We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food”
Review of The Wild Fig Tree

The Wild Fig Tree
Ranked #1 of 13 Restaurants in Sabie
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$10
Cuisines: African
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Reservations
Description: An excellent restaurant, with very pleasing decor. There is a permanent Menu, and a Blackboard Menu which is changed every 2 weeks.Gavin and Karin are there to welcome you, and to make sure that you have a very pleasant dining experience. The Restaurant is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner, and offers an intimate ambiance. Exotic dishes , such as Kudu ,Crocodile, Ostrich are to be found on the menu.
Queens, New York
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We had locally caught trout, which was excellently cooked and tasted well. Good service, attentive staff.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bengt_Sivert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    319
    139
    39
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Harderwijk, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice food but no good handling of payment”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

My wife and I have eaten two days after another and we very appreciated the meals we had.
The first time we have eaten, the bill was about 490 rand and we gave 3 bills of 200 (600) and waited for the waitress return money so we could determine the tip. Unfortiunately the waitress did not return so we had to ask.
The second day, the same situation with another waitress took place. In my opinion for a waitress to think the tip is more than 20% is not realistic, so I felt being cheated and not being handled with respect.
Ronald de Jong

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ronald635665
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Piet Retief, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Lunch”
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

Didn't get to try the delicious sounding classics as we were in for light lunch. Prices, though were high considering that venison is currently cheaper than beef on the market. Prégo disappointing - served on soft roll so soggy at the bottom. Fillet of smoked trout served with a salad and fruit - should of been described as a fruit platter with trout. Service mediocre. Do not approve of serving staff sitting at empty guest tables in between service.

Helpful?
1 Thank penny n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavin U, Owner at The Wild Fig Tree, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Whilst I appreciate fair constructive criticism I also feel compelled to respond to unfair criticism. Without giving you a culinary lesson, venison prices are on par with beef (not cheaper) however the yield on venison once cooked is half compared to beef due to the amount of cooking time required to get venison tender. We also use a lot of red wine etc to get venison tender which you would not do with cooking a beef fillet on the grill. So, now you know why more expensive.
The menu clearly says "Smoked Trout Lunch served with garden salad, fruit and whole wheat bread" You obviously did not read properly? We try and serve fresh buns but sometimes when buns are very fresh they will be "soggy" If you prefer an old crispy roll then I apologise.
The staff work long hours and yes I would prefer that they stood to attention when not busy but then how would you like to stand for 8 hours without sitting??
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
307 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Free wifi and great coffee and savorie muffins”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

One of the issues encountered in Sabie was the sketchy wifi service. At the wild fig tree however as soon as we were seated and pulled out our ipads, we were given the password with the menu. The savoury muffins were excellent

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Miles2gob4Vsleep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great South African Fare”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We had a great dinner on the deck at this casual, authentic South African restaurant. Two of us in our group of four took advantage of the evening's special, Warthog Potjie, a traditional stew cooked and served in a cast iron pot. Delicious!

Lots of other choices that are sure to please, as are the very affordable prices.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Wild Fig Tree also viewed

 

Been to The Wild Fig Tree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing