We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent accommodation in the way to explore wildlife” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Forest View Guest House & Self Catering

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Forest View Guest House & Self Catering
Ranked #3 of 21 Sabie B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Excellent accommodation in the way to explore wildlife”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2012

For us it was the perfect spot to stop before going to the private reserves north of Kruger national park.
It is a very nice accommodation that looks as it was renovated just the day before. Annelise, the owner is really kind and helpful and gave us lots of interesting tips on things to do on the area. Just one more thing, do not miss the breakfast!! I can still remember the bread... it was delicious.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank raulvelaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    38
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
23
41
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level Contributor
73 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2012

We liked the town of Sabie and the location of this place was great for visiting the falls and it was a quick walk across the street to eat at some restaurants. We stayed in the apartment that was very spacious for 2 couples, but the timer on the microwave wasn't working so the water/coffee ended up boiling over. One of our showers (the nicest one) nwouldn't produce any hot water so all 4 of us had to wait to use the other one. There were some roaches in the kichen when we turned on the lights. We asked if we could have breakfast if we paid for it the next morning, but unfortunately the owners weren't there and someone else was running it for them and she was a little hesistant in allowing us to do so, so we just went to the supermarket instead and used our kitchen. The upstairs dining area with the balcony looked very nice. Due to some of the amenities not functioning is what made us give it it's average rating.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank misstoscana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
58 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2012

We stayed for 1 night in the Forest View Guesthouse. The name of the Guesthouse suggests it is in the middle of a forest and it is not. The good news is that you can walk to the restaurants of Sabie. We had dinner in the Wild Fig Tree which was excellent. The Guesthouse is very pleasant, the bathroom was spacious, our room nothing special, but very clean and comfortable. There is a road nearby which makes it somewhat more noisier than elsewhere. The breakfast was great and the owner very friendly. Very good location for the Panoramaroute.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank enjoy-the-world1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2011

Danny and Annelise run Forest View superbly. The house itself is beautiful, spacious and possessed of real WOW factor. As hosts, they want to be assured that their guests sleep and breakfast well and information about restaurants, the area, what to do and where to go is readily available. We were really made to feel that our comfort and happiness mattered but still retained our privacy. Forest View is spotless,comfortable, friendly, serves a fantastic breakfast and is excellent value. The fact that it's in such a beautiful area is just a bonus! Thank you, Danny and Annelise. Forest View is a credit to you both.

Room Tip: Room 2 is dual aspect and has a fabulous view of the jacaranda trees and the forest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KateandSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2011

When travelling, we find ourselves as former B&B owners expecting a certain standard from B&B establishments. Ambiance, relevant tariffs, space, comfort, good food, cleanliness, convenience and gracious hosts. Often we depart disappointed, but not from Forest View Guest House in Sabie. Danny and Annelise, with their hospitality experience in up market guest lodges, certainly met our requirements in every way at Forest View. Thanks to you both, we were thrilled with our stay and will highly recommend your Lodge.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartbeespoort, South Africa
Level Contributor
49 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2011

The unit was well equipt and the service from Danny and Annelise was warm and very friendly.

Room Tip: For a family visit to Forest View ask for the bootom unit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eishhh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
170 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2010

We stayed at the Forest View guesthouse on our first night in SA.
This has certainly made us feel very welcome!
The guesthouse is beutifly located, overlooking the valley and the green hills, and near some great restaurants (the wild fig tree is right across the road- very highly recommended). We were upgraded to the suite and had a large bed and a nice bath.
Very well recommended.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank YG1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sabie hotels
0.7 mi away
Floreat Riverside Lodge
1.0 mi away
Merry Pebbles Resort
Merry Pebbles Resort
#4 of 16 in Sabie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Sabie Townhouse Guest Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sabie Self Catering Apartments
1.0 mi away
Hillwatering Country House
0.4 mi away
Dublin Guest Lodge Sabie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forest View Guest House & Self Catering? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forest View Guest House & Self Catering

Property: Forest View Guest House & Self Catering
Address: Main Rd | Next to #94, Opposite #35, Sabie 1260, South Africa (Formerly Forest View Guest House)
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Sabie
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Sabie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Forest View Guest House & Self Catering 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Forest View Guest House & Self Catering rests in Sabie - a small Tourist and Forestry village nestled in a softly pristine valley hosting the renowned Sabie River. Endless Pine plantations feather the Drakensburg escarpment mountains surrounding this charming little town, with its variety of Restaurants, Pubs, Shops and treats around every corner. Dining venues vary from a renovated Train Diner Carriage to the Sabie Brewery Co Restaurant, the infamous Wild Fig Tree, the African Elephant, Zano’s, and of course The Woodsman Pub & Restaurant. When the exquisite Waterfalls of Sabie have taken your breath away, and you embark on the wondrous Panorama Route with all of its amazing attractions, treat yourself to a Breakfast Picnic under the trees of Mac Mac Pools, and plunge into the crystal clear mountain stream Rock Pools, just 10km out of town. The Panorama Route offers such a wealth of spectacular attractions, it’s hard to decide which direction to take out of Sabie – the Kruger National Park being just 45km away down the twisting R536, upon which Bikers love to test their lean angles and take in the mossy, earthy smell of the riverbank as the road dips and turns, then snakes its way towards Hazyview and the Big Five. Stay at Forest View Guest House & Self Catering, where it’s hard to get enough of Sabie’s spectacular surroundings, and where there are plenty of wonders still in wait for those who love the outdoors. We have secure parking on the grounds and non-smoking accommodation. Smoking is however permitted on the deck and in the garden. For cycling enthusiasts, numerous Cycling and Mountain Bike challenges are held in and around Sabie, as well as the Long Tom Marathon for runners. Sabie also hosts the renowned SASOL Rally. We offer clean, comfortable and fully serviced - 2 x Double Rooms, 1 x Triple Suite, 1 x 4 Sleeper Self-Catering Apartment and 1 x 5 Sleeper-Self Catering Apartment. Groups of 7 or 16 persons welcome. Check In time is between 2pm and 7pm. Reception closes at 7pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Forest View Guest House & Self Catering reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing