We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly and comfortable guesthouse.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Wayfarers Guest House
Ranked #9 of 22 Sabie B&B and Inns
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Friendly and comfortable guesthouse.”
Reviewed 8 March 2013

Ideally situated for Kruger Park. Very comfortable and spacious bedrooms. Delicious breakfasts, Continental and full English if desired. Chris is very helpful with a wide knowledge of the area and Kruger Park.
I can thoroughly recommend The Wayfarers.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    14
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
14
35
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Gronau, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2013

We stayed at the guest houes in Dec and felt like coming home.
Chris served an excellent breakfast (like you want and need it) and gave us very recomandations for our dailey trips.
Also it was no problem to get all things needed to celebrate a braai at the Mac Mac Pools.
The rooms have been clean and comfortable.
We can highly recommend the guest house, lovely dogs, nice pictures.
Thanks Chris for the nice stay, beers, conversations and the plates ;-)

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Timo2511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salzburg, Austria
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2012

We enjoyed our stay at the Wayfarer Guesthouse a lot. Chris and his wife Alyson did everything to make us feel comfortable. They had some helpful tips for our trip around South Africa. The room we had was very spacious, the bed comfy, the bathroom big. The breakfast offered everything we desired. A continental and full english choice as well as a fresh selection of fruits. Chris has a passion for photography and has some great wildlife shots around the house. We will definately come back!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jumkae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 November 2012

My wife Sarah and I stayed at Wayfarers B&B for a couple of days when we first arrived in South Africa on Nov 4th and we also stayed a day before we left for home.
We flew directly from the UK to Joburg and then an internal flight to Nelspruit airport. The 45 minute drive from Nelspruit airport to Wayfarers is through some lovely scenery and the welcome and peacefulness of Wayfarers was just what was needed.
Chris & Morag are extremely warm and welcoming, they are very knowledgeable about the area. Morag had already organised 2 nights in the private Lodge (http://www.arathusa.co.za/) for us in the Kruger which was fantastic and also offered much useful advice on staying elsewhere in the region and travelling through and staying in the Kruger Park.
The B&B has a large guest lounge with numerous guide books. The guest rooms are light, airy and very comfortable. The garden is a lovely place to sit out in with a sundowner or with your breakfast. The Breakfast will set you up for the day and the coffee is grown locally. Don`t be out off by the 2 family dogs, they are very friendly. The car park is very secure.
Sabie is a safe and quiet town with 5-6 restaurants/bars all within walking distance of the B&B and is a perfect location to explore the local area including the Blyde River canyon on day trips and the nearest Kruger gate is about an hour away through Hazy View.
Sabie golf club is another recommendation to sit out on their veranda with a beer or 2.
We will definitely be back on our next trip.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick_Pompey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 November 2012 via mobile

We had a lovely 4 nights stay in wayfarers guest house. The rooms are very nice and the breakfast is delicious. There is a private parking inside the guest house. But the best about this place is the people who run it, they will go out of their way to help you, whether your request is guesthouse related or not!
Definitely a good place!
Rates: 390 ZAR per person sharing per night for a big room with bathroom with bath, fridge and tv. Internet via wifi possible for a small fee.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aurelmaispasmarc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 October 2012

Stayed at Wayfarers Guest House for 3 nights: Nice and clean room, Entertainment lounge, big bathroom with nice water pressure, Chris and Morag were very nice host’s, Chris also knows a lot about the area and assisted us with trip planning, they have a breakfast fit for a king, close to major hikes and water falls walking distance from town as well which me and my wife found very help full.Thanks

Room Tip: Book in way advance so that you are always given best room available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dips S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 August 2012

Thank you Chris and MoraG for 3 nights of absolute pleasure - far exceeding our expectations. Hospitality, friendliness and spotless environment at all times. The breakfasts were delicious - best porkies!! Combined with our joint love of MG's - what more could we ask for!

You both supplied us with great and handy information about the local area.

Tony and Annette

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annette C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sabie hotels
0.7 mi away
Floreat Riverside Lodge
0.2 mi away
The Sabie Townhouse Guest Lodge
1.3 mi away
Hillwatering Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Timamoon
Timamoon
#1 of 16 in Sabie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dublin Guest Lodge Sabie
1.2 mi away
Sabi Star Chalets
Sabi Star Chalets
#5 of 16 in Sabie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wayfarers Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wayfarers Guest House

Property: Wayfarers Guest House
Address: 92 Maliveld Street, Sabie 1260, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Sabie
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Sabie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Wayfarers Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated less than five minutes from the centre of Sabie and close to shops and restaurants, Wayfarers is the ideal base from which to explore the Panorama Route and for visiting the world famous Kruger National Park. All of our five spacious bedrooms are en-suite, some with their own deck. Overhead fans, wall heaters, hairdryer, tea/coffee making facilities, fridge, TV and toiletries are some of the features. A wonderful breakfast is included in the room rate which is served in our breakfast room on the ground floor adjacent to our relaxing guest lounge where full satellite television is available, games, books and magazines. Guests are welcome to sit in our garden and relax with an early morning cup of coffee and watch the bird life, in the evening enjoy a sundowner after your days's sightseeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Wayfarers Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing