We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent site”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Llantwit Major
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Acorn Camping & Caravan Park
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent site”
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Having decided to visit this area of wales, I found this site and wasn't disappointed.
We have a camper & like the idea of a village with easy access to the trains. 10 min walk to station & off we went to Barry, Barry Island & Cardiff (trains very reasonable price too for my family) site owners friendly & welcoming. Site was well set up. good family facilities. little park, trampoline, small games room. excellent short walk to beach (10 - 15 mins) & a generally lovely area by the sea. Cliff top walk or easy road access.
The site Showers & toilets clean & a well stocked shop with all your needs, even camping equipment. BBQs welcome & very child safe.
(Maybe small amount of maintenance in showers nothing a long ladder & a duster couldn't fix. do not let bad reviews put you off)

Room Tip: Oops no fitness centre or pool or rooms N/A
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    20
    8
    2
    3
See reviews for
38
18
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

We love this site and have just had another great stay there owners are friendly showers and toilets are clean and the pitches are well laid out hopefully we will revisit a couple more times before the season ends

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank greeny2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 August 2013

The site itself is great, clean, enough toilets and showers. All seems well maintained. Good shop and very friendly owners and staff.
My problem with this site is that the 'on lead at all times' rule is ignored by some and seems to be tolerated. On our field one dog owner was running his dog the full length of the field right in front of the shop where tbe owner sits. This is a problem for me as I am very uncomfortable around dogs and do like our toddler to have to be on a lead because of them. Shame, as in every other way the site is very good. I guess we should have complained but this just makes for bad feeling between campers. It would be much better if the owners enforced the rules themselves.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynnibee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 August 2013

I booked this site and read the reviews after. Right up until we arrived I was a little worried as to what we would find. Well, I needn't have worried. Fantastic site, great pitches and all you would need to make your stay comfortable. Shower blocks were clean, kids were more than happy with the play area and the price was justified. Don't let the previous reviews deter you, you're sure to be greeted with a lovely welcome from the owners. They have a great knowledge of the local area and they're suggestions of what to do were great. The site is situated in a lovely town and we used it as a base to visit the surrounding areas, we went horse riding in ogmore, visited St Fagans castle, numerous ruins, Cardiff, porthcawl and the Big pit coal museum. Fab holiday all round and I'm glad the reviews proved to be wrong!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

My friend and I travelled to Wales on a spontaneous trip from Southampton. After attempting to find Llandow Camping Park and completely failing and ending up in a rubbish compound, we stumbled upon Acorn Camp and Caravan Park. For £15.00 for a pitch for our tent which was a decent size, plenty of space for a big tent and our car, it was perfect!
Many thanks to the gentleman at reception when we arrived on 25th July who saw our poor attempt at getting our tent up and majorly helping us out! Much appreciation!
Handy little cafe and shop on site which is always useful and the bathroom blocks were really quite good. Not as muddy as I was expecting them to be! Handy chair, mirror, sink and table space in shower areas so you didnt have to put any of your personal items on the floor. Pet hate of mine!
All in all - great stay, lovely staff

Room Tip: If you dont have kids, ask for a pitch away from reception - kids play area and it can get really lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chill3892
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Pitches good size and easy to find, lots of local attractions, shame about the facilities ladies W.C not the cleanest !! Allegedly cleaned daily between 2pm-4pm.
Baby changing facilities not available, very difficult with small child in the showers with nowhere to change a nappy!! Good luck finding a toilet door that locks, also not ideal taking children to toilet in the dark as a lot of light bulbs replacing. Play area very basic only trampoline and slide left. Disappointed after viewing website.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank charlotteprobyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cinderford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013 via mobile

The basic site is ok, however some parts of the site are showing a lack of maintenance. The main toilet and shower block has wires hanging out of the ceiling in places, not all the lights work, the drinks machine is out of order and looks as if it has not worked for a long time & one of the washing machines was out of order. We were informed that the baby changing area was now used as a store room by reception (not handy with a two year old, although when I commented to one of the staff in the block about the lack of a baby change facility they unlocked and showed me round a perfectly serviceable baby change facility). The main games room no longer has vending machines or Internet access. No wifi on site to replace this with either. Generally the facilities are starting to look a bit run down, although the site pitches themselves are fine and well kept, grass and hedges trimmed and other services provided no problem. Overall I regard this as a quiet site overall that would benefit from looking after and a warmer welcome to it's guests.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashley T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llantwit Major
0.8 mi away
The West House Country Hotel
The West House Country Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llantwit Major
133 reviews
6.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Airport
4.5 mi away
The Bear Hotel
The Bear Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cowbridge
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Newcourt Bed and Breakfast
Newcourt Bed and Breakfast
#3 of 3 in Llantwit Major
27 reviews
3.0 mi away
Limpert Bay Guest House
Limpert Bay Guest House
#1 of 1 in Gileston
13 reviews
3.2 mi away
Sheepleys
Sheepleys
#3 of 8 in Cowbridge
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acorn Camping & Caravan Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acorn Camping & Caravan Park

Property: Acorn Camping & Caravan Park
Address: Ham Lane South, Llantwit Major CF61 1RP, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Vale of Glamorgan > Llantwit Major
Amenities:
Beach Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Llantwit Major
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a peaceful family run site situated on the beautiful Welsh Heritage Coast surrounded by lovely walks with stunning scenery. We have an outdoor play area with a 14ft trampoline,climbing frame, swings and outdoor toys. We also have an indoor games room with a pool table, table tennis, air hockey and table football. Our newly refurbished cafe/coffee shop serves breakfast's and coffees and cakes. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Acorn Camping & Caravan Park Llantwit Major, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing