We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable stay and a great breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Wayfarers Guest House
Ranked #10 of 23 Sabie B&B and Inns
Reviewed 17 January 2014

We passed through Sabie on our way to the Krugar and what a great stop off. The owner Chris is one of a kind ( and that is a compliment) very helpful and welcoming. He gave a great restaurant reccomendation and we had use of his lounge and honesty bar. The rooms are very clean and comforable and the zebra art on the stairs was brilliant (try finding the light switch!!!)
There was a great choice at breakfast and the cooked breakfast was delicious, just what you need to start the day! Thank you Chris!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beth2412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (66)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 66 reviews

Reviewed 26 October 2013

The place was very clean and well kept updated baths and comfy bed. Owner was very pleasant and helpful he made dinner reservations for us wish we could have stayed an extra day. We were just passing through

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Tracy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Nice atmosphere, very warming welcome, good advice on restaurants and activities in the near surroundings and Kruger Park with inspiring photos by the owner of the place. Very good breakfast in the morning.
Big and clean room, we stayed in the family room which had an outside terrace with a good view!
Close to city, only a couple of minutes walk away.

Room Tip: we stayed in the family room which had an outside terrace with a good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Femmiline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We arrived at Wayfarers on a beautiful late afternoon and were greeted by our friendly host Chris and two dogs. Our room no. 1 at the back of the house was very nice with a large bathroom. Chris helped us choose a restaurant and made reservations for us. His knowledge of Sabie and the surroundings including Kruger park is impressive and very helpful. Good tips, hot spots, places to eat, places not to eat, Chris can help you out! He also likes to chat and we had some pleasants evening chats. The house is decorated with Chris's photos, mainly from Kruger, some really special and most of them are for sale. We spent 4 very pleasent nights at the guesthouse, if you go, spend more then one night there and enjoy kind hospitality and noce stories of your caring host! A place to reccomend and come backt to!

Room Tip: There are 3 rooms in the main house and 2 in a side building, you access from outside. We had a doub...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VeraLaura1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Wayfarers guest house is a great place to stay when visiting Sabie. One thing that makes the dining room so special is the amazing photography of the local area and the Kruger National Park. Chris was able to tell us lots about the local area and what to do there like seeing natural beauty and great restaurants nearby. The breakfast was also great as well as the clean rooms. I would recommend staying here!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in June when the daytime temperatures were in the 20s and almost freezing at night.

We stayed in the family room with 3 single beds and a newly refitted bathroom with a large walk-in shower. The room comes with its own terrace with views over the town and gorge beyond. There is a communal lounge downstairs with a flat screen TV which has access to an extensive number of satellite channels.

The experience was very welcoming with Chris being the ideal host. We had many conversations about photography and even watched a bit of the ICC Trophy together. Chris cooked the breakfasts to order and we were not disappointed.

On Chris's recommendation we ate at the Wild Fig Tree restaurant which was really good and comes highly recommended.

We liked Sabie as a town and walked the kilometre from the Wayfarers a couple of times in search of coffee and shopping. We drove the route at night not because of safety but rather because the way is badly lit and there are many potholes to catch the unwary.

The only downside of the Wayfarers is that it is not designed for the cold. We managed ok at night with extra layers on the bed and hot water bottle so not really a problem.

We spent a really good 3 days at the Wayfarer and managed full days of sight-seeing with Chris's recommendations. Thank you.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeteD60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2013

We recently stayed 2 nights at Wayfarers at the beginning of our two week trip to South Africa.
Wayfarers & Sabie were the perfect locations to see all the Panorama Route sights before we went to Kruger Park.
We flew into Nelspruit airport from Johannesburg and after picking up a hire car which was very quick and easy from Avis, it took us 30-40 mins to drive to Wayfarers. Easy to find in the town.
Great recommendations from Chris on sites to see, however the 'shortcut road' from the potholes to Pilgrims Rest, although very scenic was a rough road for our hire car and probably better suited for a 4x4 vehicle. Chris's recommendation for the 'Wild Fig Tree' restaurant was great and we went both nights we enjoyed it so much!
It was safe to walk to the 10/15 mins to the restaurant in the evening but need to remember the kitchens tend to close around 8pm so need to arrive before then to ensure you get dinner! Chris gave us a torch to use on the way back, which you will need due to some potholes.
We were very sorry to hear Chris had recently lost his wife, but he made us so welcome in his comfortable home. Great breakfasts which kept us going to dinner! Highly recommended and we hope to visit again in the future.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank DaisyWatford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sabie
0.6 mi away
Floreat Riverside Lodge
11.7 mi away
Graskop Hotel
Graskop Hotel
#1 of 3 in Graskop
602 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Sabie Townhouse Guest Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hillwatering Country House
0.5 mi away
Villa Ticino Guest House
0.2 mi away
Dublin Guest Lodge Sabie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wayfarers Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wayfarers Guest House

Address: 92 Maliveld Street, Sabie 1260, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Sabie
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Sabie
Price Range: £59 - £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Wayfarers Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated less than five minutes from the centre of Sabie and close to shops and restaurants, Wayfarers is the ideal base from which to explore the Panorama Route and for visiting the world famous Kruger National Park. All of our five spacious bedrooms are en-suite, some with their own deck. Overhead fans, wall heaters, hairdryer, tea/coffee making facilities, fridge, TV and toiletries are some of the features. A wonderful breakfast is included in the room rate which is served in our breakfast room on the ground floor adjacent to our relaxing guest lounge where full satellite television is available, games, books and magazines. Guests are welcome to sit in our garden and relax with an early morning cup of coffee and watch the bird life, in the evening enjoy a sundowner after your days's sightseeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Wayfarers Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing