We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shabby chic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The West House Country Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Llantwit Major
Rainhill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Shabby chic”
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Very nice, although difficult to find hotel. We are a retired couple, with health problems, and no one asked if we would like help with our luggage, either on check in or check out, this would have been very much appreciated and accepted. Our room was very comfortable, especially the bathroom, although the "chubby chic" went a bit far, the radiators and skirting could definitely do with a rub down and re paint. Breakfast was adequate at most.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Irene J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    37
    35
    21
    8
See reviews for
32
52
10
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Kalamazoo, MI
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

The best thing about this charming hotel is that it sits in the middle of the most beautiful town I have ever seen. Llantwit Major is exactly what one pictures when one imagines Wales! The staff people were very helpful and friendly. Gemma in particular gave us some great insider advice. While our room was quite small it was cozy, clean, and full of charm - exactly what we were hoping for. If you want the Ritz you are in the wrong town, maybe the wrong country! I would highly recommend a stay at The West House Country Hotel.

Room Tip: We were in room 22 which is directly above the bar. There was a function going on the night we arriv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wendykzoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
97 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

The West House Country Hotel is located within comfortable walking distance to everything in Llantwit Major. It is a charming hotel and the staff is very pleasant. We did have dinner in the restaurant, which was good. The reason for not rating it higher is the bed in our room was not comfortable. We felt like we were sleeping on box springs with the springs poking into our backs. We some attention to comfort, this could be a very nice hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Visited friends in LLantwit Major last weekend and stayed two nights. Hotel in great location but a little tired. Room clean and comfortable but had a damp smell to it. Arrived back just gone eleven on the Sat night, and the bar although looking open was empty, we were told we could have a drink but must take it to the room, which rather defeated the object. Village itself steeped in history and everyone was friendly. Followed the blue plaque trail, went to Cowbridge and walked along the coast path to St Donats castle.Sunday morning breakfast proved to be chaos with everyone down at the same time, and no vacant tables. One poor lady was struggling to cope with all this! suerley they were aware of the guest numbers, and could have drafted in extra tables? The manager then stepped in and was very helpful and informative so all ended well. A good weekend all in all

Room Tip: our room was comfortable and quiet(11) once you got used to the invasive damp smell
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llantwit Major, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

I so agree with an earlier review that this hotel is badly in need of updating. It is a lovely location and a beautiful building but needs some TLC. I have eaten there on several occasions but this was the first time I stayed there (parents home full of other family). The room was clean but very old fashioned which wouldn't necessarily be a problem but both the television and kettle had a faulty aerial/lead so worked intermittently. Bed also very lumpy so perhaps quite old. We did report and were advised to wiggle the wire! It did the job but not the point really. Breakfast was not good - bacon and egg overcooked, tomato undercooked. Staff were very helpful and welcoming especially Gemma. I would stay here again because of the location the lovely building/garden but (if I had it) would so like to invest a couple of thousand in it!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RebeccaM403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cardiff
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013

In June 2012 I was asked by my daughter to arrange accommodation for family and friends at a Hotel nearby to St Donats Castle which was to be the venue for her wedding on the 6th July 2013.
Having looked around the local area for a suitable Hotel to accommodate up to 40 people it was decided that the West House Country Hotel best fitted our needs. An approach was made to the owner Richard Cristopher regarding costing etc.. He was very accommodating and and overall price for all the rooms was reached which also included and evening meal on the 5th July for approximately 50 people.. Over the preceding months I found the hotel management very attentive to changes regarding guest names and dietry requirements ie. vegetarian, vegan and food allergies. Eventually Richard was able to draw up a menu for the evening meal which suited all tastes.
Some guests decided to arrive a day early and even these requests caused the hotel no problems. As I had read some previous negative reports on this site I was a little apprehensive as to how some of the guests who normally only stay 5 star would react to this lovely old and quaint hotel. I need not have worried at all. On arrival all guests were greeted and made to feel welcome and the check in was stress free. I spoke to all the guests and all commented on how well appointed, comfortable, spotlessly clean their rooms were. At the large family evening meal the food was delicious, well presented and the service could not be faulted. The staff were very attentive and well organised. Again when asked no complaints from anyone present. The bar was also well used and is comfortable, quiet and well stocked with excellent service.
On the day of the wedding again I can only compliment the Management and staff for the excellent service and attention they afforded the bridal party and at the same time not forgetting their many other residents.
Breakfast at the hotel is very very good and will set you up for the day.
I and many other guests will be returning to this hotel in the future whenever a quiet relaxing break is required.
I have no hesitation in recommending this Hotel to others looking for somewhere to stay in this area of Glamorgan.
Thank you Richard and staff we all loved our stay with you.
As far the negative reports on this site go, either they were in a different place to me or they should be on TV show The Hotel Inspector. Yes there is the odd bit of threadbare but surely it is comfort, cleanliness and above all the efficiency of service which counts.
Thank you all again, I will return..

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank welshpig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013

Stayed recently for friends wedding last minute booking paid £75 for a twin room the bathroom door didn't close, I was unable to dry my hair as the plugs just didn't work. The wind lifted of the prefab roof all night, so to sum it up certainly not worth the money. Breakfast was average.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Victoria T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WHCH, Owner at The West House Country Hotel, responded to this review, 22 June 2013
I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay. You may not have been aware but all rooms were booked out to the wedding party; a lot of the wedding guests took celebrations well into the early hours of the morning. I am not sure if they got onto the roof but a number of the marquee guide ropes had been slackened and were causing the canvas awnings to flap in the winds, most likely the cause of the noise you experienced. We checked the plugs and the in-room hair dryer, and they were working fine. I am sorry you had a problem, If you had brought the matter to our attention at the time, we could have checked it out for you. The room in our opinion represents good value @ £37.50 per person including breakfast. The breakfasts are all cooked fresh in the mornings and not just kept warm in a hot tray like so many places prefer to do. We endeavour to give a better service, we use local produce which many guests appreciate. One guest said that we punch well above what could be expected from a three star hotel. We strive to continue to offer the best we can.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Llantwit Major hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llantwit Major
4.0 mi away
The Bear Hotel
The Bear Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cowbridge
453 reviews
7.8 mi away
The Wyndham Arms
The Wyndham Arms
#1 of 8 in Bridgend
359 reviews
6.9 mi away
Best Western Heronston Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel
Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel
#2 of 8 in Bridgend
395 reviews
7.2 mi away
Celtic International Hotel
6.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The West House Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The West House Country Hotel

Property: The West House Country Hotel
Address: West Street, Llantwit Major CF61 1SP, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Vale of Glamorgan > Llantwit Major
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Llantwit Major
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The West House Country Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The West House Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The West Hotel Country
The West House Country Hotel Llantwit Major, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing