the grounds around the property. Great location for exploring Loch Lomond and Glasgow.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Nov 2016
Hi. Thank you for letting very comments. We are delighted you all had a good time. Hope to see you again. John & Susan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Wonderful place to stay”
Reviewed 18 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

This was a lovely house very clean and homely, there was everything there that we needed and a lovely welcome basket. Susan was very friendly and brought some fresh eggs from her chickens. Would definitely stay again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It was very clean
Liked least: Wi-fi not great with being in the hills but you could still get it
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Aug 2016
Thank you for your fab review. It was lovely meeting you and glad you had a nice break. Hope to see you all again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen A
Dumfries
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic short break”
Reviewed 8 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This was a fantastic holiday cottage for us. Everything is of a very high standard and extremely comfortable. The children loved the chickens and ducks and enjoyed the freedom of running in the garden. The owners couldn't be more helpful.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Overall quality of the cottage, furnishings and fittings.
Liked least: I didn't dislike anything
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Apr 2016
Thank you for your fab review. The kids were great with the chickens and ducks. We hope to see you all again at some point.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneLilia...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Stunning, Comfortable, Relaxing .... Simply Perfect!”
Reviewed 2 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Carman Hill House is a stunning property completed to a high standard, with every home comfort. It is ideally situated for both the wonderful and dynamic city of Glasgow and/or the amazingly beautiful country side of Loch Lomond and Argyllshire. The views from the property take in Ben Lomond and beyond (we were blessed with breath taking sunrises and sunsets during our stay).
Susan and John are perfect hosts and will go out of their way to ensure your stay is stress free and enjoy, doing everything to make sure you are comfortable. Both are very knowledgable in regard to local information and places which maybe of interest....and their welcome pack is one of the best we ever experienced on hiring a holiday self catering cottage.

Simply put Carman Hill House is stunningly perfect..... We cannot recommend you make this your first choice when visiting the west coast of Scotland.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Standard of accommodation & relaxing atmosphere
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Oct 2015
Thank you for your lovely review. It was lovely to have you both stay with us at Carman Hill House. Looking forward to seeing you both again and hoping that we have some more spectacular sunsets!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
herbug78
Dingli, Malta
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great place near Loch Lomond”
Reviewed 3 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Carman Hill House is a great for a short or long stay if you want a modern, clean and convenient self catering place near Loch Lomond and Glasgow whithout the hassle of the city and with great views.
The hosts John and Susan are of great help and are excellent hosts. The place is big enough for 6/7 people easily and it is very modern and comfortable. When we arrived the hosts welcomed us outside and we found a welcome food pack in the kitchen. Appliances and kitchen are brand new for those who would like to cook there.
The area behind the house was great for our 2 boys to play in and check out the chickens.
We highly recommend this vacation place....if we ever return to Scotland it will be the first place we will book. Great!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole place is great, but the view is excellent.
Liked least: all was ok :)
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Sep 2015
Thank you for your fab review. We are delighted you all had a nice time and hope you enjoyed the rest of your travels throughout Scotland. See you next time!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing