We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You could come to Blitar just to stay at the Tugu”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Tugu Blitar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Tugu Blitar
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Blitar
Certificate of Excellence
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“You could come to Blitar just to stay at the Tugu”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

I have visited this hotel three times in the past ten years and never been disappointed. It has managed to preserve its 1950s ambience without getting shabby or neglected. Try to catch the gamelan concert at the weekend. Musicians very natural, no ethnic outfits, some wear baseball caps! Also take afternoon tidbits in the little hideaway opposite the gamelan alcove. Superb selection of photographs of Bung Karno (Indonesia's first president).

Public rooms are not air-conditioned, but mosquitoes are few.

Unique entrance arcade, consisting of hanging roots, I think, and they very effectively isolate the lobby from the nearby street.

Room Tip: The main bedrooms, about 10 of them, are the piece de resistance. Be sure not to settle for other ch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ScreenName60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    72
    18
    2
    0
See reviews for
39
45
19
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ubud, Indonesia
Level Contributor
138 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

This beautiful historic hotel is a Tugu gem. Don't miss the Lost Temple Dinner. You dine (7-course meal) in an ancient temple under the stars. The service was impeccable, the wine choice superb and the experience was unforgettable. We had a lone flute player adding to the mystic and atmosphere of this most enchanting evening. The friendliness of the staff and the way the Tugu understand service really defines the hotel. If you love art and romance - this is the place for you. A "must stay" when travelling to East Java. Be sure to check out the Sukarno museum and his private residence too. Both are worth 1-2 hrs visit. See the beautifully preserved temples and take your time. I love Blitar. So glad I took the road less travelled and extended my Malang stay.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank stephtravelwriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

I've stayed in Tugu hotel with family for vacation in Blitar, actually I read few reviews before i decide to stay in this hotel, and I thought it's very interesting to stay in a hotel which has history with Sukarno.
My family's first impression about the hotel was a bit spooky, but later on we found the hotel was very comfortable, ethnic with many art tastes (blend of china, Bali and java arts), and the staff were very kind, friendly and helpful, plus my sister and I really love their slipper, because they use bakiak (traditional sandal in java) instead of regular slipper.
And i also enjoyed the mini tour inside the President suite which in the past Sukarno often stayed in this room whenever he was visiting Blitar (based on what i remember from the tour explanation). And overall, we were impressed with the hospitality of the staff and we also thought that the foods are tasty in a modest way.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R_u1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

We stayed here for three nights in early April and really loved the ambiance, the staff, and the attached restaurant. The hotel was not busy at this time and we found the staff very attentive and helpful. We loved its closeness to the train station, and to the Town Square, both very short distances. We also rented a scooter to visit the sites in the surrounding areas.
The deluxe room was spacious, the bathroom was great with lots of hot water, and the complimentary afternoon tea with sweets was awesome. Definitely the best place to stay in Blitar.
Although it is an older building, and showing its age, it's character and charm more than make up for it. We would definitely stay here again and look forward to it.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Retired4good_2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yogyakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

A sister hotel to renowned boutique hotels in Malang and Canggu, Bali, the Blitar Tugu has wisely retained (or built) basic rooms to complement the sprawling and pricey colonial-era suites of the original property. As long as you are not trying to impress your travel companion, you can use a cramped but comfortable back room for sleeping and spend your time in one of the many antique-filled common areas. In all, a good introduction to the little-known but picturesque and friendly south route across East Java.

Room Tip: The room list reads like the menu of a Chinese restaurant -- an abundance of options, each priced di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jallan_jallan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oisterwijk, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

We stayed one night in this hotel as stopover on our way to Malang.
Our 'Superior' room was quite small and needs a facelift. Personally I think that the absence of a safety deposit box is a big issue today (especially when you stay longer).
Dinner and breakfast were not my favorite !

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YHoope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Tugu B, Manager at Hotel Tugu Blitar, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear guest, first of all thank you for your comment and for having stayed with us.
We are sorry that you found your particular room small - I hope there was no misunderstanding and it had been clearly explained during the reservation process that we have 2 parts of the hotel: the Tugu part, which is the original 150 year old colonial building that contains 2 room categories (Tugu Suites and Sang Fajar Suite) which are 40m2 and 80m2 and decorated more in the Tugu style, and the Sri Lestari part, which is the newer structure surrounding the main Tugu colonial building, which contains 2 room categories: Deluxe rooms of 20m2 and Superior rooms of 21m2..
Safety box is always available in reception that all guests can use anytime and we also offer guests to leave his valuable items in reception for his convenience during stay with us.
Breakfast facilities is based on the room choice whereas; Suite includes American breakfast, while Deluxe and Superior include Indonesian breakfast but they can order American breakfast with additional charge.
We are very sorry for your unconvenience and we hope you will come again to have the better stay with us more than 1 night to arrange you the memorable experience in Blitar..

Best regards,
Suhartini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

I have stayed three days in Hotel Tugo Blitar, and had it was exceptional. Blitar is a small city, but has some interesting temples arround and the birthplace of Sukarno, furthermore the surrounding area, with rice fields, vulcano, and rivers, is very beautifull, and the people is extremelly friendly.
The staff of the hotel is very helpfull and extremly friendly and make you feel at home.
In the hotel you should stay in the historical part, an old Dutch colonial house, very well kept.
This realy worth while as a trip out of the bitten track.

Room Tip: choose a room on the historical part of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sergio F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Tugu B, Manager at Hotel Tugu Blitar, responded to this review, 1 February 2014
Dear Mr. Sergio F.,

Thank you for sharing your great experience during your stay with us at Hotel Tugu Blitar. We do hope that you will be back in the near future to have another wonderful experience.

Warmest regards,
Suhartini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blitar
0.6 mi away
Patria Plaza Hotel
Patria Plaza Hotel
#3 of 4 in Blitar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
17.7 mi away
Crown Victoria Hotel
Crown Victoria Hotel
#1 of 5 in Tulungagung
4.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
20.7 mi away
Viva Hotel Kediri by Frontone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.9 mi away
Lotus Garden Hotel
Lotus Garden Hotel
#3 of 11 in Kediri
4.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
22.9 mi away
Bukit Daun Hotel
Bukit Daun Hotel
#4 of 11 in Kediri
4.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
21.9 mi away
Grand Surya Hotel Kediri
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tugu Blitar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tugu Blitar

Property: Hotel Tugu Blitar
Address: Jln. Merdeka 173, Blitar 66111, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Java > East Java > Blitar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Blitar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Tugu Blitar 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Tugu Blitar, unprecedentedly the best hotel and restaurant in Blitar, East Java, is housed in a colonial building that was built in the 1850s, and was previously owned by a distinguished family of Blitar. After the second World War, the hotel was called Hotel Centrum; many years after the name was changed to Hotel Sri Lestari - and later become Tugu - Sri Lestari. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ctrip TA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Tugu Blitar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing