We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Forest View Guest House & Self Catering
Ranked #4 of 23 Sabie B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Nice large comfortable room & good sized bathroom, great breakfasts & centrally located for restaurants & shops (walking distance). Lovely views from deck. Owner & staff friendly & helpful. Recommend this for anyone visiting Sabie.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank William H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (103)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 103 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2014

Clean, but small room, standard bathroom (nothing fancy), good value for money although breakfast is not included (90 ZAR, which is quite expensive, but the breakfast was good). Very nice and big deck with views of the mountains, close to the two main restaurants (Woodsman & Fig Tree).

Room Tip: Probably the best room is No. 2, which is more spacious and with views of the mountain
See more room tips
Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Kai L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnneliseStrydom, Manager at Forest View Guest House & Self Catering, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Thank you for your positive review.
It was a pleasure having you stay with us at Forest View Guest House.
Our larger rooms are only a few rand more than the smaller Room 3, if they are available, I would suggest the future guests to book Room 2 or Room 1 which is even larger than Room 2.
I am glad you liked the breakfast. Our full breakfast offerings (Cereals, yogurt, fruitsalad, juice, tea or coffee, toast and a special hot breakfast) will keep you going for most of the day.
Keep well and we hope to welcome you back to Sabie and Forest View Guest House.
Kind regards, Annelise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Our stay in Forest View Guest House was absolutely awesome! Great view, big room and bathroom with tea and coffee facilities, tv. Friendly staff, option of breakfast. Central to everything. Stunning!!

Room Tip: all rooms are good choices
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sonja H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2013

The self catering unit is a nice place for our stay. Friendly people, always willing to walk that extra mile for you.The Guest House is always clean, very neat.
Cannot say anything bad or negative, will definitly not change to any other Guest House in Sabie.

Room Tip: The self Catering Unit is excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wynand J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2013

Nice place to stay. Clean and comfortable room. Large living room and kitchen with TV. Good restaurants near the hotel (walking distance). A little expensive but I don't regret. Nice area to visit with lots of things to do.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Claire M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2013

No bad comments,will definitely stay over at this place again when visiting Sabie in future. Place situated perfectly,quite enviroment in beautifull nature with a great view. Ideal walking distance from town.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A55555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2013

Relaxing B&B located in Sabie itself. Handy for restaurants located a short walk just across/up the road (Wild Fig Tree recommended).

Rooms are fairly basic but are clean, comfortable and perfectly reasonable for this price bracket. Common areas are light and airy.

Breakfast is a highlight; freshly cooked and different every day. Very friendly and accommodating host; even when we stayed longer than we'd booked for, due to a mix-up (which was entirely our fault).

Overall, great value and definitely recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Oolon_Colluphid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnneliseStrydom, Manager at Forest View Guest House & Self Catering, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2013

Thank you for your kind review.
It is alway a pleasure hosting such nice guests at Forest View. We were happy to have been able to assist you with the additional accommodation!

Please do return soon... breakfast is waiting :)

With kind regards from a beautiful Sabie!
A

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sabie
0.7 mi away
Floreat Riverside Lodge
12.2 mi away
Graskop Hotel
Graskop Hotel
#1 of 3 in Graskop
608 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Sabie Townhouse Guest Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hillwatering Country House
0.1 mi away
Villa Ticino Guest House
0.0 mi away
Sabie Self Catering Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forest View Guest House & Self Catering? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forest View Guest House & Self Catering

Address: Main Rd | Next to #94, Opposite #35, Sabie 1260, South Africa (Formerly Forest View Guest House)
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Sabie
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Sabie
Price Range: £34 - £65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Forest View Guest House & Self Catering 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Forest View Guest House & Self Catering sits on the very edge of Sabie - a small Tourist and Forestry Town with so much to offer. A large variety of Restaurants, Pubs, Shops and treats can be found around every corner. Dining venues vary - Smokeys Train Diner, The Sabie Brewing Co, the infamous Wild Fig Tree, the African Elephant, Zano’s, and The Woodsman Pub & Restaurant. The Panorama Route offers such a wealth of attractions – the Kruger National Park is just 45km away! Stay at Forest View Guest House & Self Catering, where it’s hard to get enough of Sabie’s spectacular surroundings. We have secure parking on the grounds and non-smoking accommodation. Smoking is however permitted on the deck and in the garden. We offer clean, comfortable and fully serviced - 2 x Double Rooms, 1 x Triple Suite, 1 x 4 Sleeper Self-Catering Apartment and 1 x 5 Sleeper-Self Catering Apartment. Groups of 7 or 16 persons welcome. Check In time is between 3pm and 7pm. Reception closes at 7pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your Forest View Guest House & Self Catering reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing