We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great restaurant and lovely shop”
Review of The Wild Fig Tree

The Wild Fig Tree
Ranked #1 of 13 Restaurants in Sabie
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$10
Cuisines: African
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: An excellent restaurant, with very pleasing decor. There is a permanent Menu, and a Blackboard Menu which is changed every 2 weeks.Gavin and Karin are there to welcome you, and to make sure that you have a very pleasant dining experience. The Restaurant is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner, and offers an intimate ambiance. Exotic dishes , such as Kudu ,Crocodile, Ostrich are to be found on the menu.
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great restaurant and lovely shop”
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Had a fantastic evening meal and then exercised the CC next day in the attached shop. Should have bought more!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    305
    138
    38
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Blah. Manager was nice though”
Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

Food was at best average. Nothing was seasoned properly. Everything was overcooked. The menu said 2 sauces we got one. The beer wasnt cold. They didnt have some of the items on the menu. Won't come back

Helpful?
Thank beatrix b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavin U, Owner at The Wild Fig Tree, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Unfortunately I was away at time of your visit. I'm sorry you did not enjoy your meal. As you can see from our comments we do get it right most of the time.
I did some "investigation" and rectified some of the issues you raised.The thing that alarms me most is that no one recalls you paying for your meal or at least offering to pay. Did you assume the meal was for free? The "nice" manager assures me you just left. Complaining is one thing but bilking is a criminal offence!! If you did not have the money to pay for meal do not assume that by complaining you get a free meal, it does not work like that!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Good food, good value ”
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

Stopped over for a bite after hiking the fanie Botha. Impressive menu with nice local specials. All at a reasonable price. Looked around and everyone's food looked delicious.

Helpful?
Thank Seth85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

On our trip to the Kruger we stopped for breakfast at the Wild Fig Tree, not only was it almost the only restaurant that was open that early for breakfast but the staff was friendly and efficient. The food was a standard breakfast except for the trout omelet which my dad had, it was absolutely scrumptious. Can see why it's the no 1 rated restaurant in sabie.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alex L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“So good we went twice!”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We loved The Wild Fig Tree so much that we went for dinner two of the three nights we stayed in Sabie. The first night I had pizza and the second I had a fillet with camembert and cranberry sauce. Both were delicious. There aren't many choices in Sabie, but The Wild Fig Tree is a place I would pick anywhere else in the world, too.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Heather A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Wild Fig Tree also viewed

 

Been to The Wild Fig Tree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing