We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The West House
Nearby Hotels
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (239)
Filter reviews
239 results
Traveller rating
93
66
43
24
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
93
66
43
24
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscountry hotellovely hotelcomfortable loungesmall hotelattending a wedding nearbyquiet locationstayed two nightssmoked salmonst donatslast weekendstayed longerfour poster bedexcellent value for moneythe ground floorwedding venuewould stay againevening meal
Filter
Updating list...
181 - 186 of 239 reviews
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We recently spent a couple of days at this Hotel it was a Beautiful day and Beautiful location but the Hotel really needs some TLC and money spending on it to make it a Hotel you would want to go back to thus making this Hotel into a lovely place to stay the Bedrooms are in my opinion very dated and worn out,the net curtains on the windows try to hide the soaking wet with condensation metal window frames,all the furniture is very old and in poor condition the Beds all need replacing as the matress`s are as flat as the moon,even the room light had no shade on it,considering the amount of weddings etc there is few signs of re investment,the Bar area needs a major refurb but the dining room was very fresh and clean.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank minimeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

I stayed at the West House Country Hotel during the Senior Open at Porthcawl. The hotel is very cost-effective and offers good accommodation for the money.

The staff are very friendly and helpful. The food is perfectly satisfactory and tasty. The rooms are fine.

One thing to be aware of is that there is no mobile signal in the rooms, but can be accessed by going outside the building.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank R_S_201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

Whats a beauty.....nice location in this small village....quite all around two min walk from pubs and restaurant (the indian is really good)...always a welcome when back from work...rooms are alright...breakfast as well....owners are really friendly and two lovely people..feel to be home...the food is very good as well..small menu' but ot worse it...the mains are like in a posh restaurant..presentation is everything with food...nice the dessserts as well...what else to say...come here and enjoy....highly recommended.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Roberto I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Booked into the West House to attend friend's 45th Wedding Anniversary and 80th Birthday.Set in a beautiful location the hotel had great parking facilities and a welcoming and friendly staff to greet you on arrival.The room we had was ideal being on the ground floor and the beds were very comfortable and the room was nicely decorated.Shower room was everything you could ask for with lashing of hot water and a powerful shower head.At the evening party an assorted buffet of sandwiches and selected savouries was laid on and at breakfast the following morning a full Welsh brekkie was available with toast and tea/coffee.Staff were attentive and made you feel welcome.Hope to visit again especially if the sun shines as the hotel has beautiful grounds to enjoy a drink in.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank lynnbaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We attended this hotel recently for a family wedding. The hotel is beautiful and most of the staff are friendly and helpful. However, its spoiled a bit by the many rules, the DJ had to be in a certain place even though we didn't want him to be there and we had made this clear previously, the management refused initially to hand out the wedding cake, which they had previously agreed to do. We were told we could decorate the marquee on the Thursday, then we were told we were unable to, despite the fact we had booked days off work.

The music was promptly turned off at exactly midnight, lights turned on and people who had just purchased drinks were made to feel uncomfortable finishing them, as the staff made clear that all the rooms were shutting immediately. Bar service is very slow, poor choice for breakfast and breakfast finishes at 9.30am which I feel is a little early.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Ffydd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews